We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serengeti Halisi Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Arrived in the middle of a rainstorm and did wander what we were letting ourselves in for but once we'd dried off and settled in we found Halisi to be a lovely camp right in the middle of no where with wildlife all around. Tent was great, food amazing considering the facilities available (not sure why they cook it such a long way from where they serve it though). Woken in the night be the noise of wildebeest and lions roaring- awesome! It's an ideal base for exploring the Serengeti and Ndutu area. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    10
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Halisi camp for 2 nights, and this is the perfect lodging if you want the outback experience, but still don't want it to be that rough where you have to leave your tent to go to the bathroom, for example. The temporary tent is so simple, but yet designed to have the feel of a lodge room. We were very impressed with the way the staff there provided the housekeeping and especially the 'dining' services. They really make you feel special! Pete was a great host and the chef also did a great job with the food considering they have such a small area to cook and a limited number of facilities. Although I was a bit nervous the first night, it was a lot more relaxing the second. It was an amazing experience hearing lions and all types of other animals outside your tent at night, you're right in the middle of Serengeti. My favorite moment was sitting outside by the camp fire!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

You can not get much closer to a real African safari experience than in this camp - at night you hear all kinds of animals, and during day some of them also "visit" the camp: we've seen a giraffe almost in the camp, and a few elephant really close by (a very thrilling encounter).

Do not expect the luxury of a lodge - this is a mobile camp that moves a few times a year to be close to the great migration. That said, there is still a lot of comfort given you're sleeping in tents in the middle of nowhere: there are comfortable double beds, a separate bathroom tent section, and you can have a warm bush shower whenever you ask. There are also some chairs and a table to relax outside your tent after a long day of safari.

The food is quite good given the location (though I could have done with more authentic food and less pizza), the dinner tent is really nice and it's easy to get into a conversation with other travelers. The staff was always friendly and helpful, too.

If you want an "out of Africa" experience but still a bit of comfort: highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

- The camp is following the wildebeest migration through the Serengeti
- You can't get closer to nature (e.g. heared hyena howling at night)
- Real "out-of-Africa" feeling !! .... but be prepared for bush shower, shaving in the light of your
torch, chemical camping toilet
- Very friendly staff will e.g. fill-up your bush showe, guide you to your tent at night etc.
- Tents are mosquito-proof i.e. no need for a separate net over the bed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My girlfriend and I were staying at the Halisi Tented Camp for two nights. It was a very special experience sleeping in the midst of the Serengeti with all its sounds at night! Besides this you have everything what you need: Toilet and shower within the tent, solar powered light, excellent food, extraordinary friendly staff and NATURE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I genuinely loved this place! it's a tented camp in midst the wilderniss of central Serengeti. Personally, I've never stayed in such a camp and found it incredibly exciting. The tents are nicely fitted out, with a comfortable bed, chemical toilet and shower You even get 20l of hot water for showering, so no need to freeze... we were greeted by incredibly friendly staff, who held the (in Tansania seemingly inevitable) "briefing" thankfully short so we could freshen up from the Serengeti dust. Before dinner, a fire is lit and you can have drinks in front of the "bush TV" with the other guests. Dinner and breakfast are served in the mass tent and were tasty.
in the morning, you can get a thermo mug with coffee or tea to your tent which I found very attentive. The best thing, of course, was being so close to the wildlife. we even heard lions roaring very nearby in the early morning...perfect location for a game drive!
Thanks to all there for an incredible experience, in particulari to language talent Nikolas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our Kenya and Tanzania trip of almost 3 weeks. We LOVED this place. It was easily the best camp we stayed in in Tanzania. The camp is located in the middle of the Serengeti park and you are basically located in the wild. The camp moves once per year to the outer southern borders (when babies are being born), but when we were there it was in the middle of the park. The tents are spacious, very clean, with a bucket/bag shower (you need to tell staff when you want to shower so they can heat up water for you), a chemical toilet, and some water to wash your hands with in the sink. It's not very luxurious, but we really liked it! Staff is very professional and very friendly and the restaurant makes very good food. You all sit in a separate tent for dinner (3 courses) and without electricity (the camp works on solar power) we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of food. The waiter in the restaurant area (I forgot his name - sorry) is super friendly and likes to chat. The park itself is stunning and we never saw as much wildlife up close as we did here. We liked that the camp is inside the park and provided us with everything you could possibly need. We really want to go back to Serengeti and would definitely stay here again! A winner! Know that it gets cold at night time, so bring some warm clothes.

Room Tip: All tents are good located, but the tents at the edge of the row provide most privacy (and fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InekeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 mi away
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
3.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robanda Safari Camp
Robanda Safari Camp
#80 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhotia Valley Tented Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#46 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 40 in Lake Manyara National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Halisi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Halisi Camp

Property: Serengeti Halisi Camp
Address: Ndutu area of Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Serengeti Halisi Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing