We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience to remember forever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An experience to remember forever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first Safari. We first went to Arusha National Park, then Tarengerie where we were in a rustic camp. Arriving at Sayari was a dream... the "Tents" were beautiful with large walk-in showers, a soaking tub and private toilet room . The bedroom was very large with a king bed , desk and chair and large closet.Our hosts, Clare and John, were so welcoming and the staff extremely friendly....smiles everywhere!
Even before arriving at the camp we witnessed our first "crossing"...we saw more then 3 during our 4 nights there. Our safari was planned by Mark Thorton Safaris and was exceptional also! The whole thing was an experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alikeefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    46
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
253
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

During our two weeks traveling, we stayed in camps and lodges and Sayari Camp was by far our favorite. The "tents" were nicer than most hotel rooms. There were five of us traveling so we were in three tents on one side of the camp (they have about 15 tents and half the tents use one common area and the other half use another). It was great on our afternoon breaks from being in the jeep to just sit out on the "patio" of the tent and watch the animals (although the morning really was the time that they were out and about by the tents - saw elephants, giraffes and gazelles just a few feet from the tents). Claire, John and Eric went out of their way to make you feel at home. And, on top of everything else, the food was excellent. We can't recommend this camp enough.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LissafromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

John and Claire - our hosts had only been running the camp for 6 days when we arrived there for our 3 night stay and I can honestly say that had they not told us that fact, I'd have thought they'd been there for years. A really wonderful stay - the location is stunning and the pool a real bonus with a 12 year old. The view over to Kenya from the pool was amazing. Tents are luxurious to say the least and very spacious. The food was great (the wine even more so....!!!). Game driving with Frank was frankly, one of the highlights of our lives. His expereince and knowledge meant we saw the first migratory crossing over the Mara of the season - it was truly amazing. We would go back and back and back. We were made to feel like guests in a county house - and I don't think there can be many better compliments.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsontour_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Sayari Camp is probably the best safari-camp I have ever visited. John and Eric make sure that you enjoy every minute of your stay and they are always prepared to have a chat so you get to know more about the way the camp works, about Serengeti National Park and about Tanzania as a whole.

The tents are very spacious and are surrounded by plains full of wildlife. They might wake you up at night, but then again... What's better than hearing those noises and seeing an elephant feeding only meters away.

The food was nice as well and the opportunity to take lunch boxes with you on the safaris is a real bonus in my opinion. Certainly if you want to go to see the crossings or do long drives to distant areas of the park.

If I ever get the chance to go back to Serengeti National Park, I would chose Sayari Camp again anytime!

Room Tip: All tents are pretty much the same so it really doesn't matter which side you're on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Sayari for 2 nights in August. Sayari was in the close proximity of the Mara River - a big plus for those who are keen to see the Crossing. During this East African safari vacation, we stayed with Asilia Group which also owns Sayari for a total of 10 nights. All the Asilia facilities were truly outstanding. Sayari was the best equipped of all, given it is a fixed campsite. It has running water and power points in the tent which was a luxury we missed after 10 days in the safari. The tent, the dining room and public areas were spacious, comfortable and thoughtfully designed. It was a prilivage to meet John and Clare, the camp managers and a lovely couple. John is a real safaris expert with great insights and perspectives. I learnt more from him over a 20 mins conversation than spending hours on the books. Clare is a charming and caring lady. We needed some special arrangement on the last day of our safari in Tanzania. Clare went above and beyond her normal call of duty to get it done for us. We have had a great time in Sayari and will love to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chc9533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Sayari is part of the Asilia group of camps and lodges, some mobile, some permanent. Note that Ubuntu, Olakira, Dunia and Sayari (Asilia camps in the Serengeti) are all in the Tripadvisor top 7 and all receive rave reviews for good reason, they are simply excellent.

We stayed at four top end lodges whilst in Tanzania, Sayari was the best of them, which is remarkable considering the remoteness. The very warm welcome when you arrive sets the tone and we had a brilliant two night stay. Had we known quite how outstanding everything is, facilities, camp staff, guides, food, attitude, flexibility etc, we would have booked for longer.

We note a previous post comment about poor service but the opposite was evident during our stay so perhaps Tripadvisor has had a positive influence.

We particularly liked the recommendation that all guests sit at the same dinner table. The result is a dinner party atmosphere (we had a hoot with guests from various corners of the globe) rather than whispered conversations at separate tables. However, it was not mandatory, may not suit everyone, and a separate dinner table (and different time) could be arranged. This was certainly a good arrangement for a family which included three young children whilst we were there. The meals were excellent, all guests remarked on the particularly high quality of the lunches.

We have also since heard that the quality of Asilia guides (generally) is a cut above the rest and this confirms what we suspected at the time. We were bowled over by the quality of the Asilia guides we had at various times throughout our trip. Not just knowledge and ability to spot game, but sense of humour, manner, linguistic ability, etc. If you want a quality safari experience make sure you have an organisation with top quality guides. Julius at Sayari could see things 1500 meters away that required us visitors to use binos to see. His vision is simply unbelieveable. You will have the option of selecting your own start time in the morning but, if you want to see game, go early, it is the normal safari routine.

Would we go back to sayari, like a shot!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PennyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, during the second of which our tent was surrounded by Wildebeest - quite amazing and very loud. We got a great feeling of living with nature and were very grateful to the guys with torches who guided us around the camp in the dark. The tent was wonderful with a great shower. Service was friendly and food was good. The camp is not far from the Mara River so it was a great location to see the Wildebeest crossing (albeit a bit distressing re those that didn't make it - not for the faint hearted).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our camp. We are very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at Sayari and experienced the spectacular wildebeest crossings in the Mara river. As we always strive for the best service levels and safari experience for our guests we take your feedback and share it with our team for further improvement. Thank you for your positive feedback and on behalf of camp managers Clare & John, and the Sayari team we hope to welcome you back to our camp one day!

Kind regards,

Marleen Haverkamp
Asilia Africa | Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
45.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
57.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
25.1 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#20 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
44.8 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#23 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Sayari Camp is renowned for extraordinary wildlife sightings and supreme comfort. Set on the unspoilt plains of the Northern Serengeti, close to the famous Lamai Wedge, Sayari gives you easy access to the Mara River and multiple river crossing points. Sayari Camp offers some of the world's finest game viewing - and it does so in remarkable style. Relax in your extra-comfortable hillside suite after a day on safari, or take a dip in the glorious rim-flow swimming pool with dramatic views over the northern plains. Intimate, contemporary and elegant, it is no surprise that this permanent camp is regularly voted one of the top safari escapes on the planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing