We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights at Nomad Lamai in mid-August of 2013. I had first made reservations at Olakira instead, as a camp seemed a bit more rustic and fitting for a stay in the Serengeti. However, we were leaving our young children in the care of their grandparents and wanted to have the Internet access that Nomad Lamai offered. I feared Nomad's luxurious lodge design might feel out-of-place in the bush, but my fears were completely unfounded. Nomad Lamai is a wonderfully rustic, whimsical open-aired lodge that is completely in harmony with its wild surroundings. The views are breathtaking, the food creative and yummy, and the staff warm and helpful.

As a side note, a previous reviewer complained of feeling the camp was unsafe and the managers dismissive of the risks of having wild animals nearby. That was not our experience at all. We definitely felt safe while at Lamai. Yes, lions frequent the rocks that are about 1/2 mile away, but anywhere you stay in the Mara you are "in the thick of it" so to speak and may have wild animals visit the camp. Moreover, far from belittling any concerns about predators visiting in the night, we found the staff and managers to be very mindful of our safety at all times.

And the best part... the guiding was superb. We had the pleasure of spending 3 days with Paulo as our guide. He was determined to make the most of our game drives -- and his nine years of experience and expertise in the wildlife of the area made those drives amazing. We saw leopards multiple times (including twice mating), lions up-close-and-personal more times than I can count, and three wildebeest crossings.

Our stay at Nomad Lamai was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash5704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 330 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

When you don't know the way you pass Lamai but we had our Nomad guide for one week, Emmanuel Bahati, and he knows the way not only to Lamai but from Arusha to Lamai.
We had a beautiful house with a great view from the bed and the balcony. Special was the dinner with all the guest together, if you appreciate this, so you hear all the stories from everyone from the whole world. Service is very friendly and Chloé and Mark are good hostess/host. It is a nice gesture to get in the morning your tea or coffee in the special locker in your room. We also see the migration and a lot of lions and a lioness with three cubs. So we had a great time in beautiful Tanzania and Lamai.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgebilthoven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Words can not express what a fantastic and unbelievable time we had during our stay at Lamai. The location of the lodge is perfect, the room was luxurious and the view from the private balcony across the Serengeti is just breath-taking. Mark and Chloe are wonderful hosts nothing is too much trouble. We were very well looked after. They made dinning every night a special occasion for us. The food was lovely, very tasty with lots of flavour.

Our guide Ian was extremely knowledgeable and took very good care of us. He was a great driver. We saw lions fighting, hyenas chasing and killing a baby wildebeest, a couple of wildebeest migration crossings over the sands river, not to mention seeing leopards, cheetahs, elephants, zebras, giraffes, crocodiles, hippos and so much more.

Being so close to the wildlife was a truly unforgettable experience, hearing the lions raw and watching the amazing sunrises and sunsets over the plains of the Serengeti was just the icing on the cake. We want to say a HUGE THANK YOU to all at Lamai for making our safari a once in a lifetime, very special holiday!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZozsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NomadTZ, Head of Marketing at Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Sounds like you had a great time and we're thrilled you loved the camp. It's certainly one of our favourite places and we get great pleasure sharing it with like-minded people! Thanks very much for taking the time to share and I'll certainly let the team know that you had a good time. Hopefully it won't be long before you and your daughter will be heading back to Tanzania.

Warm wishes from us all at Nomad,
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wow! Many other visitors to this camp have had incredible experiences and my daughter and I can now understand why they raved about this camp. Firstly, the location is superb. Situated on a kopje (hill) it permits panoramic views over the plains below. Secondly, the units are in the keeping of traditional Africa, but very comfortable and the design has been cleverly thought out. Thirdly, Cleo the Manager is efficient and overseas a fantastic group of staff.
Game drives in the morning and afternoon are always eventful and the meals great.
The Nomad Group must surely be pleased with the responses of guests who have stayed at this camp and it is no wonder that they get such rave notices.
If you want to stay here, then ask for Unit 1, as this unit is near the top of the kopje and has the best views.

Room Tip: Number 1 unit is the highest unit and is about 200m from the main dining area. The walk up is a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

OK- our first visit to Africa, and we are not jaded, but our expectations were high and they met them and then some. First, the rooms are great- fantastic view of the plains with elephants and giraffes wandering by in front of you. Privacy, balconies, and the most comfortable beds. Ask for hot water in the morning, and they make sure you have it. The food is great, and so are the rest of the facilities. Mark and Chloe were our hosts, and they were attentive and entertaining. Took care of us very well. Our guide was Emanuel- he was excellent and I strongly recommend that you request him in advance if you are able. I loved everything about our experience and would recommend it again in a heartbeat!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kejtable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After a brief logistic hiccup on arrival, we had an incredible stay. The property is beautifully located in the Northern Serengeti. We spent one morning just watching the elephants and giraffes meandering in the meadow only a few hundred yards from our balcony. The rooms were incredibly luxurious and comfortable and yet also nicely embedded in the environment. The pool and physical layout of the lodge provide space to explore and relax for guests. The new host couple just transferred in from another property were still learning the site but had a wonderful attitude.

We experienced a full day drive to catch a herd of the great migration, saw lions mating and the three leopard brothers. Our guide Paolo was very helpful and good with the kids. We had wonderful meals in the bush and he managed the more strict Tanzanian rules (as compared to the more lenient policies on the Kenyan side) regarding driving only on existing tracks well.

The food was very good and included a mix of local and international options which we really appreciated.

We did have an uncomfortable arrival which we hope future guests will not repeat. Our initial guide John did not show up at the correct time for our plane leaving us alone at the airport for 40 minutes. We are relatively easy going and experienced travelers but this was a bit uncomfortable for us especially when the plane that had been waiting left as well. The pilot could not get a cell signal on the airfield and promised to come back if he could not get confirmation that we would be picked up but still... Finally, John showed up and immediately tried to shift blame first to the airline and then to the travel agent. He only apologized after he was directed to do so by the property manager over the radio. He also disparaged our choice of staying at Lamai saying that the grass was too long to see much wildlife and we picked the wrong season to come. We found out later that he had lied to the hosts about how long he kept us waiting. He was also gruff and unpleasant with our children who were somewhat scared of him after a short drive from the airport to the lodge. The host couple immediately responded to our concerns by switching guides and later delivered a complementary bottle of champagne to us with an apology. This response and gesture went much further than John's blame shifting efforts. Don't let this aspect of the review dissuade you from coming to Lamai but do absolutely request that you not be paired with John.

Room Tip: The family suite at the end of the path departing the restaurant was a fantastic two bedroom unit wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mwsk_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

An amazing, stunningly beautiful place, with sincere and warm personal attention, catering to our every desire and more. A surprise private dinner was arranged. A bottle of champagne arrived in our room to celebrate our honeymoon. Each and every meal was delicious, with the freshest and expertly prepared ingredients. I will long remember the chocolate tart, and my husband was transported back to New Orleans Kay Paul's restaurant upon eating pork fingers with spicy mustard. Our guide was fantastic. Having spent his life tracking and living with wildlife, he had a keen insight into their behaviors and habits. After listening to the cries of a wildebeest slowly being drowned by crocodiles, many of the group of onlookers from their Range Rovers stated that oh well, that's nature. The rest of the herd had moved on, already. I heard our guide wish to himself, in a tender hushed voice, that the lone baby wildebeest, that I presumed had also just witnessed the death of its mother, succeed in its journey struggling safely across the Mara river.

The next evening we heard lions singing about their evening repast. A warthog trotted past out porch. A handsome pair of leopards delighted us at the end of our first evening safari. I thoroughly enjoyed the sounds of nature around us. I would have liked a radio, only because once in your villa in the evening, there is no way to contact an escort to go back to the lodge. I felt no danger whatsoever, but I could see how someone who has anxiety about proximity to predatory animals could have a problem, and would perhaps have felt at one of the more heavily human populated safari sites. I couldn't have been happier with the high staff to client ratio, and proximity to nature.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandyga1l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
40.7 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
499 reviews
53.2 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
919 reviews
64.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.4 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#3 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
379 reviews
20.6 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#13 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
327 reviews
71.9 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Serengeti, Nomad Tanzania

Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $450 - $875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you were to visit only one place in the Serengeti, it ought be here. This is no idle boast; the iconic Kogakuria kopje in northern Serengeti is a prime site and Lamai Serengeti sits tucked amongst the rocks with panoramic views of the surrounding landscape. Beautifully designed open-fronted rooms, a spacious lounge and clear pool provide an ideal place to escape to for some relaxation in between your wildlife adventures, for both families, groups and couples. The area boasts year-round fantastic game viewing, including the Big 5, and between July and November, the wildebeest migration moves through, crossing the Mara River in dramatic fashion just 20mins from the lodge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing