We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
156
13
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
156
13
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off road game drives masai dance sweeping views under canvas evening drive lion kill every turn open vehicle each morning river crossing rooms are beautiful spent four nights animals grazing amazing team ngorongoro crater amazing safari experience
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 175 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2019 via mobile

This was our 4th safari stop .Our “African Hut” was very unique .Views were stunning .Going on a night Safari was the highlight .We saw a leopard chasing its prey .Food was of a high quality .Check out the bar

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank graceoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 4, 2019 via mobile

This is our 3rd &beyond experience and Klein’s camp is special - mainly because it has its own private reserve where you are allowed to do night drives. It takes the safari experience up one notch when you are able to visit the park at night (in the safety of your vehicle). The camp site is beautiful - your individual huts (more like villas) are perched on a hill overlooking the reserve - breath taking views. The hut is equipped with just about every modern convenience you might desire with an enormous bathroom with excellent water pressure. Toiletries and amenities are all top class from the &beyond range. A full bar and all sorts of tidbits and drinks are in your room. The bed is super comfy and you are assured of a great night’s sleep.

Animals are free to roam the camp site and despite being on a hill - we had elephants and water buffaloes roaming around so the rangers and security guys are on hand to escort you around. They have a beautiful swim pool - perfect for a dip after a hot excursion. The bar area is beautiful and all sorts of cocktails can be made up by the experienced staff but we found the restaurant here to be excellent. Food was top notch and we had varied meals for the period we stayed (one even included all the herbs, vegetables and fruits from their garden which was beautifully displayed and you picked what you wanted and an amazing salad appears with the items you chose. We were also nicely surprised after 1 night drive to be taken to an outdoor BBQ area where a bonfire was lit and a festive set up was laid out - apparently these special dinners are held only once a month and we were fortunate that our stay coincided with this event.

Staff are warm and tried their best to ensure your requests and needs are all well catered for. We had an issue with room allocations which after raising it to the manager and our tour agent was immediately fixed the next day. It’s great that the team takes feedback seriously and fixes issues on the spot.

Our Masai ranger and tracker were excellent - we saw amazing things and a night chase and kill was one of our major highlights (yes, it can get a little scary at night but we knew we were in safe hands). Being in a private reserve meant that vehicles could go off road and our tracker sat in a small chair in the front of the vehicle. A truly memorable experience and highly recommend this camp! You won’t regret it!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank scorpioshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 1, 2019

It’s an amazing private game reserve, but keep in mind that it’s far from everything. About 2h driving from Lobo airstrip.
The concession is not super big, but you have an advantage to go on safari to both the state park and private game reserve. There are 10 rooms only so you can really skip the crowds and enjoy the privacy and personalised service. When you don’t go on safari, you can sunbathe at the swimming pool.
Service is incredible like in all &Beyonds: you’re a warm welcome guest here and staff will do their best to make your wishes come true. If you want massage services, your Butler will arrange it in your room, but consider that there’s only 1 massage lady. Amazing butler service.
We also got a couple of surprises:
Once in the evening after the game drive we were taken to the “bush bar”: a huge fireplace and a bar organized in the middle of the bush. Another time we had lunch in the bush as a surprise. And the last surprise - I wanted to visit Maasai village but didn’t have a chance, but hotel staff invited Maasai warriors to dance and sing for my BDay!
Chief cooked super tasty food! One of the best places I’ve ever eaten at!
A few words about the room and amenities:
First of all you need to know that there is no cell reception on the camps territory or around, you can find it just in some spots in Serengeti park. WIFI speed is good sometimes and sometimes it’s not. The best reception is at the bar.
No air conditioner in the room although it was quite chilly at night but we received a warmer in bed every night, so no complains.
Hotel laundry doesn’t have a dryer, it has natural sun drying system.
But you can enjoy your privacy with breathtaking savannah views from your room and the restaurant.
There are all necessary amenities in the room like safebox, bathrobes, hairdryer etc.
An important detail: water pressure in the shower was good.
Safari: Off-road driving is allowed on the territory of concession, so you can get close to the animals. There are not many vehicles in the concession so you won’t feel crowded on safari trip.
Vehicles are opened but have tent above, so you won’t get wet (or too wet) if it’s raining, but the best option to take a raincoat with you. Guides are very professional and knowledgeable, together we have met so many lions I haven’t seen on all my other safaris together!
Unforgettable experience. I hope to come back one day.

Date of stay: December 2018
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Svetlana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

This property was highly recommended, unfortunately it failed to impress in a big way.
At USD 2200 per night one expects a certain level of standards even if the property is located in a fairly remote area of the Serengeti.
The rooms are basic. Somewhat small, with many deficiencies.

The food is unacceptable, period! Served lukewarm it reminds me of the food served in boarding school, There is no menu to speak of. The view from the main common area is nice, but that is about it. The property cannot match the ever increasing competition in several areas of the Serengeti. For the price stay elsewhere, there is very little of five stars in this camp.
On the bright side the guides are friendly and knowledgeable.

Room tip: All fairly basic.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank OnlyFiveStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 25, 2019

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in October 2019. We stayed at two other &Beyond properties on the same trip, and while all of them were amazing, Klein's Camp was my favorite. The setting, room, and common areas were exactly what I had imagined when I pictured going on safari. Our guide/tracker team were Karapoi and Franko, and these guys are the real deal. Thanks to their phenomenal skills, we saw so many animals I lost track, with some truly standout sightings of leopards, cheetahs, lions, and the wildebeest crossing. Other vehicles were following us around the Serengeti the entire four days we were there because Karapoi and Franko were so good at locating the animals. Also, not only are they skilled, hardworking, and dedicated when it comes to their jobs, they are two of the nicest guys around (and not to mention, they're great cooks!). &Beyond puts its rangers through an incredibly rigorous training process for both hard and soft skills, and it shows. We spoke to other people who said they hadn't seen even a third of the animals we saw, and the &Beyond rangers are the reason why. Leaving aside the luxury of the camps themselves, the &Beyond rangers make the company's high price point totally worth it. Going on safari is not exactly cheap regardless of where one stays, and I would have been so disappointed to travel all the way to Tanzania and spend a bunch of money and not end up seeing much.

At the property itself, our butler James and the Klein's chef, Peter, were both wonderful, as was the manager, Daniel (although I believe he is normally at the Crater Lodge and not at Klein's). I'm going to miss Peter's beef kebabs--thankfully, he gives out his recipes! The Maasai gentleman who walked us to and from breakfast and dinner was also incredibly nice, although I didn't catch his name. It was my birthday one night when were were there, and many of the the property staff here are Maasai, so Klein's arranged for them to do a traditional song and dance, plus jumping competition, in honor of my birthday -- such a unique experience and something I will never forget.

A couple other points to mention -- since Klein's is located on a private concession, it's possible to do game walks and night drives here with relative ease. Contrast this to other places like the crater, where my husband and I were not able to do a game walk because a specially trained ranger from the crater was not available to accompany us--it makes a huge difference to be in a private area vs. a national park, although you'll be in both types of areas at Klein's. You'll drive around in an open jeep, which is the best for game viewing, although you might get a little wet in the event of rain (they provide very sturdy ponchos, so not a big deal). Lastly, the level of organization &Beyond brings to the table when it comes to the inter-property transfers is amazing--you will not have a moment of stress while you're in their comfortable little bubble.

Anyway, if you're at all considering staying here, do it!!! You will not regret it. In fact, you will regret not staying here. Can't wait to come back one day (hopefully soon)!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonaleecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews