We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Serengeti”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We spent several days travelling around the Northern Circuit and can honestly say that this was by far the best site I have EVER stayed in.
The site is sat atop an escarpment and has spectacular views of animals walking past. To add a touch of security the site is patrolled at night by the Massi warriors who also acted as guides on our first day. On arriving at the campsite you are greeted by the campsite manager and you will be introduced to the staff at the campsite. We arrived late and the chef was very kind to provide us with a lunch which would rival any top London restaurant. We were shown to our tent which is one of only about a dozen. In the evening you are invited to sit around a campfire with the other guests. Dinner is served on a communal table which was allowed a friendly atmosphere. Other guests would share their stories and experiences.
Unlike other campsites all the drinks are free (except spirits) and this includes some amazing local wines and beers.
The tents are very well furnished and the site boasts a strong commitment to the environment. You can order a shower because all the hot water must be brought to your tent by hand. I will never forget watching the game crossing the escarpment whilst we had breakfast. A short distance from the campsite you will find a vast number of cats and other animals. The campsite manager had sited a large family of African Wild Dogs passing through the site only days before our arrival. We found a family of Cheetah a short drive from the campsite who I believe were possing for us¬
On leaving the campsite it felt as if we were departing home. An unforgetable location and experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank courty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 209 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

My husband and I, with our two teenage children, stayed at Ubuntu Camp for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The staff are wonderful and make every attempt to make you feel relaxed and comfortable. The tented rooms are very comfortable and tastefully laid out. The food was excellent, I was amazed at the quality of the dishes that could be created in the bush kitchen. We were able to enjoy our meals looking out onto the Serengeti plains and watch the zebra, giraffe and wildebeest stroll by. We were also very fortunate in seeing Tanzania wild dogs, which had been spotted by the staff before our arrival. These dogs are extremely rare, almost extinct, and it was an unforgettable experience to see the dogs tracking wildebeest in the wild. I would highly recommend Ubuntu Camp, and my family and I would love to return there one day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This camp was outstanding. The tents were like a first-class hotel, clean, large and atop a hill overlooking miles of landscape. Our first day the wildebeest were coming through, and there must have been thousands. Make sure you have binoculars! A local guide takes you on afternoon walks in the landscape (good to stretch legs after a day in the safari vehicle). Appetizers and drinks are served around the fire as the sun sets. The food is absolutely fabulous. Meals are served to all guests at a communal table. You can order your 20L hot water shower for whatever time you like, and the staff dump the hot water into a receptacle behind your tent. There are games, books and maps in the lounge/dining area. The manager, Mark, was quiet but extremely professional, caring and friendly.
I would return to this place with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Ubuntu is very special and is in the middle of the migration roure; currently in the South. How this mobile camp operates so wonderfully is amazing. Want a shower and hot water is loaded in the bucket above your tent. Perfect after a day out. The scenery is stunning. Marc and his team make a great camp and everything is wonderful. Would love to return. Children loved it and candle light dinners were stunning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vic_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Ubuntu is the perfect place if you are looking to experience the wilderness. They create something that seems impossible, combining the comfort you can expect from a four star hotel, the impeccable service of a five star, and the thrilling experience of camping out in the wild (not to mention the top-notch gastronomy).

Tents:
The tents are reasonably sized, spotless, and nicely decorated, creating a cozy ambiance. It gets cold at night, so bring warm clothes to sleep in. You can have a nice hot shower, but the water compartment only fits 40L at a time, which means you might have to shout out for more water in the middle of your bath; which is definitely not a negative, it just adds to the adventure!

Service:
The staff is extremely helpful, from Mark, the camp manager, to each of the members ready to accompany you from your tent to the open fireplace at night. The service is very personal and makes you feel like a part of the camp. Each detail is taken care of (one nice one were the hot water bags left under the covers to warm up the bed at night).

Food:
Delicious! Some of the best food we've had in Tanzania! There is a set menu every night, and if you have special dietary requirements, they can make adjustments especially for you.

Game drives:
John, our driver, was extremely knowledgeable. He knew the call of each bird, and was able to show us 4 out of the big 5, not to mention crocodiles, giraffes, etc. What is also nice is that in northern Serengeti you usually don't get more than two or three cars around the animals, which makes the experience more authentic.

Location:
Although the camp was a bit far from the Mara River, it was in an astonishing location, with beautiful views of the sunrise and sunset in the Serengeti.

This place is great for couples, really romantic, beautiful... Just great!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We spend 3 nights in the ubuntu tent camp. These were really perfect days! The team from Ubuntu is great - in the middle of knowehre:

- excellent food
- hot showers
- cold drinks
- friendly and perfect service (which only can come from peaple who really loves their jobs and the nature!)
- only 6 tents
- zebras were eating grass during night in front of our tent
- early morning teas with great sunrises
- perfekt trips with great picnics (in front of hippos) with our famous guide jaba !!!

to make a long story short:

if you like great nature and privacy combined with perfect service which perfect fits into the nature (incl. enviroment protection) just choose this camp!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristophMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We've been in several Asilia Camps in the years before, and Ubuntu is the new addition.
Perfect managed by Mark, who we've seen before in Olakira Camp.
The staff is very friendly and everything is well organized. There are only six tents and that makes it feel like a private camp.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#14 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gibb's Farm
Gibb's Farm
#1 of 51 in Karatu
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park 1000, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ubuntu Migration Camp stops at three spectacular locations across the north, west and south of the Serengeti, following in the tracks of massive herds of wildebeest as they cross the vast plains of the Serengeti in an ancient migration cycle. Shadowing the wildebeest's every move, Ubuntu Camp uncovers fascinating and unexplored corners of this great wilderness, ensuring that first-class game viewing is never far away. With their unwavering focus on keeping pace with the migration, Ubuntu's guides have an enviable reputation for bringing this remarkable natural phenomenon to life. The camp itself is intimate and personal, and the seven spacious tented suites epitomise traditional East African safari charm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing