We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tented Camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Inverell, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tented Camp”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Have just come back from a trip in Rwanda and Tanzania which was great! Stayed in a Tented Camp in Tanzania which was the Best, From the time we arrived to the time we left we were treated like Kings. Mark and David were great and my special waiter Japhet was the Greatest, never wanted for anything, he looked after me night and morning, Thanks Japhet.
We had the best Game drives from there and our Guide Martin was the greatest, Thanks Martin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
64
88
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The service at this camp was the best that we experienced in Tanzania. The setting in northern Serengeti was impressive, the food was delicious and the tents are comfortable. We also had two successful games drives with Good Luck, one of the camp drivers. We would highly recommend this camp to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Ubuntu camp for three nights. The camp was situated on the northern part of the Serengeti.  I cannot say enough good things about this place but I will try. 

This is no ordinary mobile camp. Each room had a king size bed (or so it seemed) and a full bathroom with nice furnishings. The tents were so well sealed that it is hard to believe that it is indeed a mobile camp. 

Service and hospitality are second to none. They were extremely attentive and always available even in the middle of the night. The managers Mark and David really took care of us along with the staff. Jackson Agga did a great job as our room host. The entire staff was amazing: John & Ebenezer (Waiters), Godbless, Haji, Alfonce & Dominic (Rooms attendants), Daniel (Head Chef),
Makame, Godwin, Daud (Assistant cooks). 

The food was outstanding and catered to each guest. They made every effort to accommodate people's tastes and dietary restrictions. We had people who were vegetarian, gluten-free, and dairy-free and this was no problem for them. I had gotten food poisoning on my previous leg and they were able to make food for me as well. 

The camp was outstanding. Look no further.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sproozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

It's so hard to put in words what the Ubuntu experience was like. We spent the last two nights of our 2 week safari here, and it was an amazing way to top off our trip. This was absolutely our favorite place out of the 4 different lodges we stayed at in Tanzania.

Clint and David were the most amazing hosts. They made sure that we were always comfortable and with a drink in hand. Clint in particular made the nightly fires and family style dinner so much fun. We very much enjoyed sharing stories with Clint and the other guests. The intimate social experience was definitely a highlight.

The tent, the food, and everything else at the camp was beyond my wildest dreams... And this is after I've read all about it online! Everything was just so well thought out, down to the warm water bottles they place in bed to warm the bed during those cold nights. The two chairs in front of the tent were perfect for enjoying those awesome morning deliveries of tea. Our last night there, they actually served traditional Tanzania food. We had fun learning how to roll up the ugali in our hands and then dipping it in the stew. All of the food at the camp was great. The chefs really put a lot of thought and heart into each of the dishes they prepare.

Our experience at Ubuntu was absolutely unparalleled. I'm not sure if we will ever go back to the Serengeti, but if we did, I will certainly go back to Ubuntu.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkTravelBalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMBelgium
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Ubuntu camp is probably one of the most memorable places me and my family have ever stayed at. We are quite seasoned travelers yet it was a truly unique experience.

From the moment we arrived in the camp, the managers and staff met us and made sure we could enjoy every moment of our stay. We had lunch with a terrific view over the park. The lunch was moreover exquisite. We were all astonished by the yummy food that kept appearing on our plates. In the evening there was a bonfire and we had dinner in the main tent with all the other guests.

In all its simplicity (Ubuntu camp is a seasonal camp and travels with the migration) the staff offers a very luxurious and unforgettable experience to all the guests. Definitely worth staying at when you are in Northern Serengeti.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EBelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2012

From the minute we arrived with our guide to the second we left, with the entire staff walking us to the Range Rover, my wife and I felt like we were at a home, full of great friends.
Clint, David, Jackson, Japhet and the staff did everything to put a smile on our faces. From a warm Jambo in the morning; an ice cold (how'd they do that?) beer in the afternoon; to a warm campfire with a glass of South African wine during happy hour, every day was better than the previous one. Victor, our game guide, was extremely talented, knowledgeable and fun!
The tears we shed when our anniversary song, dance and cake showed-up for dessert on our last night, were the best tears we've shed.
What a piece of ubuntu we had. Same time same place in 2017!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ubuntu means "humanity" in Swahili. My partner and I have never been to such a special place as Ubuntu camp, where we experienced many positive examples of humanity, and even a moral fibre to the way the camp was run. From the fact that everything was solar-powered, to the fact that no plastic bottles were used in the rooms, or that you would have a proper written introduction to every member of the staff there and their interesting backgrounds.
Clint, who was Australian, and filling in as camp manager for a few weeks, had the knack for making everyone feel at home. He answered any question you had with enthusiasm, and certainly helped set the tone for the camp. Conversation always flowed smoothly around him. He would often spend time expounding on some important issue regarding Tanzanian politics or the devastating impact of illegal poaching on wildlife. The rest of the staff were Tanzanian. David, his assistant manager, was a little quieter, but always cheerful. Jackson, the head of rooms, had an interesting story. He had begun working in a mine. Followed that a few years later with a stint as a guide on Kilimanjaro. He had thus gone from working deeper in the earth than any of us, went on to working higher than any of us, and now he was back at ground level, making sure everything in our tent was in order. The chef was mindblowingly talented. We were all impressed with the variety and quality of food he was able to produce from his tented kitchen. The best thing about the staff was that they all had a good sense of humour. Even Japhet, our head waiter, had a dry wit.
The atmosphere of Ubuntu focuses on community. All guests from the 8 tents sit around a big communal dining table, and everyone first meets at the evening campfire and shares stories about themselves, actively facilitated by Clint and David. Even if you are staying in the middle of nowhere, as we were, the camp provides you with hot showers, clean sheets, cuisine from every culture, cold beer, South African wine, unlimited laundry service every day, and even hot water bottles in your bed. All in keeping with the most stringent environmentally protective standards. They welcomed us to tour through their working areas so we got a first hand view of how well organised and energy conserving they were.
Our five star rating goes beyond the typical lodge experience, we really discovered some profound lessons there.
Ubuntu reminds us that we can be our best selves — don’t be so hard on humanity that you stop seeing the solutions for balanced living that a small group of Africans living and working in the middle of nowhere have been able to come up with.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eli59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 28 in Tarangire National Park
430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
473 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#4 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#59 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubuntu Migration Camp stops at three spectacular locations across the north, west and south of the Serengeti, following in the tracks of massive herds of wildebeest as they cross the vast plains of the Serengeti in an ancient migration cycle. Shadowing the wildebeest's every move, Ubuntu Camp uncovers fascinating and unexplored corners of this great wilderness, ensuring that first-class game viewing is never far away. With their unwavering focus on keeping pace with the migration, Ubuntu's guides have an enviable reputation for bringing this remarkable natural phenomenon to life. The camp itself is intimate and personal, and the seven spacious tented suites epitomise traditional East African safari charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing