We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1,031 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 929 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Only spent one night at this lodge. Our unit was the size of a standard chain hotel. We had 3 beds. There was a hair dryer and a fan. There were fires all around the area and it was extremely smoky. The room did not have great cross ventilation. The shower wall could have been cleaner. They had mold and the grout looked dirty. Water pressure was good. The bar area was nice. They served appetizers complimentary. The buffet was well presented and have a nice selection of decent offerings. For one night this place was fine. Wouldn't want to spend much more time here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    315
    82
    22
    10
See reviews for
252
352
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuevo, CA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Serengeti Serena. We were travelling with our 2 children ages 11 and 19 so they put us in a family hut. It was very spacious with a kitchenette and sitting room with television, dvd player etc. Well the television had no reception and the dvd player did not work. Also the internet in the business center was down the entire time. The beds were extremely hard as well. Water pressure was slightly better than some of the other places and there was no shortage of hot water. The food was buffet style and was above average. Biggest drawback was that the start of the buffet line was not clearly marked so repeatedly you would have people jumping in front of you at the meat section. Also at breakfast the wait for made to order eggs was quite lengthy.

On a positive note the evening entertainment was good, and the staff werfe friendly. They stocked the fridge with water, soft drinks and even a couple beers at no charge, and delivered an evening fruit basket. The location within the park is also a big draw being fairly close to the Seronera area. Although it did not live up to my expectations Serengeti Serena is the best option in this area of the park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

The hotel was very nice. To be in the middle of the serengeti and get a very nice, comfortable and clean place is great. I would have liked to be out there under canvas but as it was our honeymoon we went for the plush hotel. Food was very good and the resident hiarax and lizards were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJBrown81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We were tired after along journey from Lake Manyara but enetring the hotel and our rooms was relaxing and cozy. We were very happy with every thing. Only lacking was that we were informed that there will be sleepers and bath rob in the rooms but it was supplied when asked for it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayshah51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

We spent the longest time here on our Safari route. The housekeeping and laundry services of the hotel are prompt and efficient. The only issue with the Lodge is that since it's right in the middle of the Park, there are lurking animals and so every time you need to walk from your room to the hotel you need to call for security. So you actually have armed escorts! It's actually a lot of fun. The buffets are the usual Serena style with a mix of continental and Indian food with some local favorites. They have a nice lounge to grab a drink before you head elsewhere. The staff sometimes don't understand English but it's not tough to get someone else to come and help you out. It's a great experience all round.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumbaiCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

The only word that applies is "average" rooms OK----food -nothing special. It's pretty far from the game viewing which is a pretty important detail. we had a 2 hour hell ride to our balloon company at 4:00am because this lodge is so far away from the herds. definitely stay elsewhere--this lodge felt like a rest area on the NYS thruway---hoards of people in and out.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shac1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

We took a 4 day three night safari to the Serengeti and Ngorogoro Crater. Stayed here a couple of nights. My recommendation is to book a safari through A Safaris in Arusha. Annie De Souza the owner was fabulous. Try to get Julius as a driver. The lodges here and at the crater were both excellent. But the service from A Safaris is what made the trip great. Lots of animal watching, unhurried and only four to the land cruiser. It has a cover that raises up so you can view animals even if its raining. Annie takes care of everything. Might even pick you up at the airport if you need.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weluvtheocean1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
18.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
390 reviews
27.2 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
432 reviews
38.4 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Kati Kati Tented Camp
Kati Kati Tented Camp
#10 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
887 reviews
21.4 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#20 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
259 reviews
21.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Mbingwe Valley, Serengeti National Park N/A, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a traditional African village this extraordinary lodge presents a vibrant design concept rich in indigenous craft and cultural detail that is without compare. Set high on a hill with rolling visas over the teeming plains of a natural amphitheater it also enjoys a ringside seat for the greatest show on earth, the annual migration of the wildebeest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Serena Safari Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing