We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Safari Experience with Some Luxury”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of nights at this mobile camp during our honeymoon and loved it. We were there when it was stationed in the Northern Serengeti so it had the perfect location for good wildlife viewing. We were spoilt seeing not only wildebeest migration action, but also all the big cats, lions, cheetahs and leopards with the highlight being the 2 leopard cubs!

The tents in the camp are equipped with flushing toilets and hot water bucket showers so you get a real bush experience with some home comforts. The food served in camp is excellent, delicious and not too heavy (as can be the case in a lot of safari camps) with plenty of salad/veg options. However, if you are super keen to get out of camp to all the wildlife action, you can ask to have a packed breakfast & lunch made so you can leave early and not have to return until much later.

After a day of safari, drinks in camp are served around a fire and afterwards all guests sit together for dinner, the perfect opportunity to swap stories of what you have seen that day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benagirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

Ubuntu was our final stop of our safaris in Kenya and Tanzania. Our luxury tent looked right out on the lovely Serengeti. We loved the fire and snacks before dinner and the family style service which encouraged fun conversations with our fellow travelers. Anna who managed the service staff went out of her way to make our stay special and we were well cared for by all of the friendly staff. We would totally recommend this camp.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calgaryconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better stay at Ubuntu in late May 2014 in the western Serengeti. The view was unbelievable, zebra just hundred yards away. The staff was excellent. We loved the food, especially the snacks before dinner while watching 'bush tv' (sunset and fire pit). The tent was very nice and the showers were perfect. We felt safe and well cared for at all times. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jas925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The location of this camp is what makes it so special. This is a mobile camp that follows the migration through the Serengeti. It is amazing the comfort/luxury that a mobile camp like this can preserve. The tents are huge with a separate bathroom/shower area. The view from our tent down to the plains full of wildebeest below was amazing (they had all left by the time we left 2 days later). We had a great time around the "bush TV" every night enjoying the company of our fellow guests and the stories of the day. The food was delicious and the wine and beer flowed freely. Our only negative about Ubuntu was the driver/guide we were given. He was kind and worked hard to find us game and interesting sights we just found that he perhaps was new to guiding/driving. His knowledge of some of the animals seemed limited and often we would spot things well before he did. All in all though we had a great time in the area and were able to see the Wildebeest in migration.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank akelsall_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This camp was situated on the top of a hill which overlooked the Serengeti. Too Cool. After our safari was over, we could still view the wildebeest hanging out not too far away. In fact, at night some of them seemed to wander into our camp. The food was very good and so was the wine.
Perfect spot to spend a couple of nights!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This place will forever have a very special place in our hearts. This was our final leg of our Safari through Tanzania and we will always have such vivid memories of the beauty and experience of this place.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival by the lovely team and were shown around the camp. It felt like we had stepped into the set of a movie with everything so beautifully set up yet with such an authentic feel.

We had lunch which was set for us privately under a tree looking out over the stunning view. It was simply surreal to sit there eating such delicious food looking out over the beautiful landscape at our feet. What a welcome!!

We enjoyed three days of safari with each day bringing different adventures.

The guides were brilliant! The thing we value was that the guides truly respected the animals and landscape and this meant we had an amazing experience watching nature unfold without disturbance. We saw other guides interrupt the flow of nature by getting too close to the animals just for the ‘photo opp’ but the way our guides showed us around meant we got to see much more authentic and natural experiences. Cheetah hunting. A cheetah and her cubs. Wild dogs hunting down Wildebeest. A leopard on the prowl. Hyena and vultures fighting over a zebra carcass. The guides had eyes like eagles, unbelievable driving skills and the respect for the animals and environment that we loved. We were over the moon by what we got to see and their commitment to show us the beauty of Africa. Plus we got to share many laughs along the way!

Our tent was gorgeous with an amazing huge comfy bed and everything set up in a way that made us feel truly spoiled. The bathroom space was stunning and the bucket shower was actually amazing, hot and such a great way to end the day. I remember one afternoon when there was a rain shower just lying in the room looking out at the views with the sound of rain and the breeze thinking I could have stayed there for months. Just so relaxing and beautiful.

The hospitality at camp was amazing. One of the days my husband wasn’t well and had to stay behind. The team took brilliant care of him and knowing that I would be worried about him they made sure I had updates on him while I was hours away on the safari. Nothing is too much for the team. They are so committed to providing such a brilliant standard of service and are passionate to enjoy you are comfortable in every way!

The food is simply divine! Highly recommend going and visiting the camp chef and kitchen. The quality of the food is unbelievable and to know it’s created in the middle of nowhere is amazing. Add to this that they gave me gluten free options! So appreciated and YUM!! And it’s not just the food on-site at camp, the food on the drives is brilliant too. We left early each morning which meant we had the beautiful experience of sitting in different locations eating breakfast and lunch. To sit there on the plains among the wildebeest eating your breakfast or nearby to lions for lunch…..wow.

Dusk is a beautiful time at camp, fire burning, a drink in hand watching out over the landscape as the giraffes and wildebeest all move to the plains for the night. Just unbelievable.

The team created a surprise birthday experience for me that will be a memory of a lifetime. They set up a private dining experience for us in front of our tent. Amazing food and champagne under the African sky. We were sat there waiting for dessert when suddenly four of the team come out with drumming and singing and a cake just for me saying Happy Birthday Annie. I was so moved that I started to cry! What a beautiful and loving gesture. A gift I will treasure always.

We are so grateful to have had this experience and highly recommend this place to anyone looking for something that is beyond expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The one word that comes to mind to describe, David and his staff is "Exceptional"! Throughout my wife’s and my entire 3 night (4 day) stay in February 2014, every detail was taken care of – we wanted for nothing. The foods prepared for each meal were absolutely delicious.

Our tent was spacious and the huge bed very comfortable with a wonderfully warm hot water bottle placed under the sheets each night.

Our guide Makubi, was outstanding.- totally knowledgable about the game we were viewing and giving us a wonderful experience of a Cheetah jumping up onto the hood of our opened topped Landrover and staying with us for almost 30 minutes - to the envy of all of the other vehicles that were around us!

And each member of the team went to the greatest extents to make us feel welcome and take care of problems if/when they arose. To give just one example – on our second day we had headed out on a game drive – the battery on my video camera read more than 400 minutes remaining – so why take a second battery? We were about 45 minutes away from camp when the battery just went to zero – that was it ,,, nothing … we were faced the bleak prospect of no video for the entire day! But our guide, Makubi said not to worry and called back to the camp and they drove all the way out to where we were and delivered our second camera battery to us – I believe that says it all about the care given to guests … but not quite – just one more incident that will define how wonderful Ubuntu camp is …

On our final evening, - St Valentine’s Day 2014, as my Wife and I (celebrating our 50th anniversary) started to sit down for dinner, with the other guests, when a member of the staff came to us and said, “No, not here!” … and we were then led into the darkness of the Serengeti, where we came upon a table totally alight with candles!! And after we were seated – the entire staff came and wished us “Happy Valentine’s Day!”. Then after filling our wine glasses, they proceeded to bring us many wonderful courses of a delicious dinner. One wonderful consideration that turned this into an evening so truly special – and created for us a memory that will last forever!

Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 45 in Arusha
525 reviews
0 mi away
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
#38 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
35 reviews
0 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#16 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
480 reviews
0 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#12 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
257 reviews
0 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#9 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubuntu Migration Camp stops at three spectacular locations across the north, west and south of the Serengeti, following in the tracks of massive herds of wildebeest as they cross the vast plains of the Serengeti in an ancient migration cycle. Shadowing the wildebeest's every move, Ubuntu Camp uncovers fascinating and unexplored corners of this great wilderness, ensuring that first-class game viewing is never far away. With their unwavering focus on keeping pace with the migration, Ubuntu's guides have an enviable reputation for bringing this remarkable natural phenomenon to life. The camp itself is intimate and personal, and the seven spacious tented suites epitomise traditional East African safari charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing