We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kirawira Serena Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kirawira Serena Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights last month with our family - we had 3 tents.

At every lodge and tented camp we stayed at on our safari we were greeted with a friendly welcome and cold towels as soon as we stepped out of the vehicle. At Kirawira no one was there. We had to walk along the lengthy path from the parking lot and find our own way to the reception/lounge. Once there a rather unenthusiastic lady presented us with towels and gave us a short orientation on the camp.

That evening my husband and I waited 20 minutes for the security to walk us to the lounge. Our daughter and husband waited 30 mins. Next morning we did not get our wake up call. We complained and they were very appologetic and that evening there was a bottle of wine in each of our rooms. Very nice, but it should not have happened in the first place in a camp of that standard.

The dining staff and maids were very friendly but we found the other staff were not.

The property is beautiful, tents luxuriously furnished and very comfortable, but the distant attitude of some of the staff detracted from what would have been an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jintyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    31
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
72
104
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Although the facility is beautiful, the service needs help. Each meal took 2+ hours, they messed up our wake-up calls 3 different times, they never managed to bring the correct morning coffee, they regularly failed to replenish soap and towels, and they even lost an article of our clothing and destroyed another. To top it all off, the manager told us the internet was free in the reception area and chased us down the driveway at the end of our stay to tell us it was not free and that we owed $5. This did not leave a favorable "last impression", and I would not return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ktwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

I would not return to Kirawira unless the migration is going on.. there is little game to view otherwise.The best time seems to be mid May to June 15th.My suggestion is to go to the more central area of the Serengeti for better game viewing.The hotel staff was great and were very helpful as my husband was sufferring from major infection in his legs from bug bites received elsewhere on our safari.The Edwardian decor in the tents was very heavy and so out of place in a hot climate.Our mattresses were hard as boards and all in our party(6) had trouble sleeping.The swimming pool was a great addition and the restaurant when out of their way to accommodate our families various dietary needs.All in all,if the migration is going on its a fine place to stay..if not,chose another local.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reelwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a 9 day safari. Fantastic camp and is very difficult to find fault. Chose to stay here to see the migration and the second afternoon there it was like a swarm of bees moving across the plains in front of us.
The tent was great, (probably on a par with Mbuzi Mawe which is a reflection of how good MM tents are), with nice reclining chairs on the raised patios from which I scanned the plains with bins watching not only the migration but ostrich, giraffe and buffalo. The lounge was great for relaxing with cool beers and G & Ts before dinner. Food was excellent and combined with high standards of service made for a very pleasurable eating experience. The staff were really all excellent, but best of all each evening the restaurant manager asked what time you wanted a wake up call and in the morning once the call had been made breakfast, tea, coffee and cakes, would arrive on a silver tray. We would then embark on a 3 hour game drive and have breakfast on our return.
I think all tents have fantastic views and they are spread out to give that feeling of isolation making it very relaxing experience.
They insist on guards escorting everyone from their tent, to and from the restaraunt, a distance of a few hundred yards, due to possibility of animals around the tents. There were reports of a lion one nighty around one tent, I think it was number 20!
During the night we could hear lions roaring and when walking to and from the tent we could always see a pair of dik dik.
All in all a wonderful experience and if I was to return to the Serengeti would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is the only Serena camp that we would recommend wholeheartedly (having used Serena lodges in Amboseli, Ngorongoro, Serengeti and Masai Mara as well as Kirawira). The public and private tents are all beautifully furnished and feel special. Compare very well with the luxury camps we have previously experienced in private camps in South Africa. Smallish camp (about 30 tents) which are luxurious, well designed and immaculate. Also have a large verandah with very good views.
We enjoyed everything about this camp from the greeting (lovely manager called Daniel) until we left. The food was table service, was very good and beautifully presented - no standard Serena buffets here. Standard Serena packed lunch however.
The viewing close to the camp when we were there in February 2011 was limited (lot of hippos and some crocodiles however) so you might consider taking an all day safari, instead of morning and afternoon with a return to the lodge for lunch, so that can travel further afield to get a better viewing experience.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. This is the standard that Serena need to be aiming for in their other camps - we appreciate this is more expensive however the other camps are not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuartaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed at this lodge for 2 nights at the end of our 7 night safari through Northern Tanzania. It is an amazing lodge, the service, the beautiful views, the gorgeous 'tents' I can't fault it.

We stayed at Serena Lodges throughout our stay, but I can say that this was by far the best out of the lot.

Would recommend it for anybody looking for a touch of luxury to finish off their safari experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haribomel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

For an introduction let me just say that I work in the luxury business and have the opportunity to travel often in the best palaces of the world.

My wife, little daughter and I stayed there in December and will dream of this place for a long time.

The tent are splendid, the reception is decorated in a “Out of Africa” style. Dinner served with Villeroy and Boch porcelain and the staff serves the wine like pro’s.

The staff is always looking in ways to please you and extremely nice with the kids.
The view is breathtaking; we saw lions, elephants, baboons from our tent and from the lobby.

Just to introduce you to the dream : after a long difficult road, you are welcomed with an iced cold towel and a fresh glass of Champagne and a glass of fresh fruit juice – what else can we dream about?

In a one single word : PERFECT !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delongx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#25 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
#35 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#64 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirawira Serena Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirawira Serena Camp

Property: Kirawira Serena Camp
Address: Western Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kirawira Serena Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate in luxury safari ambiance, this hilltop-tented camp offers all the romance of sleeping under canvas whilst providing all the opulence and amenities of a world-class hotel. The camp also offers the finest in game viewing, a brilliance of birds and driving safaris that is unrivaled in East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Kirawira Serena Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirawira Camp Western Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing