We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE PLACE WITH GREAT FOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE WITH GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

In spite of the presence of the disgusting tse tse flies, I love the serengeti national park as it is full of games through out the year. Amidst the park is the serena lodge to feel the thrill of the jungle. In spite of being inside the forest area, this lodge has no electric fence. So it was little frightening while returning to the cottages each night after dinner.One of the hotel guards always used to accompany us to the cottage after sunset.Many wild animals roam arround in the lodge premises at night. A particular leopard is a regular visitor. It actually visited the lodge & drank water from the swimming pool, while we were staying there. The room was good & the bathroom was clean. The food at the restaurant was excellent with lots of choises to select from. All meals were great.The hotel giftshop had very good collection of african artifacts, ebony animals, bead jewellery etc. We used the swimming pool, but the water was very cold. We enjoyed our regular game drives very much as we saw lots of games everyday. It was a great place to stay within one of the worlds biggest national parks. we will definitely come back to stay at the lodge again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception area. Rooms at the far are very frightening to return after dinner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonale19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    315
    83
    22
    10
See reviews for
258
358
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

If you take away the fact that this place crawls with tourists it was brilliant. For a chain tourist hotel it is exceptional. The accommodation was fantastic; I had gazelles almost up to my room and could see the zebra passing close by, The food was great; very well done considering the number of people they cater for and even though they catered for all tastes still had a good selection of "local" food, The setting was sublime.
I loved it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Located in the middle of the Serengeti is this beautiful lodge surrounded by what appears to be mud/grass domed huts, each with rooms that are nicely furnished and very clean. You certainly get the sense of being out in the middle of Africa with quite comfortable surroundings. The food was delicious; the service excellent and, because we stayed there 5 nights we were treated like royalty with a "bush dinner", which was an experience that contributed to our memories of an outstanding time in Tanzania.

Room Tip: If you can stay in room 18, you've got the best room on the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 36bay37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara Region, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been to Serengeti Serena on a few occasions. Never solo, always with my visitors, friends or volunteers. Never staying overnight, only passing for lunch or refreshments while on our way back from Serengeti through Serengeti Western Corridor to Ndabaka Gate on the main highway from Mwanza to Musoma.

I won't comment on rooms as I have no experience of them. I can though comment on common areas which are quite impressive, in particular the entrance, the corridor to the restaurant / bar and the swimming pool.

On the very first occasion we went there for a special lunch while on safari in Serengeti with my guests. It was lovely. And they enjoyed the food and the service, the location and the ambiance.

On the last occasion we went there looking for food! We were on a day trip to Serengeti from my mission in Kiabakari. We took sandwiches, drinks and water with us, but the supplies run out quickly before midday and we were left with no choice but to look for some extra food somewhere in Serengeti. No hunting allowed, so the hotels were the only choice.

We went first to Seronera Wildlife Lodge but they refused to accept us for lunch as the residents only option is in place there. We went to Serena on our way back to Ndabaka Gate and we were very happy to learn that they would accept us for lunch for the price of 20$ per person (buffet). It was agreeable and we had a very nice lunch sitting on the verandah overlooking the swimming pool and the bush.

The thunderstorm broke suddenly and the whole area was soaked in water. We had great difficulty to reach Ndabaka on time, and we were late a bit, but safe.

Nice memories connected with Serena. And a big thank you for accepting us, passerbys for lunch!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WojciechAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

WE have a difficult time rating the 10 properties we used in E. Africa - do we compare to other E. Africa hotels, or to standards in America/Europe/Asia -- we choose to split the difference, and give a 3 instead of the 2* when compared to europe or the 4* compared to other E. Africa lodging. the biggest problem is gettiing to and from the lodge - if you can afford it, fly in, as the roads are abyssmal going thru the edge of Ngoro and across the miles of boring, bumpy, dusty plains (in dry season when we were there). The rooms are bare bones, but seemed clean - with safe and fan, but no frig or coffee maker. View so-so - one can see the plains in the far distance to the west with many wildebeest, and the sunset is nice. The pool is ok, but small - at night, they require escort to/from rooms, tho the biggest threat we saw was the uneven pavement and poorly maintaioned wooden steps (and a few dik-dik) - (the escorts are armed with a small flashlight to scare away the beasties). The buffet (and partial a la carte) is decent, tho food not great - typical of all E. African lodges. Our tour arranged an excellent outdoor 'bush breakfast' near pool on our last day - nice experience. Service (to repair plumbing and broken steps in front) was prompt - too bad it was required at all. Good entertainment at nite (Masaai dance or acrobat). Overall adequate, but little above average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A Perfect Place location and place to stay. We had the best experience for our stay. The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating. Since we had been traveling for almost 2 weeks and missed home food, the hotel chef went out of their way to serve us good gujarati food to the extend that they allowed us into the kitchen to cook in the kitchen and they also learned and noted some Gujarati food Recipes from us.
Rooms were really nice, clean and comfortable.
Even the packed lunch boxes that we very provided by the Hotel for the Full Day Safari was always prepared after discussing our taste, likes and dislikes. The lunch boxes had more than sufficient food for our picnic boxes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darshanaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A beautiful hotel, unfenced,hence the need for escorts after dark, in the Serengeti. Lovely bedrooms with glorious views over the plain - so close you can hear the animals! We watched 22 elephants strolling across the grassland, amongst all the thousands of other animals. To cap it all a leopard appeared by the swimming pool during dinner!! Food was very good and the staff very efficient and polite. The balloon safari that we did from here was one of many trip highlights and the bush breakfast that followed it was unforgettable.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor room if possible, they are in buildings of 3 room - 1 upstairs, 2 down. All lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turaabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
41.5 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
277 reviews
18.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
424 reviews
27.2 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.4 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#11 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
309 reviews
21.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
170 reviews
8.7 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#17 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge

Property: Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Address: Mbingwe Valley, Serengeti National Park N/A, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by a traditional African village this extraordinary lodge presents a vibrant design concept rich in indigenous craft and cultural detail that is without compare. Set high on a hill with rolling visas over the teeming plains of a natural amphitheater it also enjoys a ringside seat for the greatest show on earth, the annual migration of the wildebeest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Serena Safari Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing