We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational Sayari” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sensational Sayari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The Northern Serengeti was our first taste of Safari life and Sayari was our first stop. We could not have wished for a better start to our much awaited trip. We could not fault our experience at Sayari. We came to see the river crossing of the great migration as this camp is located near the Mara river, but as this year the migration was running late we missed this event. Instead, we were able to drive out to find the animals - still an awesome sight to see the thousands of zebras and wilderbeast hanging out together in the long grasses. Something i will not forget in a hurry!
The tents are beautifully decorated, the beds amazingly comfortable and the surroundings are perfect. What better way to be woken up at night than by giraffes eating leaves from the tree right outside your bedroom! We stayed for 3 days and did not want to leave.
We were able to experience all of the animals we came to Tanzania to see in a matter of days. Our safari guide, Moses, was very knowledgable and he seemed to be able to find any animal we asked to see! The open vehicles and the ability to go off road made for excellent wildlife viewing.The staff at Sayari go the extra mile, they were always happy to see us and always keen to find out how our day had been. The food at this camp was brilliant, great variety and plenty of food provided at every meal. Drinks by the campfire and the group dinners were fun and a great way to meet other travellers and compare stories. We are looking forward to visiting Sayari again one day soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacjacjackeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    46
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
109
253
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had the best time at Sayari camp! The tent was beautiful; had running water, power, and a beautiful bed. The service was amazing! John and Eric, the two managers were always on hand to help with any request we had. The food was amazing and the service was even better! Campfires were lit every night at 7pm. We did not have the communal dinner that was offered but had private dinners per our request. We had lunch at a different place every day, on our patio, in the dining room, and as a picnic on safari. The wildlife viewing was fabulous as well. Sayari camp was definitely the best part of our safari!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room on the smaller side. More intimate and a bit better service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spalover515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a wonderful camp with the lodges wonderfully decorated and a great bathroom and shower. What more can you ask for in the Serengeti.

The staff and food was excellent to us. They common seating allowed us to meet people for Brazil and we had a great time with them.

Wonderful location even though we missed the migration (too early), but the game drives were great and the guide was extremely pleasant and knowledgable.

Just a great place to watch the animals and enjoy life without all the hassles of traffic and work.

Room Tip: ask for a lodge close to the dining area. The walk was a little too far for my Mom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at Sayari camp at the end of our safari and the staff was absolutely spectacular! We arrived after a VERY bumpy journey and were greeted by all the staff. I can not tell you how wonderful and inviting it was to be welcomed by their entire staff with a cold beverage in hand. I asked for mine to be spiked because that journey had gotten to me and I was ready for an adult beverage. They quickly accommodated with no hesitations. And from that point on - when we returned from a game drive, they would bring me a cocktail! It was grand! We timed our trip according to the previous years migration and that turned out to be a mistake. The animals had not yet migrated and it turned out that last year was early for them so we missed them. We only saw a few animals but we did see a few. Not the camps fault whatsoever. We really enjoyed our time with Eric and staff - they were amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights at Sayari. Everything about the experience met or exceeded our expectations. The location and accommodations were outstanding. We were able to safari by day and relax in the evening. All the meals were great and the communal dining arrangement facilitated interaction with the other guests and staff. But the most memorable aspect of our stay was the warmth and hospitality of the staff. Everybody was friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We would gladly recommend Sayari to anyone looking for luxury on the Serengeti.

Steve and Muareen
Wheaton, IL

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

My partner and I went to Sayari at the tail end of a two week safari through Tanzania. Having stayed at all of the Asilia lodges (Oliver's, Dunia and Olakira), I can unequivocally say that this lodge was the best of the bunch -- by far. The service was impeccable, and Tanya was an absolute pleasure! The food was very good. And Tanya went to all ends to accommodate my dietary restrictions.

Even though we went during the so-called off-season, the game viewing was wonderful. And being in the Mara Triangle with no other cars around felt like the true Africa. Simply put, there is just something about the Northern Serengeti that is nothing short of absolutely spectacular. I will definitely be back soon, and I could not think of another place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AfricaObsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here three nights in late February after staying at sister tented camps in Olakira and Dunia. Compared to these Sayari's beautiful rooms felt more like a luxury lodge with canvas walls. It was wonderful to have unlimited hot water and a luxury tub but we missed the immediacy of the breezes blowing through a real tent (Sayari has glass patio doors and a wooden floor) and all the sounds of nature at night. Food, service and the management provided by Saleem and Maggie were all excellent. The location is stunningly beautiful with rolling hills and kopjes by the camp and the hills of Kenya in the distance. A short drive takes you to the Lamai wedge essentially an extension of the Masai Mara with herds of topi and zebra. Close to Sayari we got within meters of several different leopards and a large lion pride and 300 hippos in the Mara River along with eland, elephants and wildebeest. Unlike the busy south we had this paradise almost all to ourselves and we wouldn't hesitate to go back either on- or off-season.

Room Tip: All good. We were in tent 13 that offered privacy and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheffip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
45.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#5 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
39.9 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
25.0 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#22 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
44.6 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#26 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Sayari Camp is renowned for extraordinary wildlife sightings and supreme comfort. Set on the unspoilt plains of the Northern Serengeti, close to the famous Lamai Wedge, Sayari gives you easy access to the Mara River and multiple river crossing points. Sayari Camp offers some of the world's finest game viewing - and it does so in remarkable style. Relax in your extra-comfortable hillside suite after a day on safari, or take a dip in the glorious rim-flow swimming pool with dramatic views over the northern plains. Intimate, contemporary and elegant, it is no surprise that this permanent camp is regularly voted one of the top safari escapes on the planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing