We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poolside Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Poolside Safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the perfect place to go for a quick, comfortable safari. You can see wonderful animals, zebra, baboons, elephants, walking by your sliding glass door, or watching you as they drink from a watering hole down from the pool. The hotel can provide day trips onto the Serengeti. We stayed here while on a 2 week TAUCK tour (which was truly marvelous) and decided if we ever made it back to this part of the world, we would definitely spend a few days here. One of the highlights, out of many, of our trip.

Room Tip: On the path to the watering hole to watch the animals go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    17
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
95
147
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berkshire, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July with my husband and two teenage kids. As soon as we arrived we loved the hotel, great welcome and a great feel about the hotel. The watering hole at the pool is amazing, elephants, zebra, water buck and other animals visit throughout the day. The setting is perfect, the game drives are good and you can see all the animals that are around the area. The food was really nice. We loved the discovery centre in the hotel where the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The only disappointing thing for us was that there was a very large school group staying at the hotel while we were there which made our stay not as relaxing as it could of been. The live web cam in your room from the watering hole is very good!

Room Tip: Maybe one that looks over the watering hole would be good, ours wasn't but we could see the anim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

After flying for two days from Los Angeles and taking what seemed to be an entire fleet of airplanes, I finally arrived in one of the most enchanting and wonderful places I have ever been. The staff was warm and friendly. The hotel was not imposing, but tastefully decorated and themed without being too "Disney". The pool (tho not heated) was a highlight of my entire trip to Africa. While sipping a cocktail in the infinity pool, a herd of elephants (over 30!) visited the adjacent watering hole. One might think this would be a once in a lifetime chance encounter, but it happened again the next day! Spa was lovely--had a great massage. And food was good. I am sure there are some who might quibble that this is not Four Seasons Maui or Manhattan, or Toronto--but this location is not about a 5k calorie breakfast buffet, it's more about a luxurious accommodation miraculously located in one of the planets most spectacular wildlife preserves. GO, GO, GO!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Not the best experience. Granted that the location is amazing with a watering hole that attracts animals, that's the only saving grace. Housekeeping has to be the worse. Ashtrays after three days not cleared. Coffee not replenished. Towels not changed. It's the least I would expect from an establishment of this kind. I am truly disappointed. Having stayed at other Four Seasons, this has to be the worse in terms of service. I feel that people only serve you if you tip them. But that is not what service is about. For example this afternoon at lunch, we asked for the menu from one waiter who was not the main waiter serving us, he waited for the main waiter to be free to get the menu for us rather than doing it himself. It's only the natural beauty of the Serengeti that is the saving grace. Things I like about this place - the spa (the Thai masseur was good), ladies at the lobby when we returned. In comparison to Ngorongoro crater lodge where we stayed before this, this pales in terms of service and security. Please inprove.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank purple_dots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabulous hotel with incredible views. My terrace hung over a watering hole where the elephants came several times a day. There were many other animals as well, up close and personal, but I was fascinated by the elephant families. There is also an infinity pool that is amazing. The hotel itself is beautifully done, as a Four Seasons should be. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre and their steak inedible. But, I didn't go to Africa for the food. A great place for R & R after bouncing around in a jeep all day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susu7515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

It was our bucket list trip, but now it will be a future return trip. The lodge is wonderful, with an African flair it sits atop a watering hole with 24/7 visitors from elephants to lions and baboons. You have to pinch yourself that its really happening. The rooms are a great respite after a a day on safari, the food delicious and the staff so professional, knowledgeable and welcoming. We used A&K as our safari guide and Herman is the best! His warm Tanzanian personality and love of his country coupled with his professional tracking, instinct and driving made our 6 days unforgettable, from lunch with the Great Migration to ballooning and time in an African village.. A&K is a professional and well run company. As for the Four Seasons Serengeti, a masterpiece on the Serengeti Plain, simply the best. Thank you Africa, The Jacuzzi Family

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is most certainly the Serengeti in style! The Four Seasons Safari Lodge is nothing short of a shining oasis – all luxury, beauty, comfort, and wildlife. We cannot think of a better or more magnificent way to experience the Serengeti – especially as we had both my 70-year old parents and our teenage kids with us! At the end of a 10 day African adventure, this was absolutely our favorite stop. We saw more wildlife during our two nights here than we did throughout the entire rest of our trip. It is constant here, everywhere you look there are animals to be seen – out your suite window, by the pool, from the dinner table. So incredible! And of course, being a Four Seasons you get all the wonderful services and amenities we’ve come to expect from this expertly-run line of hotels. Fabulous staff are one-step ahead of you, scrumptious food, lovely spa, and of course well thought through interiors. Extra comforts include high-end linens, four poster beds, air conditioning (!), soaking tub, rain shower, huge dressing room… not the norm in the bush to say the least!”

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
18.1 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
42.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
22.4 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.2 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#23 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
35.1 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti

Property: Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Address: Central Serengeti | PO Box 14321, Arusha, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep within Africa’s finest game reserve, our Safari Lodge welcomes you to a sanctuary of Four Seasons comfort. Get up close and intimate with lions, leopards and elephants – yet always feel safe and pampered. Experience thrilling Serengeti game drives and rare opportunities to connect with the local people and culture. Then return to the Safari Lodge, where our 77 secluded guest rooms, elegant spa and infinity pool promise a luxurious respite during your African adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing