We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Sky Safari trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serengeti Migration Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Sky Safari trip”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent 8 days for our Elewana skysafari trip in Tanzania. Our last stop was at Serengeti Migration Camp. It is a luxurious camp and situated in the migration area. We can hear lion roaring and hippos humming at night. We saw zebras when we walked back to our room. The room is lovely and has a balcony overlooking the bush and animals! We saw hippos, giraffes, baboons, buffaloes and zebras from our balcony. Food was great. Lodge manager Lauren is very friendly. Our butler Dan was super helpful. We were able to see the Africa's big 5 in 2 days here! The guides Stan and Joseph were very knowledgable and tried every effort to find what we wanted to see! The only thing is the wifi is a bit weak at the main lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LWP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    29
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
150
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

An amazing stop after traveling miles and seeing the animals in the Serengeti, was a luxury camp almost in the middle of nowhere. The assigned tents are set up in an area close to the main area, the food was good, the service was excellent, and the views from the dining tent and central area was spectacular. We didn't try the pool as we were told that it is heated by the day sun, but it looked inviting. All amenities like laundry and drinks were included. We were warned not to leave the tents after dark without an escort and were awaken by the monkeys on the tent roof in the morning. We felt quite safe even though animals were very close by.

Room Tip: Flashlight was provided but it helped to have your own lights available as a precaution.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MB Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
239 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

From the giraffes stalking the paths to the jungle cats darting through the bar, this is as fine a camp as you're likely to find. Food was good, service was excellent; they had wifi, the setting is spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvdwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
341 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

In every facet of the experience, Serengeti Migration Lodge impressed. It is truly amazing that these luxury camps, with amenities, service, and food as good as anything in the world, can provide this experience in the middle of the african bush.
The food is really first class and they can work around any dietary restriction you have.
As many have mentioned, the wildlife can be a little disturbing at night. Would you rather be in the concrete jungle?! My personal favorite was the Hyrax who kamakazi'ed onto the roof of our tent at 2am. Sounded like a hippo landed on our place. Our friends had the sound of a cape buffalo munching grass all night. This is the full safari experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scphil21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I cannot get over how all these safari camps and lodges do it. I mean, the roads the materials must travel, not only for construction but for maintenance! To add to that, a luxury camp?! Amazing. The linens and room amenities are something you'd find in some of the best hotel chains or boutique hotels. Excellent linens! The shower was one of the best I've had....and the water was heated by our room's own solar panel and battery. How these camps do it, still amazes me. The food quality and presentation was, again, top of the line. The best was the free happy hour, however. Any shelf drink or house wine was free, came with some tasty, free munchies, and a view that you'll NEVER experience ever again. It's a pity that safaris take you away from your accommodation, as we would have LOVED just to relax here for a day. The pool looked perfect. The common areas, welcoming. The food and drink menu, plentiful and gourmet. And that hippo pool? Sure, we heard them, but it was great! Love that noise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We felt like we were in a Hemingway novel with the dark wood floors, the proximity to the noisy hippos in the Grumeti River, the heavy furniture and the animal print textiles. Really gorgeous. The term is "glamping" for this glamorous camping experience. Solar heated water tanks so we had a hot shower (with a beautiful dark wood walk-in shower). The king bed was in the middle of the large, canvas-sided tent, facing the doors that opened to the deck and the wilds. Sherry was decanted. Wifi was available in the lobby. The building (each "room" is its own building with beds, showers, sinks and bathroom) has plenty of netted windows or you can cover them. You do have to shine your flashlight and have someone come get you to escort you to the dining area, pool and bar - just to make sure you don't encounter animals along the way. House wine was included in dinner. Pre-dinner appetizers and drinks were brought to us atop the deck bar. The sunset from the bar was terrific.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We arrived in Migration camp after 3 days of safari in the Masai Mara with &Beyond so maybe we were a bit spoiled or used to their 5-star service. The guide that picked us up at the airport we were not a fan of. He was driving way too fast and wasn't even looking for animals. He was the only guide we had that had no binoculars or animal guide in the car. We actually spotted all the animals and he drove so fast that he'd scare the animals as soon as we got closer. We switched guides the next day, Adam and John were both excellent and very knowledgeable. Try to request them if you can! So we were a bit frazzled upon arrival where we were greeted by the friendly staff. The camp itself is very nice and we liked the semi-permanent tents. We were in tent 20 which was far away from the river and close to the staff quarters so you could hear cars coming in and out and some noise from the staff there. We complained about the noise which they did address. I would suggest requesting a tent closer to the river and more in the middle of the camp. I inquired about the walking safari and was told they'd get back to us with a time. Nobody ever came to tell us so finally after a couple of hours I went back up to the main lodge to find out that it started in 30min. Basically we would have missed it because nobody would have told us. We had several things like this happen in migration camp, there was always something missing with the service. You just didn't get anything unless you asked for it. Even drinks in the lobby while we were attempting to use the wi-fi (didn't work that great) weren't offered, we'd have to track someone down to get a drink. These are small things that could be fixed with proper training and better management. We did enjoy seeing the hippos in the river on the walking safari and hearing them at night. We also got to see the giraffe that visits the camp occasionally. Baboons and hyrax are seen frequently throughout the campgrounds. Food was very good and we enjoyed the sunset deck with a fire pit on it. I think if they fixed a few of the service problems it would be worth going back to, otherwise I would just stick to the &Beyond Under Canvas. Also, you have no way of contacting any staff while you are in the cabin. When heading to the main tent at night you were supposed to wave your flashlight around on the deck until someone saw it and sent someone down to escort you there. This was frustrating as sometimes you'd have to wave it for awhile until someone saw it. Also, if we had any requests or questions we'd have to walk all the way back to the main tent. This could easily be solved with every cabin having a walkie talkie or some way to contact the main desk. &Beyond had this and was much more effective. I was sort of surprised with the let down in service here as Elewana's other property, The Manor at Ngorongoro, was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wests2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
22.4 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
356 reviews
38.4 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
831 reviews
57.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#5 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
471 reviews
54.9 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
201 reviews
20.9 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#24 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Migration Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Migration Camp

Property: Serengeti Migration Camp
Address: Northern Corridor, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serengeti Migration Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the vast plains, the Serengeti Migration Camp is located at the starting point of one of the world’s great wonders - the Annual Migration. The Serengeti Migration Camp, part of the Elewana Collection of Lodges, Camps and Hotels in Tanzania and Kenya, has been recognized for its exemplary experiences in accommodation, culinary excellence, and game viewing safaris. Travelandleisure, one of the travel industries largest travel trade portals, has conducted a comprehensive poll with its large readership of travel professionals and has subsequently voted the Serengeti Migration Camp the 6th Best Safari Camp in the World and the Tenth Best Hotel in the World. The Migration Camp comprises 20 unexpectedly large elevated canvas pavilions, featuring hardwood floors and luxurious furnishings, and each room has its own private deck with a 180 degree view of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Serengeti Migration Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Migration Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing