We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best sunset in africa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“the best sunset in africa”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

the bugalos are great, rooms ar eluxurious, spacious clean an dvery comfortable. The mosquito nets are royal and the small balcony faces rhe west where narvelos sunsets can be looked at. Food is great: quality and selection. The evening shows were nice, pretending to be traditional tribal songs and dances but american modern music and dance influence is huge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elhanan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    308
    81
    21
    10
See reviews for
245
346
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon safari package booked through Trailfinders, we spent two nights here at the Serengeti Serena Lodge. They gave us a brilliant room on the top floor (the rooms are in Massai style huts with two rooms on the bottom and one on the top) which was near the lovely (but cold, just need to get shoulders under!) pool and with amazing views.

The food was the same format as the other Serena lodges, buffet style, and was pretty good - the drinks options were good too. We also had a picnic breakfast that our driver arranged with the hotel (after an early 6am game drive) and this was fantastic.

The hotel is in a great location...you don't have to go far to see animals. In fact, after dark you have to be escorted to and from your room...which seeing as we were within ten metres of a buffalo on our way back from dinner one night, isn't a bad thing!

WiFi available across the lodge which is free including free coffee n tea in the bar but not in the room. Shower can be a bit tempermental in the morning but was a very good shower.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoddyBash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband left his jacket with over $400 USD in the closet when we checked out.
We had no idea until the Serena Ngorongoro lodge manager contacted us. Felix from the Serengeti was cleaning the room and turned in the money to lost and found. We showed our appreication in an envelope and once home wrote to Serena headquaters to acknowlege this man. They jacket/cash was put on a shuttle van for the 4 hour trip between hotels and we had it that evening. This whole vacation could have been a disaster, if it hadn't been for the employees.
Bottom line: Use the room safes!

Upon arrival: pleasant greeting with hot wash clothes and cucumber juice. Since our wacky driver (that's another story-stay away from Sunny Safaris) changed our itinarery, we missed lunch. The bar staff made us chicken sandwiches and fried that was wonderful. Lodge had free wifi. Toilets didn't flush well. You had to pump them 3 times for the tank to fill up in order to flush.
Service wasn't great: Waiter hands menu to my husband, none to me and walks away. We had to ask if it was a la carte or buffet. No one explains! We had to ask 3 times for drinks.
At dark, we were told to have the security guard walk us to our room from the dinning room. He only had a flashlight. Hell, I had my own flashlight with me.
We were only 4 doors down. This man expected a tip each night from everyone.
Breakfast service was bad: no butter, no sugar, no napkins. Had to wait 10 minutes for coffee.

Room Tip: We asked for a room close to the dining area on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxtraveltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This lodge has an amazing location with animals all throughout the property. The best part was sitting on our room balcony watching all the wild animals just feet away. Near the pool there is an observation platform with incredible views over the Serengeti including beautiful views of sunrises. The bar also has a great terrace with views of the property and animals. The one downside is that the rooms don't have much ventilation so can get very hot and stuffy at night. The food is great but service at meals was pretty slow...especially compared to the 3 other Serena lodges we stayed at in Tanzania. Overall the property is great for wildlife and views of the Serengeti. It is also a great starting point for safaris with a great location in the Serengeti.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmarte05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed as part of our safari and loved the spot ... great room, really unique.. Like a little village on a hill. Food was great, comfortable bed, nice people.

Like many, we arrive after a long drive .. eat and crash only to leave on a safari the next morning. If I had more time to do it at a leisurely pace, I'd stay a day just to hang out at the little pool with a view on the serengeti .. just beautiful

Room Tip: All rooms have a view ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natandjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms are in smaller buildings usually 2 down & 2 up. Main problem is the lack of ventilation in the rooms. You are encouraged NOT to keep open the sliding glass door due to presence of insects and wild animals -- especially monkeys. Otherwise there is only one small window on opposite side of room. A small fan was supplied but made little difference due to hot temperature outside & in the room -- sleep was in skivvies. Food was buffet only and generally I rate it adequate but not very good. Location is OK. If I go again to the northern Serengeti I would find a different hotel. Can not evaluate wildlife drives since we had our own driver/guide NOTE Serena Lodge at Ngorongoro is very good -- and I have stayed there twiice. One point: currently the US$ is legal tender in Tanzania -- so bring lots of One's for tips -- really no need to get Tanzania currency (I think the ATMs can dispense US$ but check out)

Room Tip: Suggest a different hotel -- and I do not think the second level rooms are any better than the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dick930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

On a Safari tour with Kuoni. Stayed two nights at Serengeti Serena, and compared to the lodges at Arusha, Manyara, and Ngorongoro this lodge was disappointing to to the apathy of the staff, from the reception staff, dining room staff, who seemed over stretched to housekeeping, who we only saw when we were leaving, when we didn't give her a tip she went off and was moaning, her tone of voice angry. No attempt at conversation even though we tried to speak a little Swahili. Meals were quite bland, many flies around on the food, as the food was outside. This lodge could with a bit more motivation could be much better.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yvette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
18.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#3 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
27.2 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
38.4 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#25 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
57.3 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
21.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Mbingwe Valley, Serengeti National Park N/A, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a traditional African village this extraordinary lodge presents a vibrant design concept rich in indigenous craft and cultural detail that is without compare. Set high on a hill with rolling visas over the teeming plains of a natural amphitheater it also enjoys a ringside seat for the greatest show on earth, the annual migration of the wildebeest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Serena Safari Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing