We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a convenient and quiet place to visit the NW Serengeti.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robanda Tented Camp
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed here three nights and quite enjoyed it. I wanted to be in the area of Ikoma where I had not visited before. About 10 km from Ikoma gate in a Game protection area we had lots of wildlife right on our 'tent step.'
They have both basic and luxury tents. Basic are quite good but by mistake I was in Luxury and don't regret it. The usual roomy Meru style tents with facilities en suite out the back. A comfortable large bed but strangely despite the room available there was not one stick of furniture other than a chair. No where to hang clothes other than on the small privacy wall between bed and dressing area. This was inconvenient. "Luxury" means more than just putting pointy ends on the Bog Roll each day. Hot water was 'iffy'. It came if you beat the guy next door and if the pump was working. We had no water for 24 hours but hardly a management fault. The restaurant had recently burned to the ground and was in course of being rebuilt so there was a workforce and some noise on site but again one must accept that these things do happen. As a result meals were taken in a small Mess tent which could get cramped when full. Meals were to as fixed menu and was well prepared and presented. Staff were friendly and courteous at all times. This is a wildlife area so an escort was provided after dark to and from your tent. He was well armed with a Bow and a few Arrows. That really did keep the Lion in their place! The Camp is approached by about 5km of track from the 'main' road through the village where sadly the local kids have been habituated by other tourists to scream the usual "welcome" song of "Mzungu Money!" Not much to do around the actual area outside of camp but the plains were full of game and birds if you troubled to find them. I had Giraffe, Topi, Wildebeeste, Gazelle and Zebra for company while sitting outside my tent. Maybe that was what the Bow & Arrows were for?
A nice place for two nights or so. More when the migration passes through in May-July.

Room Tip: Luxury have the best location for wildlife viewing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Robanda Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Spent two nights here recently, courtesy of our safari organisor. Fabulous location on the plain etc. buuuuuut no-one saw fit to tell us that there was no reception, no bar (or cold drinks) and no restaurant (rather, it was dinner in a tent. Like in Boy Scouts). The reason was clear to see: two buildings had recently been destroyed by fire. We found/find it utterly remarkable that this fact was not mentioned, referred to or explained at any time before, during or since our visit.....

Ash, Mika, NL

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a nice stay at Robanda Safari Camp in februari 2011. The luxe tents were hugh and very comfortable.
Its a very small camp, thats what we like.
We also did a night game drive, which was a lot of fun. We saw zebra, hyena and impala and also an aardvark.
Food was good

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeKalose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed in Robanda Safari Camp and enjoyed our stay very much. This cosy camp has only 5 spacious luxury rooms. During our stay the camp was surrounded by thousands of wildebeest and zebra, and in the late afternoon a big herd of elephants passed by right behind our tent. Very impressive! As the camp is located just outside Serengeti national park boundaries, a walking safari and a night safari are possible here. Especially the latter one was very exciting. We highly recommend staying here for two nights as part of a complete safari.
Peter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 169helo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malaika62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
3.4 mi away
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented Lodge
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented L...
#60 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
55 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#49 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
125 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#55 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#33 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
209 reviews
22.0 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#21 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
270 reviews
27.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robanda Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robanda Tented Camp

Address: Robanda, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $189 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Robanda Tented Camp 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robanda Safari Camp is set on a prime location for an unforgettablebush experience. The position was carefully chosen to be right in the path of the wildebeest migration, ensuring spectacular game viewing during the migration. But the camp also boasts of high resident game concentration all year round, with big herds of wildebeest and zebra, elephant and giraffe. Other animal species include lion, hyena, gazelle, topi and buffalo.Being situated just outside the Serengeti National Park, Robanda Safari Camp offers you the unique opportunity to do night game drives and walking safaris. Activities which cannot be offered inside the national park. Robanda is a small and intimate camp with 7 luxury tents and 3 budget tents, and can therefore offer a more personal treatment to guests who do not want to experience the hustle and bustle of larger camps. The luxury tents are very spacious, with either double or twin beds and annex bathroom. Each tent has a private veranda with an impressive view over the Serengeti plains, where herds of wildebeest and zebras can be seen. The "bush style" tents are mobile tents, set up in a permanent way. Each tent has its own private bathroom with bush shower and toilet.The panoramic open restaurant, with lookout tower, offers a fine cuisine and cold drinks after an exciting day of game driving. Here you can relax with a chilled cocktail, while observing animals drinking from the water hole only 30 meters away from the bar. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing