We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Shifting Sands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olduvai Gorge

Olduvai Gorge
Book In Advance
$1,369.00*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This deep gorge, measuring 30 miles long and 295 feet deep, features exposed deposits of fossil fauna, hominid remains and stone tools from 2,1000,000 to 15,000 years ago.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Shifting Sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Left Ngorongoro, headed to the Serengeti. Went through Olduvai Gorge. Also stopped to see " Shifting Sands" which are mysterious crescent shaped dunes that have slowly rippled their way across the desert.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank millie4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    198
    112
    31
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater FL
Level Contributor
206 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Oldupai, Olduvai, just Old”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a scheduled stop on the way to Serengeti. I found it boring and little more than a place to stop for lunch. This is saying alot because I was an amature palentologist, and loved anthropology in school. If this were an elective, I would pass and go somewhere else. You don't go into the gorge, you look down into it from covered shelters and there is a small museum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seashark7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cradle of Mankind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A MUST STOP and see for the history and scientific aspects of the discovery of early man fossils by Louis and Mary Leakey.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lawdog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We travelled through the gorge to the Visitors' Centre, where we had magnificent views over the surrounding landscape. We were fortunate to have a talk from a guide and, later, whilst eating lunch, listen to a second guide who added so much more information. The small museum is well-designed and very informative. We walked away from the Centre and along the edge of the gorge, away from all the visitors. This gave us different views of the landscape below us but also othe economy of the local area with sheep and cattle herds and local people. Well worth doing. It is quite humbling and awe-inspiring to visit the area where our first ancestors lived and something everyone should do if the opportunity arrives.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brief stop while on our way to a Maasai Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

DIdn't spend enough time here to really experience it. Considering that this is the cradle of civilization, we should have had more time here. Major disappoinment!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fool_for_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olduvai Gorge also viewed

Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
 
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Ngorongoro Conservation Area, Arusha Region
 

Been to Olduvai Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing