We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ubuntu Camp - Great Camp but evaluate location in Southern Ndutu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ubuntu Camp - Great Camp but evaluate location in Southern Ndutu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ubuntu is a fabulous camp! We stayed at Ubuntu for two nights at the end of December. Mark and his team do a great job! The tents are spacious and comfortable..by far the best bed in any of the places we stayed on our trip to Tanzania. Family style dinners are fun and we really enjoyed the great dinner conversations. One thing to keep in mind, when the camp is in the Ndutu region it is farther south and the "short cut road" to the camp is generally impassable...if impassable this will add a significant amount of time to any game drive you do because you will need to backtrack around the Crater several times. As long as you are aware of that and are fine with it, Ubuntu can't be beat in terms of warmth and hospitality! Very enjoyable camp and the views are spectacular!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liongirl1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
87
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Ubuntu was great! They were very friendly and the food was excellent! They has a superb lounge with books and board games for a relaxing afternoon if you decide to take a day of rest from your safari. They were very kid friendly and they let my brother and i use the air horns just for fun!!! Everyone enjoyed the stay and we would definitely return!!! Thanks Ubuntu! :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I absolutely loved the Ubuntu camp! The tents were wonderful and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and very attentive to all our needs. The food was surprisingly good. We enjoyed everything about the camp and would not change one thing. Staying at this camp was a fabulous experience!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent two nights in Ubuntu camp and had an amazing time. The staff were friendly and extremely attentive to your every request.

The food was phenomenal as were the tented accommodations. Mark and his staff are fantastic and really try and give all guests an unforgettable experience.

At night you have family style dinners with pre-dinner drinks around a small bonfire. Experience was worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Had the most wonderful 3 days stay aided by Mark and his team. The team work was so good that we were looked well after from waking until going to bed. Mark took time to see us off every day to Safari drive and meet with David , Ebenezer and others on arrival from day of safari with hot towels to refresh yourself. Food was excellent accompanied by good wine. There was a surprise interruption during first night dinner with dance & music by staff to celebrate one of the guests wedding anniversary. Must mention about our Safari Guide/driver “Good Luck” who was very knowledgeable about the territory and animals and most of all a affable character , much different from what we experienced in previous 3 days of Safari -Vijay Harrow UK

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thambivijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here in migration of 2012 (July) just before the wildebeest hit camp. A lovely camp with great staff. We got lucky with an excellent selection of guests and for our teenagers - some of their own age. It seems to us so often it's the people you meet on safari who can totally colour your experience. The game drives are great, but there needs to be more communication. Reality is that you will see very little in the high grass on the 30 minute or so drive from camp to where the action is. Sayari camp (a sister camp owned by Asillia is much more central but also less of a 'bush' experience). Good guides for the most part but some do fall foul of the temptation to allow you out of the vehicles around a crossing to take a better photo. DON"T! Chances are you will disrupt the long awaited crossing and we also saw someone gored by a wildebeest. Meals are great and the wine flows free. Our daughter is a vegetarian and was easily accommodated. The camp feels wild enough to be exciting, but still is incredibly luxurious and easy (what's not to like about a hot bucket shower at a time of your choosing). Asillia also follow really impressive ecological guidelines - but they should shout about them louder.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

managers Mark and David were gracious hosts.
Food was above average, however not as good as sayari camp.
they had fresh fruits for breakfast, but I didnt get any as they didnt refill the platter.
location is far from the mara river and from where the majority of animals are. So basically out on a game drive whole day with a packed lunch.
No running water in the taps.
our guide Mkubie....a walking talking encyclopdia.... learnt so much from him. He was the best part of the camp. We prefered the sayari to Ubuntu..for food, amenities and the location. however, ubuntu had one plus point over sayari, there were no flies. Sayari was infested with flies because of the wilde beast, and it drove us crazy. everyone from ubuntu would go around olakira and sayari for game drive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 mi away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 43 in Arusha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.0 mi away
Robanda Safari Camp
Robanda Safari Camp
#77 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubuntu Migration Camp stops at three spectacular locations across the north, west and south of the Serengeti, following in the tracks of massive herds of wildebeest as they cross the vast plains of the Serengeti in an ancient migration cycle. Shadowing the wildebeest's every move, Ubuntu Camp uncovers fascinating and unexplored corners of this great wilderness, ensuring that first-class game viewing is never far away. With their unwavering focus on keeping pace with the migration, Ubuntu's guides have an enviable reputation for bringing this remarkable natural phenomenon to life. The camp itself is intimate and personal, and the seven spacious tented suites epitomise traditional East African safari charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing