We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My partner and I went to Sayari at the tail end of a two week safari through Tanzania. Having stayed at all of the Asilia lodges (Oliver's, Dunia and Olakira), I can unequivocally say that this lodge was the best of the bunch -- by far. The service was impeccable, and Tanya was an absolute pleasure! The food was very good. And Tanya went to all ends to accommodate my dietary restrictions.

Even though we went during the so-called off-season, the game viewing was wonderful. And being in the Mara Triangle with no other cars around felt like the true Africa. Simply put, there is just something about the Northern Serengeti that is nothing short of absolutely spectacular. I will definitely be back soon, and I could not think of another place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AfricaObsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    46
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
254
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here three nights in late February after staying at sister tented camps in Olakira and Dunia. Compared to these Sayari's beautiful rooms felt more like a luxury lodge with canvas walls. It was wonderful to have unlimited hot water and a luxury tub but we missed the immediacy of the breezes blowing through a real tent (Sayari has glass patio doors and a wooden floor) and all the sounds of nature at night. Food, service and the management provided by Saleem and Maggie were all excellent. The location is stunningly beautiful with rolling hills and kopjes by the camp and the hills of Kenya in the distance. A short drive takes you to the Lamai wedge essentially an extension of the Masai Mara with herds of topi and zebra. Close to Sayari we got within meters of several different leopards and a large lion pride and 300 hippos in the Mara River along with eland, elephants and wildebeest. Unlike the busy south we had this paradise almost all to ourselves and we wouldn't hesitate to go back either on- or off-season.

Room Tip: All good. We were in tent 13 that offered privacy and a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cheffip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Sayari exceeded my expectations and remains the absolute highlight of my 3 week, 5 country tour of Africa. Tanya, Maggie and the team literally cater to your every whim ( before you even know you have the whim!!) and the wildlife spotting was exceptional! I can't recommend Malaki highly enough as a guide, and not just because I was lucky enough to see all the big 5 and many more animals but because he LOVES the country, the fauna and flora and it really shows. He has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the animals, birds and plants which he imparts in way that holds and increases your attention..........I never saw myself as a bird spotter but I'm a convert! Malaki went out of his way to find out my interests and ensured that my safari experience was exactly as I had hoped it would be.
The food is awesome and considering how far away you are from infrastucture and supplies its nothing short of miraculous. I took the all inclusive package which is exceptional value for money.

Tanya is the perfect hostess and she really made my safari experience perfect.

Don't cheat yourself out of this experience, excellent game drives, fabulous accomodation and exceptional team.....the whole package that works out as exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: All are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The location of the camp is perfect: We saw three rhino's, a lioness pounce on a baby warthog, and had drinks while watching hippo's and crocs. And those are just the highlights, because we saw so much, since there is so much wild-life and we were in the "off-season"! Unlike the Ngorongoro Crater, where you will stand in a traffic jam to see something, here you have it all to yourself and we saw more here than in the Crater. On top of that the service is impeccable with Tanya managing it all seemingly effortless. Finally, we have eaten all around the world in the best of restaurants and to have a similar dinning experience in the "middle of nowhere" is truly impressive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the dining and/or swimming area, if you don't like to walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CollTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We honeymooned in Tanzania and Sayari was our second safari stop. I have to single out the camp staff, especially Tanya, the camp manager, who was incredibly friendly, helpful and did everything we could to ensure that we had the best possible time.

In terms of the facilities, they were top notch, the rooms were clean, roomy and comfortable. The one thing i would say though is that given the location (middle of the Serengeti) the nights did tend to bring some insects, but nothing that would deter from the experience. The food and facilities were much better than expected and quite delicious and well prepared. The walk from the main camp to the rooms could be a bit far though. Having stayed in one of the furthest tents, the walk to the main lodge was approx 1.5 km which was a bit long after a having done a daily outing; but again, don't let that deter you.

In terms of the animals, you pretty much can see it all... Upon arriving to our tent, we were greeted by 4 giraffes in our back yard, followed shortly by wildebeest trekking through on their way from the Mara. There are animals around the tent 24/7, and trust me you will see and hear them.. Malaki, as mentioned by others, was our guide and was absolutely incredible in his knowledge of the animals and where to find the. In terms of animals, you will see lions, cheetahs, leopards, hippos, zebras, wildebeest, lots and lots of wildebeest, hyenas, elephants, giraffes et al. We managed to watch 2 crossings which I recommend highly if you are there during the right season, it truly is a wonderful thing to see. We also managed to see a crocodile attack and kill one of the wildebeest, which despite my wife's reaction, was actually pretty cool.

Overall, Sayari was an incredible place to stay and experience a Safari. We managed to see everything we needed and wanted to see and the service, staff, facilities and game viewing were all top notch. We would highly reccomend you stay there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fmaria100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

From Liliondo and the Buffalo Camp, we moved on to our final destination at the Northern Extension of the Serengeti National Park and the Sayari Luxury Tented Camp. Before we even went to the camp, Adam took us to view the Massai Mara, the most famous East African river. The camp was very pleasant, but they expect you to join in “combined group dinners.” We obliged for the first night; however, neither Steve nor I are much for strangers, so we requested to be separated for our other meals. This is also another camp in which you must request a setting for your guide, but they had no qualms with the request. The staff is eccentric and very friendly and the rooms are VERY luxurious for being a tented camp. This may even top the luxury of the Plantation Lodge, but I liked the PL better. Due to the friendly atmosphere and the desire of the staff to have all their clients mingle, there is an open bar for the majority of drinks and a happy hour prior to dinner.

The landscape was very different in the Northern Extension than the Central Serengeti, but that was not necessarily a bad thing. We were able to see a family of Cheetahs, a mother with her two 1.5y/o sons, a male Leopard defending a possible meal – a dead lion, and several Lions and Lionesses in various stages of hunting, sleeping and mating. We saw a short-haired blonde mane male mating with a lioness, a couple hundred meters from the location of the dead lioness. It is unclear what killed the lioness, but it happened fairly recently. Due to the rain, the male Leopard who desired to potentially take a meal of the lioness, had to wait it out under some bushes until the rain subsided. He ran off the birds of prey taking part in the meal on several occasions; however, we never actually saw him take a bite or lick of lioness, which was likely too far tainted after the rain and birds had tossed it around in the mud. We also came across a male Black Rhino which we were able to slowly approach close enough to snap a few great photos before he trudged off in the other direction. We also saw an immature Nile Croc, but it was at a distance and was still very yellow and blended into the grass quite well.

Overall, my main intentions and goals were met by the staff of PAS, particularly Adam. The trip was inclusive of everything we had desired to do and more. There is no better way to say this than, if you are planning a trip to Tanzania, choose PAS and you WILL NOT be disappointed. I would like to thank all the members of the team for making this trip as marvelous as it was and I look forward to doing business with you all in the future. We took a total of about 15,000 photos between Steve and I, while we are not the best photographers in the world, a majority of them are share worthy and will be shared by Steve in future communications.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RacquelMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

A purrfect location for seeing wonderful sights. Lions mating; leopards with young, lioness with cubs. And all this in amazing comfort and the ever smiling face of Tanya leading a great team.
One of the best experiences ever and great for the whole family.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vic_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
9.2 mi away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
186 reviews
45.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#3 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
393 reviews
57.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
292 reviews
67.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
432 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#21 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Sayari Camp is renowned for extraordinary wildlife sightings and supreme comfort. Set on the unspoilt plains of the Northern Serengeti, close to the famous Lamai Wedge, Sayari gives you easy access to the Mara River and multiple river crossing points. Sayari Camp offers some of the world's finest game viewing - and it does so in remarkable style. Relax in your extra-comfortable hillside suite after a day on safari, or take a dip in the glorious rim-flow swimming pool with dramatic views over the northern plains. Intimate, contemporary and elegant, it is no surprise that this permanent camp is regularly voted one of the top safari escapes on the planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing