We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serengeti Migration Camp
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$206
$195
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
$1,441
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ikoma Wildcamp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Kisura Sirengeti Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveler rating
287
32
13
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
32
13
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrumeti riverhippo poolguide mosesthe managersthe main lodgegame drivesraised platformcape buffalogenet catwalking safarievery requestking size bedafrica tripgeneral managerhoneymoon suiteafrican bushfalling asleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 337 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

When I dreamed of a safari trip to the Serengeti I imagined a place just like this - only this was even better. The tents were very special - ours was high up with a great view. The Masai security were on task day and night, the meals were very good especially when taking into consideration that we were a long way off the beaten track. I especially appreciated the vegan choices. We enjoyed the sunset on the rooftop patio and listening to the hippos at night. The pile of dung at the end of our walkway one morning suggests that a large Cape buffalo had been down our path in the night! The guides from the lodge were amongst the best we had and they certainly gave us plenty of time in the jeeps. We also appreciated the laundry that the staff did for us - it was a great way to start into the next phase of our trip. The last morning one of the members of our group was celebrating her birthday and the staff made a lovely cake and entertained us with singing and drumming - and a rousing rendition of 'Happy Birthday. A great send off. We stayed three nights and would have happily stayed another three.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 nights here and if we are lucky enough to go to Tanzania again we would stay for longer. You are in the most amazing place to see the wildlife and we just wanted longer.

The managers and staff could not be more welcoming and genuinely have a passion for sharing the country with you. Our guide Moses was incredible in his knowledge and obvious love of this amazing place. His ability to spot animal was fantastic and he made the trip very special for us taking time to make the days what we wanted. Thank you Moses.

Advice is to plaster yourself in insect repellent (we used RID an australian version available online and had no bites at all) and sun block. Wear as many thin layers as possible as this is your only defence from the tetsi fly. There is no bug repellent in the world that will keep them away. Avoid black and blue clothes as tetsi are attracted to these colours.

It was nice to wash off the dust and dress up a little at night but it is a very casual dress code, not at all stuffy but staff service adds a feeling of being special and a bit spoilt. I never got used to not being allowed to help pack up the picnic lunch ;)

Packing for safari any kind of glamour is out. Only boots will really work the ground is dusty and uneven and has thorns and dung to cope with. If you are in boots you won't worry. Clothes need to be thin to keep cool and need no ironing, while you can get washing done easily ironing is not available.

Finally take extra memory cards and batteries and the best camera you can afford. You will not regret it as it is a photographers paradise.

This lodge is in an amazing place with the animals all around you. You feel very safe as the staff team have your safety in mind all the time but be prepared for the noise. We loved that we could hear hippos arguing, lions staking their territory and elephants stomping through the camp but if you are a light sleeper pack some ear plugs.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent two nights here. The rooms are really nice and the wildlife was everywhere. Elephants blocked our way to our rooms one day but the security cleared them away from the path. The hippos and lions were quite vocal during the night, The pool was nice however there were tseste flies around on the drive into the camp The manager was very friendly as were the staff. We did have a problem with rooms. We had asked for a double and a twin room close to each other, however both rooms were double and they were not adjacent. They had said they would sort it out but that meant a makeshift bed on a pull out couch which did not seem adequate for a luxury camp. We overheard another family also had concerns with the layout of beds and changed rooms so we asked and the children were changed to a twin room for the next night. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Some have larger balconies while others have better view of the hippo pool. Request what you prefer.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sherryNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stunning location and an ideal base for wildlife watching in the Serengeti and we saw lots of memorable stuff including 6 Cheetahs resting under a tree. Having Giraffe, Hippo, Klipspringer, Rock Hyrax and Elephants wandering around the site was an amazing experience and the Maasai security do an excellent job ensuring they don't get too close. The accommodation tents are too luxurious and full of stuff we didn't need or use. The restaurant and it's staff are far too formal and need to be relaxed by management, some of them look scared. I prefer a buffet so I can have as much as I want of what I like quickly but here i's like being in some posh place as it's all menu's and etiquette and other foolish time-wasting devices. It's the Serengeti not the Savoy and seems to take hours to accomplish the simple task of just eating some food as they mess about with cutlery and do things according to some unfathomable code. It drives me mad with frustration waiting for another tiny portion of 'art food' when there's lots of wildlife action going on outside and i'm missing it, grrrrr. The public areas would have been better had the mainly North American clientele adhered to the 'respect others privacy and stop shouting at each other' rule but the chances of that are zero unless the Maasai can come up with a silencer medicine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Owner at Serengeti Migration Camp, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Dear Paul N from Plymouth

Thank you so much for your review of Serengeti Migration Camp and for the comments that you have made.

I am writing to you today to acknowledge those comments and state that we are disappointed that you have not had a satisfactory stay with us. This is especially disappointing as we have achieved a a very high Guest Satisfaction Ranking with the majority of our guests who post on Trip Advisor and indeed with the overwhelming percentage of our guests who fill in our Guest Satisfaction Survey at our camp.

In regards to your review I am somewhat perplexed that our luxurious accommodation, and our attention to detail in our 'a la carte' restaurant was not to your liking and reflected in a score of '2 out of 4' for value. It seems to be somewhat a contradiction in terms that we scored very low for value for money because we over-delivered. I would be most interested to learn what 'stuff' was provided in your tents that you found to be unnecessary.

This having been said we understand that luxury is a feeling rather than any one tangible element and therefore we will carefully assess your comments and make adjustments to our service if we feel that it is deemed necessary.

However I would like to state for the benefit of other readers that Migration Camp's high standards of service, 'luxuriant' accommodations and exceptional food and beverage will continue, as it will at all of our Elewana Collection camps, lodges and boutique beach hotel, unabated.

With best regards

Jason Barry
Group Director of Marketing and Communications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at this camp.We were able to observe the migration and watch the wildebeest cross the Mara - what a sight! In addition managed to see black rhino twice..This was our sixth trip to Africa to observe game and the best yet. Saw more lions and elephants this trip than ever before. Difficult to think of any animals we missed out on this trip.
When we got back each evening there was a warm welcome and a wonderful iced beers delivered ti our rooms so we could indulge as we showered.
We began to feel like one of the family. I threatened the manager that I would post on trip adviser that this place had reduced my wife to tears. Well it did but they were tears of happiness and joy. On our last evening they made a huge fuss of us with a specially decorated table on a private balcony and a special cake delivered by drumming and singing staff. Thanks Lauren.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews