We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This can't possibly be camping!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serengeti Migration Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This can't possibly be camping!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

A unique elewana property in a spectacular location - it blends right in to the landscape. The "tents" are hardly tents, more like luxurious mini houses. The staff, the service, the food, the guides, the place in general...perfect. The hippos snort and belch and roar all night and it's hilarious. The outdoor dining area is beautiful, and the odd bit of entertainment provided by raiding baboons just adds to the atmosphere. A perfect place in the serengeti.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KR W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    29
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
68
150
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

While on photo safari encompassing several of the reserves in Tanzania, we were treated to two wonderful days and nights at the Serengeti Migration Camp. It's no wonder that this property is widely reviewed as a world class resort. Robin and her husband Peter added a dimension of knowledge and comfort for our group and the staff was "first class" attentive. While limited by supply challenges, the food was excellent and the presentation was highlighted by the location of the dining areas. Our "tented" quarters were very comfortable, while rather cool at night. It was more than tolerable since there was a large tree, right off the back of our wrap-around porch, that was full of baboons, who were very entertaining. And, while up for a early morning visit to the toilet, I was able to peek out our shaded window to see a hippo, which had come up from the river some 100 yards away, to feed on our lawn. Wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Some quarters are quite a walk from the main building (reception, dining, pool, shop, etc), and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeFalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

An excellent choice, a stunning camp and location. Well managed with excellent staff – helpful and friendly.
Approached over a substantial wooden walkway across a seasonal water course the main lodge was on three tiers down the hillside; administration at the top, followed by a lounge, curio shop and boma, leading on to wash rooms, a pool with sunbathing area and the restaurant (with terrace looking out over the river valley below and the bush beyond). Further steps lead down to the camp area where the large tents, each on its own wooden platform (giving a veranda all the way round) and solar water heating unit, were well spaced out over the valley floor, with a further rocky fall to the river below (complete with Hippo pool). Like many camps there was a requirement to be escorted to and from ones tent after dark: for the first time in my experience this was actually necessary. One night two hippos were observed grazing just outside our tent, while another night it was a giraffe, then a buffalo. While for about twenty four hours a couple of elephants wrecked a number of trees as they browsed their way through the camp.
The tent were very comfortably furnished and in some style. An extra large bed, desk and chair, sofa and easy chair plus other furnishings all sat well together. Finished off with an excellent shower, double wash basin unit and separate loo completed the facilities. Twenty four hour electricity added to comfort and convenience.
Generally the food was good, very good even. The style of cooking was a bit pretentious, and they did not always pull it off. But for me, diabetic requirement apart, I can eat and enjoy anything and I did enjoy the food, the style of cooking was not however quite to my wife’s taste although one meal apart this was not a problem. The homemade soups, the bread, pastries and buns, and the jams and marmalades were all particularly good.
My only criticism, the game viewing in the immediate vicinity of the camp is not the best we have experienced, at least while we were there, but having said that we were treated to some amazing sights; but we did need to cover the ground to find them.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berdewelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

Elewana properties are amazing. Tented camps can sound scary. The first is true, the second is completely false.

We arrived at Migration camp and were greeted by the manager who was phenomenal. We had the place essentially to ourselves, which was nice, but a bit lonely. The manager sat with us and had a couple glasses of wine and simply chatted into the night. This experience was consistent across our trip. A+ for management.

The room was just perfect. We were a little hesitant to do a tented camp after hearing some horror stories (no electricity, no hot water, etc). Migration Camp had constant electricity, had constant hot water, and was decorated in British safari style. There was a canvas divider for the bathroom, which made it not as awkward (see: Tarangire Treetops). The wrap-around porch was a nice touch.

The restaurant had decent food (a common trend we noticed was that Kenya had better food than Tanzania). It did, however, look out onto the Serengeti, which was an unbeatable view.

Overall, Migration Camp was probably my favorite property in Tanzania and I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: I honestly do not think there's a bad tent on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwwhite10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had an excellent stay for 2 nights in Migration Camp. Service is #1 here. Everything is almost perfect from breakfast, till dinner. Everything (incl drinks) is included here (of course the facility is not cheap.....). Recommendation is to at least stay 2 nights to appreciate it to the full extend. We had some very good game drives here, although it was a bit too early for the big migration. Wild animals are just crossing the camp. For that reason after sunset you have to be guarded from the resaurant to your tent. The food is good, but the environment in which it is served makes it excellent. They served our dinner out in the garden under the stars.

Room Tip: - From what I have seen, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Henk_Stap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We arrived here at the end of a safari, just at the tale end of the migration. It had been a long and wonderful trip and our previous accommodation was a mobil tented camp. This place was beautiful. Each unit was entirely separate, half tent, half walls with luxurious rooms and beautiful bathrooms. A nice change from the bag showers (although not as adventurous). Our unit overlooked the Grumati River so we could see and hear the hippos. There were many hyrax and vervet monkey's running around, but the best surprise was sitting in the lounge before dinner and having a hungry civet jump up and grab a few appetizers from our table. We were visited by an elephant and a few other animals at night but we were never in any danger. Guards accompany you in the dark, so you are perfectly safe. The rooms sit up off the ground so you have a deck that goes all around and is a nice spot to sit in the morning or after a long day on safari. The surroundings are magnificent, the food was very good and everyone is friendly.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of the rooms. You won't need conversion plugs or ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 3-Olives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Set deep in the Serengeti National Park is this true gem, consisting of tented camps and main areas for eating and just gazing out at the incredible Serengeti. We arrived tired and hot and were instantly met with cold towels, followed closely by juice and then gin and tonics!
Our tent was delightful. There was a large chesterfield, a huge bed with fresh crisp white linen bedding, a massive shower area and bathrobes and a bottle of champagne chilling in a silver ice bucket. We had a private balcony from which we could watch the Serengeti sunset.
Dinner was served under the stars on both nights. The food was great, especially on Valentine's Day and very innovative. Our game drive further into the reserve, although very long, was excellent and it was a bonus to see the thousands of wildebeest and zebras which had made the migration.
On our final night sundowners served on the upstairs deck just looking out over the Serengeti was spectacular.
How often do you get to have breakfast while looking at a family of giraffe and loads of elephants and hearing hippos wallowing in the nearby pools?
This place is magical and I would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: Room 15 is very large but the access is via very steep uneven stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jc0691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
22.4 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
38.4 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
57.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.9 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
25.1 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
20.9 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#23 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Migration Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Migration Camp

Property: Serengeti Migration Camp
Address: Northern Corridor, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serengeti Migration Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the vast plains, the Serengeti Migration Camp is located at the starting point of one of the world’s great wonders - the Annual Migration. The Serengeti Migration Camp, part of the Elewana Collection of Lodges, Camps and Hotels in Tanzania and Kenya, has been recognized for its exemplary experiences in accommodation, culinary excellence, and game viewing safaris. Travelandleisure, one of the travel industries largest travel trade portals, has conducted a comprehensive poll with its large readership of travel professionals and has subsequently voted the Serengeti Migration Camp the 6th Best Safari Camp in the World and the Tenth Best Hotel in the World. The Migration Camp comprises 20 unexpectedly large elevated canvas pavilions, featuring hardwood floors and luxurious furnishings, and each room has its own private deck with a 180 degree view of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Serengeti Migration Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Migration Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing