We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of the Serengeti plains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Sint-Gillis-Waas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“In the middle of the Serengeti plains”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is the place to start your game drives in central Serengeti. Individual comfortable and spacious bungalows are scattered in the bush on walking distance from a beautiful central building. After sunset and before sunrise you will be escorted by a friendly guard. With his flashlight he will show you that tens of pairs of eyes are staring at you from the bush. The first morning one of my friends passed a leopard at less than 10 meter, and buffalos and other animals regularly walk on the footpaths. But no worry, just dial 2 and the guards will chase the animal away and escort you to the main building.

Room Tip: Always request a guard between sunset and sunrise to escort you to the main building (just dial 2)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    308
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
245
346
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heart of Herts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

From the brochure, this sounded like a wonderfully rustic experience with individual small huts in a wooded setting.. It isn't really like this: the huts are large with 4-6 rooms in each & noise from upstairs can be (was) a problem. The 'rustic' style is fake, about 20 years old & a bit too theme park style. All dinners are buffet style with speed & volume taking precedence & seeming to suit the very predominantly American, noisy tour groups. The bar was over-crowded pre-dinner, short of seating. The setting is great for the Serengeti without a doubt (so long as you don't mind the rough road in) but the tse-tse flies & mosquitos were murderous!! All other forms of wildlife were spectacular & the game drives fantastic so it was an enjoyable visit overall, just disappointing the hotel was not as rustic, relaxing or enjoyable as we had hoped.

Room Tip: Maybe opt for upstairs to avoid over-head noise? Balconies are nice but the flies made it unusable w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodNWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

First surprise : we got upgraded to the honeymoon suite. Amazing view on the Serengeti plain! Very big and comfortable room. Excellent food. Very nice service.
Restaurant and bar are big and typically designed. We really loved our 2 nights there!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladybird2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We flew from Arusha directly into the Serengeti where we were met by an Hotel guide who drove us to the lodge, with a wonderful game drive along the way (approximately half an hour).
The flight from Arusha was spectacular and only 1 hour. as opposed to an 8 hour dusty and bumpy road trip and I would highly recommend.
The Lodge is set in a lovely spot with stunning views from our balcony over the endless plains.
The food was not memorable but adequate. as in all the lodges we stayed. The evening entertainment was fine and a pleasant way to relax with a beer after a days safari.
A good central spot to see some of the Serengeti on your daily game drives.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith_bidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The drive into this hotel gives you all kinds of game viewing opportunities. It is in the middle of the Serengeti and we ran into two pride of lions on either side of it. There were giraffes and even a leopard not too far from it. There is a hippo pool situated not too far from the hotel. It is the best one we have seen.
There a lot of tse-tse fly mitigation flags around and it seemed to be effective as we were never bothered by them while on the property. We did have some around our Land Cruiser when we drove to a well treed portion of the hillside around the hotel.
The migration was concentrated somewhat to the south of it but our guide put us onto it on our second day there on our way out of the Serengeti. The unending herds of wildebeest and zebras is quite a sight.
The reception of the hotel, complete with cool towel and prompt introduction to the property was efficient. Our bags arrived quickly. The room resembled the rooms at the Lake Manyara Serena, consisting of stone huts with thatched roofs. I consider them very exotic and attractive, reminiscent somewhat of Masai architecture with so much more comfort. 24 hour power, hair dryer, separate shower (no bath) and balcony with a great view on the plains of the Serengeti were all part of the deal.
After dark, you need to be accompanied from your room to the dining room. With the roars of lions in the night, this does not seem like a superfluous grab at a tip.
Our waiter was James and his English was very good and his service prompt. Other staff members were also engaging and cheerful.
The suppers were done buffer style with a lot of variety of meats and vegetables and some Indian dishes as well. They had particularly tasty sausages on the grill.The deserts were average and attracted flies, an unfortunate but almost inevitable event. Perhaps removable netting covers might make the deserts more appealing. They did a decent variety of fruits.
Breakfast was also buffet style with your coffee and order of eggs served at the table.
You really have to be an admirer of the African arts to enjoy the native dancing and acrobats in the evening shows.
The pool is lovely and has a view on the Serengeti. It is closed after 6 pm in February. If you plan on breaking this rule, you may serve as appetizer to the game cats who drop in for some water, especially during very dry spells.
We had a pleasant stay in this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 432JamesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

this was the day 2 and3 of our 9 day safari to serengeti national park. the lodge is located in a remote location ,atop a hill and requires 30 minutes of driving out of the lodge to see some game.
The rooms are built like traditional african ronduvel huts,scattered across the property.
we had taken connecting rooms,since we were travelling with our twin girls.rooms were nothing fancy but comfortable,clean,and spacious with king-size beds,fitted with mosquito nets.
bathrooms were clean and equipped with shower stalls and toiletries,though we used our own.
the wi-fi connection was probably the best we had ,in our entire safari.
the rangers to escort us back and forth from our rooms,after dark(one cant go unaccompanied,for safety against wildlife)were very prompt.
i wish i could say the same for the service in the restaurant/dining room.the service was slow and little rude,atleast on day1.
on our first evening,the host refused to give us a table on the patio and was unwilling to even reserve it for us for the next evening and only relented ,when we asked to speak with the manager.very strange!
having said that the sundowner drinks on the patio were very relaxing and the nighly traditional dancers provided good entertainment.
the quality of food was average.we had had a very good dining experience at serena lodge in lake manyara and had set our expectations high.but the food choices were very limited for lunch,especially for vegetarians.dinner was buffet style and somewhat better.but nowhere close to the one at lake manyara.the other staff was friendly and very helpful.
the boxed picnic lunch was decent,if not sumptuous.
its a pleasant place to stay...nothing spectacular but everything works.
..

Room Tip: we had lower level rooms. choose upper level rooms,if you can.better view,fewer creepy crawlies
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gomansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Location: I thought the location would be really good, but it's not. A distance away from the game driving in Seronera area, no special view over the landscape and big big problems with tze-tze flies.

Food: food, which was buffet, was a big problem. Big problems with our stomachs.

Room: small room. 2 chairs outside, but no good idea to go out with the tze-tze flies. Good safe in the room.

Staff: ok. People didn't seem to really enjoy their jobs. Individual tipping.

Other: did I mention tze-tze flies…? These are much worse than mosquitos and I had some 40 bites that kept itching for about two weeks…

This is a place to which we will not come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FF_from_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
18.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#3 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
27.2 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
38.4 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#14 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#25 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
57.3 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
21.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#27 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Mbingwe Valley, Serengeti National Park N/A, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a traditional African village this extraordinary lodge presents a vibrant design concept rich in indigenous craft and cultural detail that is without compare. Set high on a hill with rolling visas over the teeming plains of a natural amphitheater it also enjoys a ringside seat for the greatest show on earth, the annual migration of the wildebeest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Serena Safari Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing