We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stop of our Tanz./Kenya Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This superb property is operated by Abercrombie and Kent, but available to other providers and to independent travellers. Although it's classified as a "Permanent Tented Camp", it was the most luxurious and attractive place we stayed on our A&K "Wings over the Migration" trip. Chris and Debbie are savvy managers who get the best out of their staff, providing a superb experience for guests. I can't overstate how wise and charming they are at the same time. The food was the best of our trip, as well as were the dining room ambiance and operations. The beds and bathrooms (dual sinks, massive stone shower) were near-Hyatt quality. The insect-mesh tent "windows" are covered by the staff with canvas flaps at night, providing privacy and draft-prevention. The bathroom section is permanent masonry construction with beautiful stones and tiles. It is very cool here on August nights.

Note that safari "hotels" are out in the middle of nowhere. Most have scheduled hours for electricity and (charcoal heated) hot water. But you have electric light in your tent at ALL times here. Like everywhere we stayed, parts of the dirt track from the South Serengeti airstrip to the hotel were very rough.

But although there are no structures except the windsock at the airstrip, there was a table with coffee, tea and juices to greet us. And there were always moist eucalyptus-scented towels to wipe your face when you returned from a game drive. Our Land Cruiser driver/guide Jesse was excellent. The kopje (rock) adjacent to the lodge provide beautiful views, although our game drives went so long (no fault of the Sanctuary ... ) that we never got up top at sunset cocktail time. (Wouldn't you rather see lions ... er ... making little lions ... twice in two days?) We had our drinks inside, or at the bonfire.

A Belgian couple we saw in the dining room on an indpendent self-drive were stuck waiting for parts for their rental 4WD. Whatever you think of "group tours", I'm glad we didn't have to worry about transportation!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and similar. The only difference is walking distance, which isn't a big issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obsoperator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you so very much for this incredibly detailed and delightful review of Sanctuary Kusini, it gives us great pleasure receiving positive feedback from our guests.

This is indeed a rave review and we will certainly share this with Chris, Debbie and the rest of the team, our staff is our greatest asset, and it is wonderful to hear your kind words.

You saw lions making little lions, twice in one day that must have been an amazing experience, hopefully when you return you will get to experience sundowners on the kopje.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day soon but in the meantime you can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just finished an A&K "Wings Over Migration" tour. Staying at this camp was an incredible experience. Great atmosphere. Great food. Accommodating staff. The best part was the hosts, Chris and Debbie. They made us feel like family. After exciting days in "the bush", it was relaxing to return to Kusini for drinks and appetizers on the rocks. Then more interesting conversation after dinner. This was truly one of our best lodging experiences.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Rosemary,

Thank you for posting your Sanctuary Kusini experience on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that it was truly one of your best lodging experiences.

Chris, Debbie and the rest of the team really loved hosting you and hope to welcome you back one day soon...

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were greeted by Chris and Debbie on arrival. Their caring and attentiveness was evident throughout our stay. Orientation was very informative and important.

Our tent was another fabulous experience thanks to Abercrombie and Kent Safaris. Peaceful and private with luxury amenities. Wonderful bed and linens in the bush. Wild animals serenaded us through the night. A welcome treat-Coffee service brought to our tent in the morning so that we could sit on our deck and enjoy the morning.

The food was really excellent, breakfast and dinner. The staff were well trained and made everyone feel welcome.

We loved the Askari taking us to our tent in the evening. Thank goodness, as a Cape buffalo was in our path when returning to our tent. With a flashlight and some sounds, the Cape buffalo moved on. BTW-wild animals have the right-of-way here......

A very memorable experience we will think about for a long time.

Room Tip: I believe this another group safari camp. All locations are great....ll
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meade66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna N, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful and memorable experience with us and thank you for sharing it on Tripadvisor.

Our team loved hosting you and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back one day soon.

Thanks once again, would be great if you could keep up to date with the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini by liking us on Facebook, just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’.

We are also on Twitter (@SanctuaryRet) and Instagram (SanctuaryRetreats) if you would like to follow us.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 days at Kusini Camp. We had a great time. We enjoyed sitting on the rocks meeting the other guests while sipping cocktails. It was a lovely sunset. The accommodations were excellent. We loved the food. Last and not least--Chris and Debbie and their staff were very kind and helpful. Our safari guide Joseph Athuman was well educated, helpful and offered us in-depth information about the animals and birds in the area. He drove us to meet the migration of the wildebeests even though they had moved onward a bit by the time of our arrival. He went the extra miles/hours for us. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Mary G,


Another great review from you, thank you so much!

I have to agree the sunsets on the rock are lovely. Thank you for your kind comments, I will be sure to pass your feedback onto Chris, Debbie, Joseph and the rest of the team.

We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

You can follow all the latest news from Sanctuary Retreats and Kusini by liking us on Facebook. Just search for ‘Sanctuary Retreats’

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Camp Kusini was the last place I stayed on our "Wings Over the Migration" A&K tour. I was there last February, but am just getting around to writing a review.

Cornelia and Mark were by far some of the most amazing people we met on our entire tour. From the moment we arrived I felt completely comfortable and welcomed by them. They greeted us when we landed at a nearby airstrip with coffee, tea and refreshments. They came fully equipped with shirts, horse-tail fly swatters, bug spray (DEET) to battle the notorious tsetse flies. The next three nights were both our last and our best nights there.

The tour drivers did an amazing job guiding us through the Serengeti.

Our food was delicious at every meal and the Kusini Sunsets on the rock with drinks and appetizers. The nighttime fires chatting with Cornelia and Mark were some of the best conversations I've had. I truly felt like they were friends.

I always felt safe being brought back to our rooms every night by tribal guards. I truly felt one with nature as one morning I was awoken to see giraffe eating trees outside our tent and fell asleep hearing the sounds of roaring lions.

I wish I could go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HiPrettyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

What an excellent review, thank you so much for posting!

We are very happy that you had such an amazing time with us. Cornelia, Mark and the rest of the team absolutely loved hosting you.

Sunsets on the rock is definitely a highlight for most guest that stay at Sanctuary Kusini and feeling that you are “one with nature”, what more can one ask for..

We wish that you would come back and look forward to welcoming you back.

Would love if you could share your experience on our Facebook page, just search for Sanctuary Retreats…

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sancturay Kusini is right by the wildebeest migration in the Serengeti. This exotic camp hotel is ideal for safaris.

Service is top notch. Rooms are tents but more like 5 star hotel than tent. Host and hostess offer amazing service!

Each night, visitors will sit on a rock next to the camp and watch the beautigul African susnet. teh staff brings drinks and pillows. Incredible!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and do hope you come back for sundowners on the rock soon.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

It would be awesome if you could join our Facebook page and share your experience, just search for Sanctuary Retreats.

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights and from the moment we touch down at the airstrip to the point we left we loved it! Chris & Debbie the managers and all the staff were excellent (Jambo!). Location really is in the middle of nowhere so if you are arriving on the back of a long international flight into Dar es Salaam was we did, you should think about staying over before getting on the light aircraft via Arusha as this takes 5-6 hours, depending on route on the day. The "tents" were fantastic - very spacious with good bathroom facilities and we loved the special touches like hot water bottles in bed and wake up call with a pot of tea and cookies. Food was pretty good we thought although if you are a bit fussy you should be aware there is limited choice (your in the middle of the bush don't forget!). You will see animals all around the camp and will hear lions roaring very close by. The games drives were excellent, including packed lunch on all day trips, and our guide Athuman was very knowledgeable and a great spotter. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same and I don't think one position in the camp is any better than any other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W52EX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanctuaryRetreats_2, Manager at Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Jambo!!

What a great review thanks so much. Chris, Debbie and the rest of the team especially Athuman were so happy to read your comments. The little touches make a huge difference, glad you enjoyed them.

We do hope you come back to hear the roaring lions and would love for you to share your experience on our Facebook page.

We looking forward to seeing you again one day soon

Best wishes
Sanctuary Retreats

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
54 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
480 reviews
78.7 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#16 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
336 reviews
69.2 mi away
Kirawira Serena Camp
Kirawira Serena Camp
#33 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#23 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
194 reviews
56.4 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
528 reviews
71.7 mi away
andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp
andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tent...
#44 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti

Address: PO Box 427, Njiro Hill, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $845 - $1,570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of Sanctuary Kusini's charm is its remote and private location within the park, offering exceptional and essentially private game viewing. Built around a spectacular rocky outcrop, or kopje, the camp's communal areas include a dining area, lounge and library, as well as a campfire. The views from the kopje are simply sensational - the perfect spot for sundowners and stargazing. The library is stocked with reference books to read up on the day's discoveries, and of course, our experienced guides are always on hand to fill in about local knowledge where books cannot. Like all Sanctuary properties, Sanctuary Kusini is designed to have minimal environmental impact, in fact the camp can be packed up and removed without leaving a trace. The open-plan ensuite twelve tents at Sanctuary Kusini are shaded from the sun by acacia trees and all are positioned carefully with thought out views of the surrounding plains and extremely spacious at 48 square metres. Each tent has its own personal attendant to look after guests during their stay and feature mosquito netting, hairdryers and in-room safe. A large private wooden veranda with comfortable furnishings extends in front of each tent, with many having views of the plains below where zebra, buffalo and lion are a common sight year-round, the ideal spot to relax for a sundowner after a hot restorative shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and South African Hotels so you can book your Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing