We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tented Lodge - with residential Lions !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kirawira Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2007

The second stop on the first leg of our honeymoon. This is an excellent camp which managed to blend luxury and wilderness.

The tents themselver are very comfortable and allow you to remian very close to the nature - I looked up one night while washing my teeth to see a Ganet staring down at me !
We had the frist lodge - Twingo, which offered an excellent view of the sunrise and was close enough to watch wildlife from the terrace.

Food is good - better than other Serena lodges but not quite the
same standard as the crater lodge for example.

The lodge team are very friendly and prompt. We had no problems with hot water, electricity, mozzies, loud tourists.
Plenty of R&R and they even noted it was our honeymoon without prompting - the bottle of wine went down very well !

A pair a mating lions spent plenty of time around the camp during our trip - amazing to hear lions roaring through the night !
The ranger escourt to the dinner 'tent' suddently became useful.

We visited in June so the migration was in full flow and we have some great pictures of animals having fun in the post rain flowers.

All in all, a great camp, close to the river with all its viewing opportunities - especially the crocs.

The flight into the Grumeti river area was well worth the effort and provide a great start to our Safari.

Tips:

- Try to get a lodge higher up - the views are better.
- Look out for a Gecko in the room - they kill upto 10 mozzies a minute and are a fine room mate !
- The drinks are a little pricey, so if you can't sink a bottle of wine, ask them to hold onto it for the next day.
- Get up for the dawn - the game viewing is worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank St.Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Kirawira Serena Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 269 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2006

KIRAWIRA is teh most luxurious tented camp we have ever seen.
The tents are 65M2 with tilled bathroom and toilet. The view is superb and the whole atmosphere is fantastic. The staff is very willing to please and they are all beautifull and lovely.
The pool and dining area are all superb.
In one way The best there is!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jwillemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2004

Stayed at Kirawira for 3 nights in June 2004.
This lodge is listed in many publications as one of the top 400 small hotels in the world, I find this hard to understand.
Kirawira is a luxury tented camp, and is owned by the Serena group. According to their web site the rack rate for this lodge ranges in the $800-1100 per night. I included it in the safari that I booked privately, and was quoted an all inclusive price for the whole package including several other lodges, consequently I do not know how much I actually paid for this lodge. What I do know is that in this price range it represents poor value for money.
The permanent tents are very nice, however most of them have zero view. From our tent you were surrounded by high scrub and trees and the view was limited to 15 -20 feet of scrub, very boring.
There is nothing to do here when you are not on safari, except dinner and a cocktail. Not ideal for kids.
We traveled here from Ngorongoro Crater, it is a long, tiring, dusty drive taking six or seven hours, much of which has very limited animal viewing opportunities.
The whole purpose for us to visit Kiriwira was for the 'migration', so if you are not going to visit during migration (around June), don't bother.
Most of the good animal viewing is back in the 'Crater' and in the Serengeti close to the Serena Serengeti, which is much nicer, more reasonably priced and saving you a 4/5 hour round trip.
By the way, the 'migration' was incredible, we saw probably 100,000 wilderbeest and zebra in one herd, but it was far from the highlight of our safari to Tanzania.
Also, be aware that in the Western corridor of the Serengeti, where Kirawira is situated, there is a known problem with the Tsetse fly. Whilst I do not believe it poses a health problem, they are known for their voracious bite. When travelling through large areas of the Western Serengeti it was necessary to keep the top of the safari vehicle closed, along with all windows. The Tsetse will bite you through clothing and it's presence inside a vehicle makes for an uncomfortable ride, never knowing where or who it will bite next.
Go to Tanzania and enjoy incredibly friendly people, beautiful scenery and wildlife, just leave out Kiriwira.

41  Thank gabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schehei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack N, General Manager at Kirawira Serena Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beppe955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack N, General Manager at Kirawira Serena Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F3489TGpeterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack N, General Manager at Kirawira Serena Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul_Ololololololi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack N, General Manager at Kirawira Serena Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
15.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
41.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
57.6 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#21 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
68.8 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
513 reviews
31.7 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#55 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
88 reviews
69.2 mi away
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
#39 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirawira Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirawira Serena Camp

Address: Western Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $641 - $1,131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kirawira Serena Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in luxury safari ambiance, this hilltop-tented camp offers all the romance of sleeping under canvas whilst providing all the opulence and amenities of a world-class hotel. The camp also offers the finest in game viewing, a brilliance of birds and driving safaris that is unrivaled in East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kirawira Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirawira Camp Western Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing