We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another excellant Asilia Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another excellant Asilia Camp”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid August. The more remote location of this camp gets you away from all the other safari vehicles but the game viewing is still outstanding. We saw everything but a wildebeest river crossing during our stay. We had a few close spottings but the wildebeest turned around after lining up at the river. As you can see buy all the pictures previously posted the tents are very big and in great condition. Even bigger are the bathrooms with separated toilet and shower areas. The large tub offers a great view of the Serengeti plains. The food is excellant and service is outstanding just like all the other camps we stayed at (Rekero in the Mara and Tortillis in Amboselli). We had an excellant stay here and I would highly recommend Sayari camp.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azcruiser2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    48
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
126
265
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at the Sayari Camp for 3 nights last week, and yes its amazing!!! They have 15 tents in total, split in 9 and 6. They have a common pool, but different breakfast/dinner areas. We were staying in Camp with 6 tents, managed by Eric, and it wouldn't be the same without him.. He makes sure to attend to all your requests, and his sense of humor is amazing!!

Food prepared by Emmanuel was delicious, when we requested for something, it was on the table!

Our Guide: Patena: He made sure we see the crossing, and the BIG 5... without him we wouldn't be able to enjoy this trip! Whenever we asked him if we could spot something, his reply was:: IT'S A GAME!!! We spotted wilder bests, rhinos, cheetah, leopard, lions, and it was all thanks to our guide!!

Overall: Make sure you stay here!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimitb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. In terms of service, food and game - it is among the best I have been. Located at the remote northern part of Serengeti near to the border with Kenya, it does not have the hordes of crowd like the more accessible part of the park. Mara river is 800m away. This is great for viewing the migration. We saw not once but TWICE the river crossing by thousands of wildebeests. That was the highlight of the trip. We also saw lions, rhinos (yes...very rare) and a leopard (my first sighting despite several safaris)....so all in all it was pretty satisfying. Moses our guide was good and went beyond the call of duty to search out the animals on our bucket list :)
The camp tents are modern and comfortable. The camp overall setting is alright but I been to more dramatic ones (like Tarangire treetops). My two critiques will be 1. no internet / wifi access even in common area, we were told it was possible but we tried it didn't work. 2. Our tent had problems with getting hot shower - to be fair the management tried their darn most to solve it and it was resolved on our final day. All in all a pleasant and memorable stay. Would recommend it in a heartbeat. But do fix the internet wi-fi access please>>>>

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first Safari. We first went to Arusha National Park, then Tarengerie where we were in a rustic camp. Arriving at Sayari was a dream... the "Tents" were beautiful with large walk-in showers, a soaking tub and private toilet room . The bedroom was very large with a king bed , desk and chair and large closet.Our hosts, Clare and John, were so welcoming and the staff extremely friendly....smiles everywhere!
Even before arriving at the camp we witnessed our first "crossing"...we saw more then 3 during our 4 nights there. Our safari was planned by Mark Thorton Safaris and was exceptional also! The whole thing was an experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alikeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

During our two weeks traveling, we stayed in camps and lodges and Sayari Camp was by far our favorite. The "tents" were nicer than most hotel rooms. There were five of us traveling so we were in three tents on one side of the camp (they have about 15 tents and half the tents use one common area and the other half use another). It was great on our afternoon breaks from being in the jeep to just sit out on the "patio" of the tent and watch the animals (although the morning really was the time that they were out and about by the tents - saw elephants, giraffes and gazelles just a few feet from the tents). Claire, John and Eric went out of their way to make you feel at home. And, on top of everything else, the food was excellent. We can't recommend this camp enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LissafromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

John and Claire - our hosts had only been running the camp for 6 days when we arrived there for our 3 night stay and I can honestly say that had they not told us that fact, I'd have thought they'd been there for years. A really wonderful stay - the location is stunning and the pool a real bonus with a 12 year old. The view over to Kenya from the pool was amazing. Tents are luxurious to say the least and very spacious. The food was great (the wine even more so....!!!). Game driving with Frank was frankly, one of the highlights of our lives. His expereince and knowledge meant we saw the first migratory crossing over the Mara of the season - it was truly amazing. We would go back and back and back. We were made to feel like guests in a county house - and I don't think there can be many better compliments.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsontour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Sayari Camp is probably the best safari-camp I have ever visited. John and Eric make sure that you enjoy every minute of your stay and they are always prepared to have a chat so you get to know more about the way the camp works, about Serengeti National Park and about Tanzania as a whole.

The tents are very spacious and are surrounded by plains full of wildlife. They might wake you up at night, but then again... What's better than hearing those noises and seeing an elephant feeding only meters away.

The food was nice as well and the opportunity to take lunch boxes with you on the safaris is a real bonus in my opinion. Certainly if you want to go to see the crossings or do long drives to distant areas of the park.

If I ever get the chance to go back to Serengeti National Park, I would chose Sayari Camp again anytime!

Room Tip: All tents are pretty much the same so it really doesn't matter which side you're on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
9.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
190 reviews
45.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
428 reviews
25.1 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
876 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#18 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
209 reviews
67.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Sayari Camp is renowned for extraordinary wildlife sightings and supreme comfort. Set on the unspoilt plains of the Northern Serengeti, close to the famous Lamai Wedge, Sayari gives you easy access to the Mara River and multiple river crossing points. Sayari Camp offers some of the world's finest game viewing - and it does so in remarkable style. Relax in your extra-comfortable hillside suite after a day on safari, or take a dip in the glorious rim-flow swimming pool with dramatic views over the northern plains. Intimate, contemporary and elegant, it is no surprise that this permanent camp is regularly voted one of the top safari escapes on the planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing