We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serengeti Migration Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Directly located at the Hippo pool at Grumeti river this camp is really an unforgettable place to stay. The "tents" (well actually you can't really call it a tent, all luxury demands are met there..) are embedded in the wild nature of the Northern Serengeti and make you feel like beeing a part of the wildlife scenery. At night you even here the silent snarl of the Lions in the distance. The food in the camp is excellent, especially when you are aware of the fact that you are in the middle of the bush. They definitely have a very skilled and dedicate team in the kitchen! Yet another highlight is the amazing view from the veranda, the sunset there is really amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kajuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 330 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

A truly remote wild location deep in the Serengeti on the Grumeti River, this luxurious camp's location cannot be beat. The staff, Mr. Rodgers (manager) and especially our guide Alex were truly dedicated to making sure our experience was absolutely stunning down to the small details. Gourmet food, fine spirits and night visits by hippos to the property make this experience unforgettable. Immediately after driving off the property you are game driving in one of the most species rich places in the world. The expert guide Alex places you in your very own National Geographic experience completely immersed in a dream. Our expectations were completely exceeded by this amazing place, and the amazing people who make it so.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patmanhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Another wonderful camp on the Elewana trip. Tent ? Luxurious, Food really good and varied, service as usual excellent, Daniel was our butler, lovely chap, bit young and shy but he appeared fairly new and was so nice I am sure he puts himself more forward now.
Safaris very good saw more lions than we could count, though I think our travelling companion did manage to keep count. Very interesting walk up the river, even though it was a bit smelly from the hippos.The efforts made to ensure our safety and enjoyment of our time there was second to none. On our walk up the river, just 6 of us, we had our guide, with his rifle, a park ranger with a machine gun and just as we were setting off the Doctor joined us with all his medical equipment, we thought for a minute if this walk was the wisest thing to do, but it was. Basically all has been said by others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joboy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were greeted by Lauren, she made us feel massively welcome straight away. After dinner she told us some very funny stories about safari goings on, although she had had some bad news she was still an amazing host. She even gifted us a lovely bottle of red wine (it was lovely,thanks Lauren)
The lodge itself is lovely, it fits in so well with the surroundings. It has a lovely lounge with big comfy sofas, this area looks down on to the pool, then out across the Serengeti, truly stunning views. The tents are definitely not tents as you know them, with a big comfy double bed, lovely big shower and sink area, verandas with rocking chairs that we enjoyed both evenings. One morning while sitting on the veranda 3 dik dik's popped out of no where and wandered down the path, great start to the day!! On our walk to our tent we passed the hippo pool. You can hear them night and day, a nice reminder of where you are, this totally added to the lodge atmosphere. The camp is open, no fences, so as soon you leave or arrive you see giraffes, zebras, impalas and the rest.
We had Julius looking after us at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Easily the happiest, loveliest man I've ever met. He couldn't do enough for us, we felt so well looked after he's a credit to the camp! The breakfast was great, seriously set us up for a day out exploring. The packed lunches are packed lunches but again not as you know them. Moses (who I'll come back to) set up little tables and chairs out on the serengeti, table cloth, napkins, proper cutlery, proper plates and 6 silver tins, fresh salad, bbq chicken, delicious strips of beef with vegetables, everything we ate was yummy!! And by far the best place I've ever eaten lunch. Both lunches we had out on safari were delicious. Dinner at camp was a little hit and miss, delicious soups every night, while I enjoyed all my main dishes my partner did not, this is not a reflection on the chefs abilities but maybe can be put down to ones tastes. But in general fab grub and the staff were all lovely.
Now on to Moses, our ranger/guide/safari encyclopaedia. What Moses doesn't know about safari isn't worth knowing. We listened intently every time he spoke! His ability to find animals is astonishing. On our second day out we hadn't yet seen any lions, Moses was intent on finding some for us. And he done just that, he spotted lions from about 3 miles away on a rock. No exaggeration, we were amazed by both the lions and how he managed to spot them. A lovely lovely man, who at the end of our 3 day safari I felt sad saying good bye to. If you get Moses as your guide you'll be very happy campers. he made it a truly wonderful experience for us.
I can't recommend Migration camp enough, absolutely no complaints from me.
Big thanks to Lauren for being such a wonderful host and to Julius for being so so lovely and a massive thanks Moses for giving us such an incredible tour of the Serengeti and Serenara.
Definitely hope to return for safari number 2, whenever that may be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TiffsTravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Well there is really not much to complain here. The service was excellent, the dinners excellent, breakfasts were very good, internet...yes excellent connection (okay only at receiption, but it worked), tent roomy, clean, bright and as we had one facing the river full of life with Hippos, buffalos and birds bird birds...oh and let us not forget the Tree Hyrax....gosh they can be a noisy bunch at night, but all worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

When I dreamed of a safari trip to the Serengeti I imagined a place just like this - only this was even better. The tents were very special - ours was high up with a great view. The Masai security were on task day and night, the meals were very good especially when taking into consideration that we were a long way off the beaten track. I especially appreciated the vegan choices. We enjoyed the sunset on the rooftop patio and listening to the hippos at night. The pile of dung at the end of our walkway one morning suggests that a large Cape buffalo had been down our path in the night! The guides from the lodge were amongst the best we had and they certainly gave us plenty of time in the jeeps. We also appreciated the laundry that the staff did for us - it was a great way to start into the next phase of our trip. The last morning one of the members of our group was celebrating her birthday and the staff made a lovely cake and entertained us with singing and drumming - and a rousing rendition of 'Happy Birthday. A great send off. We stayed three nights and would have happily stayed another three.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 nights here and if we are lucky enough to go to Tanzania again we would stay for longer. You are in the most amazing place to see the wildlife and we just wanted longer.

The managers and staff could not be more welcoming and genuinely have a passion for sharing the country with you. Our guide Moses was incredible in his knowledge and obvious love of this amazing place. His ability to spot animal was fantastic and he made the trip very special for us taking time to make the days what we wanted. Thank you Moses.

Advice is to plaster yourself in insect repellent (we used RID an australian version available online and had no bites at all) and sun block. Wear as many thin layers as possible as this is your only defence from the tetsi fly. There is no bug repellent in the world that will keep them away. Avoid black and blue clothes as tetsi are attracted to these colours.

It was nice to wash off the dust and dress up a little at night but it is a very casual dress code, not at all stuffy but staff service adds a feeling of being special and a bit spoilt. I never got used to not being allowed to help pack up the picnic lunch ;)

Packing for safari any kind of glamour is out. Only boots will really work the ground is dusty and uneven and has thorns and dung to cope with. If you are in boots you won't worry. Clothes need to be thin to keep cool and need no ironing, while you can get washing done easily ironing is not available.

Finally take extra memory cards and batteries and the best camera you can afford. You will not regret it as it is a photographers paradise.

This lodge is in an amazing place with the animals all around you. You feel very safe as the staff team have your safety in mind all the time but be prepared for the noise. We loved that we could hear hippos arguing, lions staking their territory and elephants stomping through the camp but if you are a light sleeper pack some ear plugs.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
27.4 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
208 reviews
22.4 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
526 reviews
38.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.3 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
476 reviews
54.9 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
278 reviews
36.7 mi away
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
#42 of 125 in Serengeti National Park
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Migration Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Migration Camp

Address: Northern Corridor, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $1,063 - $1,612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serengeti Migration Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the vast plains, the Serengeti Migration Camp is located at the starting point of one of the world’s great wonders - the Annual Migration. The Serengeti Migration Camp, part of the Elewana Collection of Lodges, Camps and Hotels in Tanzania and Kenya, has been recognized for its exemplary experiences in accommodation, culinary excellence, and game viewing safaris. Travelandleisure, one of the travel industries largest travel trade portals, has conducted a comprehensive poll with its large readership of travel professionals and has subsequently voted the Serengeti Migration Camp the 6th Best Safari Camp in the World and the Tenth Best Hotel in the World. The Migration Camp comprises 20 unexpectedly large elevated canvas pavilions, featuring hardwood floors and luxurious furnishings, and each room has its own private deck with a 180 degree view of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Serengeti Migration Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Migration Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing