We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet location, good for relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

managers Mark and David were gracious hosts.
Food was above average, however not as good as sayari camp.
they had fresh fruits for breakfast, but I didnt get any as they didnt refill the platter.
location is far from the mara river and from where the majority of animals are. So basically out on a game drive whole day with a packed lunch.
No running water in the taps.
our guide Mkubie....a walking talking encyclopdia.... learnt so much from him. He was the best part of the camp. We prefered the sayari to Ubuntu..for food, amenities and the location. however, ubuntu had one plus point over sayari, there were no flies. Sayari was infested with flies because of the wilde beast, and it drove us crazy. everyone from ubuntu would go around olakira and sayari for game drive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 213 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

A visit to Ubuntu to watch the wildebeest migration should be on EVERYONE'S bucket list! Besides witnessing the most spectacular migration and river crossing, Ubuntu Camp lived up to it's past reviews (I admit to being sceptical initially). I was blown away by the level of service which would put many top Sydney restaurants to shame, the caring attitude of the staff and game drivers where nothing was ever a hassle for them, the superb food that was prepared so lovingly from scratch each day, and the fantastic accommodation (who would have thought we'd have comfy king sized beds and porcelain flushing loos in the middle of the Serengeti?).Oh, and being woken each morning with freshly baked cookies and plunger coffee, while in the wild, was awesome ... not to mention evening drinks around the campfire.
The assistant manager, David, and his staff made this experience a never-to-be-forgotten one - THANK YOU.
I am telling all my friends and family about this camp; Hospitality deluxe + wildlife migration = perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Staff, food, rooms were the best we experienced in Tanzania. Everything was perfect. Especially the staff. The food was as good as we have had in any 5 star hotel. The location gave us immediate access a wide variety of animals. We will return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Ubuntu in the northern Serengeti. To see the migration and the near by Mara river the location was absolutely fantastic and the view was stunning. But much more important is the first class hospitality of David and the Ubuntu team, the athmosphere at the camp fire, the delicous high quality food and the spontaneous conversation in the lounge and at the dinner table. A unforgetable experience!

The highlights were to look and listen to a grazing Zebra in front of our tent at night and the warm chocolate served to the tent when we enjoyed a breathtaking sunrise!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

What a spectacular camp! We were pampered and so well cared for. The food was great. The staff was great. I can't speak highly enough of this camp! Fabulous game drives. If there is any way to spend some time at Ubuntu do it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAS0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

David and his team did a wonderful job. Came here having had a great safari in Tarangire (Oliver's) and the crater ad this did not disappoint. Great camp, food, people, setting to accompany the high quality of the safari.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuxNZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at Ubuntu Camp for 2 nights as part of our safari trip in October and thoroughly enjoyed it. The safari began from the pick up at the airport on the way to the camp and we spotted a leopard hiding in the bush which was one of the big 5 that we hadn't previously seen. On arrival we were given a welcome drink and a towel to freshen up followed by welcome talk by David, the camp's manager. After settling in we had drinks by the camp fire which was followed by a fantastic dinner. The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. We ate with the fellow campers and David and his team provided a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere. Our guide Vevant went to great lengths to look for animals and his patience and driving has to be commended! During the day we enjoyed a packed lunch that had thoughtfully been put together. On the drive back to the airport, there had been a sighting of a male lion so made a detour and our determination paid off. Not only a male lion but also a lioness sitting proudly on a rock after a kill. We also saw elephants, giraffes, impalas, lions, hippos, zebras and thousand s of buffalos including a crossing. I cannot recommend Ubuntu Camp highly enough - the attention to detail was fantastic and as someone who does not relish the idea of camping, Ubuntu Camp offers a world of luxury in the wilderness of the Serengeti. In all, it was a wonderful experience - excellent service, fantastic atmosphere and delicious food.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
522 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
481 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rubondo Island Camp, Asilia Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
900 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubuntu Migration Camp stops at three spectacular locations across the north, west and south of the Serengeti, following in the tracks of massive herds of wildebeest as they cross the vast plains of the Serengeti in an ancient migration cycle. Shadowing the wildebeest's every move, Ubuntu Camp uncovers fascinating and unexplored corners of this great wilderness, ensuring that first-class game viewing is never far away. With their unwavering focus on keeping pace with the migration, Ubuntu's guides have an enviable reputation for bringing this remarkable natural phenomenon to life. The camp itself is intimate and personal, and the seven spacious tented suites epitomise traditional East African safari charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing