We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent the last three nights of our recent Tanzanian safari at the Lamai Serengeti. It was fabulous from start to finish. We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts Nick and Jana, and all the staff were very attentive and courteous. The room was unbelievable - spectacular views and very comfortable. Hot water bottle was a bit of a shock at first (what *is* that in my bed?) but very comforting once identified! From the early morning wake up with fresh coffee and biscuits, to the delicious packed breakfast eaten al fresco, the gourmet food served at the camp, and Paulo our guide who knew so much and tried his utmost to make sure we saw everything we came for - it was just wonderful. If we could return to only one of the places we visited in Tanzania this would be our choice without a doubt. Simply sublime.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 321 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

I have been on a few safaris before but this was my first to Northern Tanzania. I have loved all my other trips to Africa but have always said that I would try somewhere new (there is so much to see, it would be a shame to not explore other places). However, Lamai was so good that I am seriously contemplating going back to the lodge for a second trip! My guide was brilliant and the game delivered!

I hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: The higher up the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We felt like celebrities from the moment that we arrived.
We travelled as a family of 5, 3 "children" aged 21, 19 and 16.
We flew Coastal Aviation in a single engine aircarft.Very professional and punctual, loved seeing the landrover do a lap of the runway before we took off to scare the zebras away.
We were picked up fron the airstrip by Kakai, our personal driver for the next 4 days.
He told us that we had been allocated the private section of the camp, and we didn't appreciate what a treat was in store.
The camp has a main common lounge and restaurant and pool to cater for most guests.
At one end ( 5 mins walk) is the private section, with it's own pool and cabana, lounge and dining area, and own kitchen and chef. There are two huts, one is a double bedroom with huge bathroom, the other is two bedrooms ( a double and 2 singles) with huge bathroom. They are not directly next door, but close, and are in sight of each other. The bathrooms are amazing, you can see animals wander past as you shower. Lying in bed you have a panoramic view through the netting, and you can hear the sounds of animals clearly (the staff claimed the lions were 1 km away, they sounded closer!) There is an air horn in your room if you need help in the night, as it is not recommended to leave your room after dark unless a staff member accompanies you. Leave your hairdryer and straightening irons at home ( the generater can't tolerate them), and embrace nature.
The living areas are all open setting, and beautifully decorated, and in an elevated position to maximise the view. Some may be phased by this, but it is safe and adds to the experience.
On arrival we were welcomed by our delightful hostess Rebecca, and our food/drinks attendant Canale. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We enjoyed Rebeccas company for dinner the first night, and were telling her of Pink Gins that we had had 28 years previously in Kenya. The next night she presented us with Pink Gins- typical of the fabulous service.
Fantastic attention to detail, the hot water bottles each night, washing done amazingly quickly, and morning tea/coffee/hot chocolate delivered through the hatch in the wall.
Then , there is the safari. Kakai was exceptional. His knowledge of the animals and their behaviour was fantastic, and he managed to ensure we saw everything! Lions, cheetahs, leopards, rhino, wildebeast crossings, and he even knew the best spot to get that perfect sunset shot with a tree on the horizon in front of the sun.
There is less safari traffic here than in other parts we visited ( ie Ngorogoro crater), and it is so green in comparison as well. At times there are a few cars clustered around something special ( eg a black rhino and her baby), but it is good that the drivers share their information via two way radios.
We found it best to do an early drive (6:30 to about 11:30), and take a packed breakfast. It is a surreal experience sitting at a table eating breakfast in the open, watching wildebeast on the opposite bank of the river, waiting for a crossing to occur (which it did)
Then come back to camp for a delicious lunch, and swim and rest. Sitting by the pool , some babboons climbed on to the rock next to us, and scurried off in fright when they saw us. Then cake and tea at 4pm, and off for another drive.
I felt bad that I didn't thank our Chef before we left, the food was amazing, fresh and delicious at every meal, and great variety as well.
A huge thank you to Rebecca who made us feel so welcome, and to Kakai who became part of the family, we really enjoyed spending time with both of them.
This is the perfect African experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2001Ladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have just got back from three amazing nights at the natural surroundings of Lamai. Africarosetravel co found this gem and it is not for the unadventurous. A night curfew is imposed so that guests must travel with a security guard to get from their lodges to and from dinner. The first night we had 3 lions in camp, the second night I was woken by a jackal on my veranda and the final morning a herd of elephants wandered past my lodge.It is a unique chance to see what happens in the Serengeti when you leave your vehicle. The rooms are simply netted on one side for a panoramic view and all the decor is interesting and funky.The staff were great - from the welcoming hosts to the helpful waiters. Nothing was too much trouble. I would rush back given the opportunity .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROWENAH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nomad Lamai is an amazing camp. With its spectacular views, and nightly sounds of lions (in the distance - although really more like right outside). The location can't be beat, the rooms are AMAZING! Open air, but very secure. And staff whose exuberance for the location and experience of the Serengeti is top notch. They walk you to and from your rooms once it is dark, but I never once felt unsafe.

Monkeys, hyrax, golden mongoose, and lots of lizards greet you daily. I've never had a better view from my bed and bathroom in all my life. We stayed in #1 - which sits at the top of the camp, so it's a nice daily hike up and down, but well worth the privacy and seclusion it provides. Grabbing beers from the cooler in the lodge after lunch and heading up to the comfortable chairs on the deck makes for a superlative ending to a morning game drive.

The food is surprisingly good, including the breakfast that is packed for your game drives - egg sandwiches - done two different ways made the morning of seeing everything we hoped to see being in such close proximity to the Mara River. Wildebeasts, Zebras, Cheeta (with two cubs), a multitude of Elephants, one family who had an hours old calf that was fun to watch figure out how to use his legs, water buffalo, hippos, rhinos including a baby, warthogs, jackals, topi, dik diks, I could go on, but we saw it all including two crossings! Who could ask for more.

Anyone who questions the net is just silly - nothing will come through that...except for gnats. I'd go back again in a heart beat. Loved everything about the experience there...Including being proposed to. Lamai Serengeti will always hold a special place in my heart and my mind and hopefully we can go back for an anniversary sometime in the future.

Oh and don't forget to have your wake up call include the delivery of coffee in your "magic box." My favorite sound at 5:45 AM - hello??? and the sound of the doors opening on the dumbwaiter/pass through where coffee, tea, and biscuits greet you as you start your morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThisisiT74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lamai was the second stop on our family safari. As a group of ten, we represented roughly half of Lamai's guests from night to night. Lamai offers a superb vantage point on a distinctive hill overlooking the Serengeti and some more permanent infrastructure including a bar with a choice of well chilled beer, pool etc. than other places we stayed on our trip.

The individual rooms, accommodation are spacious and of the highest standard, but also well spread out, and without a walkie talkie system you rely on scheduled escorts after dark. The showers relied on solar on a pre-timed charcoal warm-up.

There is significant wildlife throughout the unfenced camp, with mongoose and hyrax on sunny rocks during the day and you also wake to find lion prints, buffalo hooves etc.from the overnight circulation - a great thrill for the kids.

Hosts Mark and Rebecca provided a warm welcome, and guides Kakai and Paulo excelled in what can only be characterised as "event" safari - leopards mating, a live hyena kill, leopard cubs, three spectacular wildebeest river crossings, lions up close and much else besides. And most of it very close to the camp. We had an absolutely thrilling stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindfieldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Lamai Serengeti, arriving from Nduara Loliondo (another Nomad-Tanzania's camp).
The lodge has a spectacular location with magnificent views and our room was excellent. Nicely decorated and with a fantastic balcony. The absence of wall/window in the front faced side (just a net) is somehow puzzling (scary?) at first sight, but it effectively is enough and has the benefit of improving your safari experience (for example, sometimes you can hear the animals at night).
Our guide, Sylvanus, has done a great job and we've had the opportunity to see all the big 5 (in truth, the big 10...) and several wildebeast crossings (quite an experience!).
Food was very good but the quality of the service at the restaurant should be reviewed.
All-In: A place we definitively would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuiB189158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
30.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
282 reviews
40.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
478 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#13 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
319 reviews
53.2 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
898 reviews
64.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania

Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $450 - $875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you were to visit only one place in the Serengeti, it ought be here. This is no idle boast; the iconic Kogakuria kopje in northern Serengeti is a prime site and Lamai Serengeti sits tucked amongst the rocks with panoramic views of the surrounding landscape. Beautifully designed open-fronted rooms, a spacious lounge and clear pool provide an ideal place to escape to for some relaxation in between your wildlife adventures, for both families, groups and couples. The area boasts year-round fantastic game viewing, including the Big 5, and between July and November, the wildebeest migration moves through, crossing the Mara River in dramatic fashion just 20mins from the lodge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing