We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest employees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband left his jacket with over $400 USD in the closet when we checked out.
We had no idea until the Serena Ngorongoro lodge manager contacted us. Felix from the Serengeti was cleaning the room and turned in the money to lost and found. We showed our appreication in an envelope and once home wrote to Serena headquaters to acknowlege this man. They jacket/cash was put on a shuttle van for the 4 hour trip between hotels and we had it that evening. This whole vacation could have been a disaster, if it hadn't been for the employees.
Bottom line: Use the room safes!

Upon arrival: pleasant greeting with hot wash clothes and cucumber juice. Since our wacky driver (that's another story-stay away from Sunny Safaris) changed our itinarery, we missed lunch. The bar staff made us chicken sandwiches and fried that was wonderful. Lodge had free wifi. Toilets didn't flush well. You had to pump them 3 times for the tank to fill up in order to flush.
Service wasn't great: Waiter hands menu to my husband, none to me and walks away. We had to ask if it was a la carte or buffet. No one explains! We had to ask 3 times for drinks.
At dark, we were told to have the security guard walk us to our room from the dinning room. He only had a flashlight. Hell, I had my own flashlight with me.
We were only 4 doors down. This man expected a tip each night from everyone.
Breakfast service was bad: no butter, no sugar, no napkins. Had to wait 10 minutes for coffee.

Room Tip: We asked for a room close to the dining area on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 930 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

This lodge has an amazing location with animals all throughout the property. The best part was sitting on our room balcony watching all the wild animals just feet away. Near the pool there is an observation platform with incredible views over the Serengeti including beautiful views of sunrises. The bar also has a great terrace with views of the property and animals. The one downside is that the rooms don't have much ventilation so can get very hot and stuffy at night. The food is great but service at meals was pretty slow...especially compared to the 3 other Serena lodges we stayed at in Tanzania. Overall the property is great for wildlife and views of the Serengeti. It is also a great starting point for safaris with a great location in the Serengeti.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmarte05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed as part of our safari and loved the spot ... great room, really unique.. Like a little village on a hill. Food was great, comfortable bed, nice people.

Like many, we arrive after a long drive .. eat and crash only to leave on a safari the next morning. If I had more time to do it at a leisurely pace, I'd stay a day just to hang out at the little pool with a view on the serengeti .. just beautiful

Room Tip: All rooms have a view ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natandjaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms are in smaller buildings usually 2 down & 2 up. Main problem is the lack of ventilation in the rooms. You are encouraged NOT to keep open the sliding glass door due to presence of insects and wild animals -- especially monkeys. Otherwise there is only one small window on opposite side of room. A small fan was supplied but made little difference due to hot temperature outside & in the room -- sleep was in skivvies. Food was buffet only and generally I rate it adequate but not very good. Location is OK. If I go again to the northern Serengeti I would find a different hotel. Can not evaluate wildlife drives since we had our own driver/guide NOTE Serena Lodge at Ngorongoro is very good -- and I have stayed there twiice. One point: currently the US$ is legal tender in Tanzania -- so bring lots of One's for tips -- really no need to get Tanzania currency (I think the ATMs can dispense US$ but check out)

Room Tip: Suggest a different hotel -- and I do not think the second level rooms are any better than the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dick930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

On a Safari tour with Kuoni. Stayed two nights at Serengeti Serena, and compared to the lodges at Arusha, Manyara, and Ngorongoro this lodge was disappointing to to the apathy of the staff, from the reception staff, dining room staff, who seemed over stretched to housekeeping, who we only saw when we were leaving, when we didn't give her a tip she went off and was moaning, her tone of voice angry. No attempt at conversation even though we tried to speak a little Swahili. Meals were quite bland, many flies around on the food, as the food was outside. This lodge could with a bit more motivation could be much better.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Yvette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Designed to mimic a Maasai village, the thatched roof huts and winding paths are a treat. We had a good-sized room with a clean, well-appointed bathroom on the ground level of one of the huts. Beautifully ornate carvings cover many of the thick wood posts and beams in the entryway and public areas. There is even a man-made stream that winds through those areas. The restaurant and bar are typical of the Serena lodges, with a central buffet/barbeque area and comfortable seating. When we were there, there was an elephant which visited frequently and we also watched as several zebras browsed the vegetation just a few yards from our ground-level patio while a baboon strolled by just beyond them. Because there is no barrier to keep the animals away, for your own safety you will be escorted to and from the public buildings after dusk. Hint: grab a drink from the bar and enjoy the view of the Serengeti plains from the patio by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level of the huts for a better view over the plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradojeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Further into the Serengeti is the Serena lodge. It was quite a let down from the last place, the Serengeti Migration camp, but still a good respite from traveling the dusty roads of the Serengeti. It was a lodge environment with many attendant staff. We were advised to stay in our rooms after dark as there are many wild animals that roam the area. In fact, the last day of our two day stay, the elephants had broken several small trees near the entrance of the lodge in the night. Several elephants were seen nearby the rooms of our party earlier at dusk but didn't cause any damages then. The dining hall was elaborately set up for a buffet, but after several of these buffets and eating the meals a day, food wasn't the primary focus, but good to sample. The sleeping areas and the bathrooms are quite large. Be aware, the staff is there to assist you, but are always looking for a tip after assistance. Bring lots of $1 bills in good condition for tips. Not sure if there is a problem with US currency, but most Tanzanians are looking for crisp bills that were issued in 2006 or later.

Room Tip: Not a lot of electrical outlets in the room, so be aware of them to recharge any camera batteries wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
18.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
527 reviews
27.2 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
476 reviews
38.3 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#17 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#20 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
174 reviews
21.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#25 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
187 reviews
14.9 mi away
Serengeti Sopa Lodge
Serengeti Sopa Lodge
#22 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Mbingwe Valley, Serengeti National Park N/A, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $339 - $931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a traditional African village this extraordinary lodge presents a vibrant design concept rich in indigenous craft and cultural detail that is without compare. Set high on a hill with rolling visas over the teeming plains of a natural amphitheater it also enjoys a ringside seat for the greatest show on earth, the annual migration of the wildebeest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Serena Safari Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing