We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience at Kusini”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Awesome Experience at Kusini”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family and I spent 3 days and 3 nights at Kusini over Christmas. The management (Debbie and Chris) and staff at kusini are exceptional hosts, knowledgeable, detail oriented and attentive to the needs/desires of their guests. The tents are spacious, wash rooms clean and great water pressure. :) The foods was great as well, including the proper hamper for the daily picnic lunch. After a long day on safari, Debbie and Chris set up cushions on a large rock overlooking the landscape to view the sunset with some cocktails. then the group can adjourn for dinner and then the fire pit for some toasty marsh mellows and a review of the celestial constellations. The camp's location is at the southern end of the park on a hilltop that gives a great perspective of the surrounding lands. I would also recommend the hot air balloon ride across the serengeti/ngorongoro plains. All things considered, Kusini was the nicest place we stayed in Tanzania.

Room Tip: I don't have a tip on rooms, but you can be very specific in your picnic desires. They have a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEWIS077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review, much appreciated!!

We are thrilled that you had an awesome time with us at Kusini Camp and thank you for all your kind comments, we shared this with the rest of the team they loved your feedback!

Was indeed a privilege hosting you and your family and we are eager to welcome you back one day in the not too distant future.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Kusini Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
73
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

If you are going to be in the Serengeti, I can think of no better place to lay your head down, relax, and enjoy being in this beautiful area. The accommodations are simple but elegant, and as you look out from your porch, there are baboons and other animals right in front of you.

Debbie and Chris, the camp managers, are welcoming, knowledgeable about the area, and do every thing possible to make your stay relaxing and special. And they have a great team supporting them.

The food was probably the best we had on our trip--always interesting selections, and accommodations are easily made for anyone with food restrictions.

I can think of no better place to stay if you are blessed enough to go to the Serengeti.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Harvey-Jane,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us and thank you for your kind comments especially about our team they loved your review!!

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back one day soon.

Until then you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreat and Kusini Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best Wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was one of the first places we stayed at in A&K's Wings Over the Migration safari. It was also one of the two best places we stayed at in the two weeks that we were in Tanzania/Kenya. )The other was Sanctuary Olana in Kenya.) The staff, accommodations and food here were excellent. Chris and Debbie (Camp Managers) know what they are doing and make staying in a tented camp a pure pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanctuary R, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for this lovely review!!

We are very pleased that you experienced two of our properties and had a enjoyable stay at both.

Thank for your lovely feedback, Chris, Debbie and the rest of the team loved hosting you and are eager to welcome you back again one day soon.

In the meantime you can keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini Camp by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’. We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in five locations in Tanzania and Kenya on an A&K "Wings Over Migration" safari, and Sanctuary Kusini was probably the most special of the luxury tent camps. It lies in the Southern end of the Serengeti Park and is a relatively remote location on a hilltop. The tent-cabins are spaced well apart from one another and provide both the feel of great privacy, but also exposure to the animals, with baboon, elephant, and Cape Buffalo having the roam of the resort grounds. The cuisine was exceptional, the firepit at night the most inviting of all the places we staged, and the resort managers, Debbie and Chris, just exceptionally friendly, attentive and entertaining hosts. The wonderful benefit of this part of the Park is that the land cruisers were able to leave the dirt roads and wander endlessly directly onto the grassy savanna to track down the animals. Just an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Robert,

What a lovely review, thank you so much!

We’re so glad to hear that you had such an exceptional experience with us and that Kusini was the most special camp you stayed at.

It was an honour to host you and your family and we do hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Until then, please keep up with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had to drive for a long time over bad roads to reach Kusini Camp but we were very pleased with the result. The accommodations were not as luxurious as some of the other places we stayed, but I loved the African "feel" to the lodge and tents. The game viewing was excellent (thousands upon thousands of wildebeests and zebras, not to mention significant lion sightings.) Debbie and Chris have the perfect personalities for entertaining clients day after day and made us feel most welcome. A highlight of each day was cocktail hour on a large boulder watching the sun go down.
The best way to reach this camp is via Kusini's own airstrip but, for some reason, we were not able to use it and had to drive for two hours over terrible roads to reach a different airstrip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sandy,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the end result and very happy that you loved the African “feel”. We’re glad your game viewing experience was excellent too and we do hope you return again soon.

If you wouldn’t mind taking the time, please could you email us at info@sanctuaryretreats.com with your booking details and we will investigate why the airstrip was inaccessible during your stay.

You can keep up with all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
186 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This superb property is operated by Abercrombie and Kent, but available to other providers and to independent travellers. Although it's classified as a "Permanent Tented Camp", it was the most luxurious and attractive place we stayed on our A&K "Wings over the Migration" trip. Chris and Debbie are savvy managers who get the best out of their staff, providing a superb experience for guests. I can't overstate how wise and charming they are at the same time. The food was the best of our trip, as well as were the dining room ambiance and operations. The beds and bathrooms (dual sinks, massive stone shower) were near-Hyatt quality. The insect-mesh tent "windows" are covered by the staff with canvas flaps at night, providing privacy and draft-prevention. The bathroom section is permanent masonry construction with beautiful stones and tiles. It is very cool here on August nights.

Note that safari "hotels" are out in the middle of nowhere. Most have scheduled hours for electricity and (charcoal heated) hot water. But you have electric light in your tent at ALL times here. Like everywhere we stayed, parts of the dirt track from the South Serengeti airstrip to the hotel were very rough.

But although there are no structures except the windsock at the airstrip, there was a table with coffee, tea and juices to greet us. And there were always moist eucalyptus-scented towels to wipe your face when you returned from a game drive. Our Land Cruiser driver/guide Jesse was excellent. The kopje (rock) adjacent to the lodge provide beautiful views, although our game drives went so long (no fault of the Sanctuary ... ) that we never got up top at sunset cocktail time. (Wouldn't you rather see lions ... er ... making little lions ... twice in two days?) We had our drinks inside, or at the bonfire.

A Belgian couple we saw in the dining room on an indpendent self-drive were stuck waiting for parts for their rental 4WD. Whatever you think of "group tours", I'm glad we didn't have to worry about transportation!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and similar. The only difference is walking distance, which isn't a big issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so very much for this incredibly detailed and delightful review of Sanctuary Kusini, it gives us great pleasure receiving positive feedback from our guests.

This is indeed a rave review and we will certainly share this with Chris, Debbie and the rest of the team, our staff is our greatest asset, and it is wonderful to hear your kind words.

You saw lions making little lions, twice in one day that must have been an amazing experience, hopefully when you return you will get to experience sundowners on the kopje.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day soon but in the meantime you can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just finished an A&K "Wings Over Migration" tour. Staying at this camp was an incredible experience. Great atmosphere. Great food. Accommodating staff. The best part was the hosts, Chris and Debbie. They made us feel like family. After exciting days in "the bush", it was relaxing to return to Kusini for drinks and appetizers on the rocks. Then more interesting conversation after dinner. This was truly one of our best lodging experiences.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Rosemary,

Thank you for posting your Sanctuary Kusini experience on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that it was truly one of your best lodging experiences.

Chris, Debbie and the rest of the team really loved hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon...

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
69.2 mi away
Kirawira Serena Camp
Kirawira Serena Camp
#29 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
256 reviews
22.8 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
161 reviews
58.0 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#20 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#4 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
222 reviews
78.7 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
291 reviews
54.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti

Property: Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Address: PO Box 427, Njiro Hill, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Sanctuary Kusini's charm is its remote and private location within the park, offering exceptional and essentially private game viewing. Built around a spectacular rocky outcrop, or kopje, the camp's communal areas include a dining area, lounge and library, as well as a campfire. The views from the kopje are simply sensational - the perfect spot for sundowners and stargazing. The library is stocked with reference books to read up on the day's discoveries, and of course, our experienced guides are always on hand to fill in about local knowledge where books cannot. Like all Sanctuary properties, Sanctuary Kusini is designed to have minimal environmental impact, in fact the camp can be packed up and removed without leaving a trace. The open-plan ensuite twelve tents at Sanctuary Kusini are shaded from the sun by acacia trees and all are positioned carefully with thought out views of the surrounding plains and extremely spacious at 48 square metres. Each tent has its own personal attendant to look after guests during their stay and feature mosquito netting, hairdryers and in-room safe. A large private wooden veranda with comfortable furnishings extends in front of each tent, with many having views of the plains below where zebra, buffalo and lion are a common sight year-round, the ideal spot to relax for a sundowner after a hot restorative shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and South African Hotels so you can book your Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing