We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our stay at Simba Lodge was an outstanding experience. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, the rooms were clean and very well equipped, and the view was breathtaking. Add that the food was tasty and of high quality. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auroraafrica, Marketing Manager/Guest Relations at Serengeti Simba Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Hanne K,

Thank you for the lovey review. We're delighted that you found the lodge wonderful in many ways. We do hope that you'll be able to come back and visit us again!

Annie Birch
Marketing, Simba Portfolio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Serengeti Simba Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 209 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed two nights and was very satisfied with their services. The tour company I went with 'DOTCOM SAFARI based in Moshi, turned out to be not good at all. They sent me in a Dodgy car which was automatic and not strong enough for the roads in the wild. The car broke down in the middle of Serengeti...some tourists agreed to tow the car to the fuel station where I was waiting from 5.30pm till 9pm to be picked up by the car sent from the Simba lodge. Bill the manager is so friendly and attentive. Also, the driver that picked me from the fuel station was very knowledgeable. Lovely waiting staff...I reached the lodge at 10pm that night and all their staff were waiting at the entrance to make me comfortable. I really appreciated that extra service. I will strongly recommend this lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YoginaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auroraafrica, Marketing Manager/Guest Relations at Serengeti Simba Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear YoginaS,
Thank you for taking the time to review Serengeti Simba Lodge here on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate it when our guests enjoy their stay as much as you did. We're very sorry you were disappointed with your tour operator and glad the staff at the lodge could help out. Thank you for recommending us to your friends.
Annie Birch
Marketing, Simba Portfolio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Simba Lodge - friendly staff, beautiful rooms with breathtaking views, the best food we ate during our two weeks in Africa, and a lovely place to come back to at the end of a fun but very long day! Thank you for your hospitality and for the beautiful reception when we arrived for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melzy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auroraafrica, Marketing Manager/Guest Relations at Serengeti Simba Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Melzy,

Thank you so much for the review. We're delighted you chose to spend your honeymoon with us and are very happy everything met your expectations and beyond. We always do our best to make 'honeymooners' feel special. We hope you'll be back for an anniversary!
Annie Birch
Marketing
Simba Portfolio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights with our Swedish group and were very satisfied. Beautiful view and nice tents. Food was ok. Good with Eco camps and sun power. Resting at the pool was another advantage. Hope to be back next year.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bernharddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Fantastic lodge. Our best stay in Tanzania. Great views from every room. Bill and Steve were our guides for the game drives and did an amazing job. They are on your schedule and cater to whatever desire you have for game viewing and making your trip a success. The driver and guide are very knowledgable about the park and the animals. The staff is incredibly attentive and helpful. They make it seem like you are the only guests on the property. The service was five star. The rooms are clean and well done. I would recommend this lodge to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Eagle, but all good. Very private settings with great views.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Everything about the Serengeti Simba was first rate! The lodge is beautiful with a forever-view pool and a deck with an incredible view. Our tent room was big, clean, comfortable, luxurious and I loved the outdoor stone shower! The views from the tents are amazing! The staff was genuine, friendly, and incredibly helpful in all ways. I saw one of the most amazing African sunsets while sitting by the outdoor firepit. The food was wonderful and this is the only place on my safari trip that made gluten-free bread for me!!! What a treat to be served bread with my meals! They truly want their guests to be pampered and happy. They packed lunches for us twice and they were delicious and generous. If you are looking for a peaceful getaway, this is the place. One thing I wish the lodge could get is a good internet connection, but they are just outside the Serengeti and it isn't realistic. I highly recommend this lodge!

Room Tip: All the tent cabins are wonderful with amazing views. You do walk down dirt paths to get to the cab...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimackerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at this lodge in the summer during a trip around Tanzania. We visited many different places but the Serengeti Simba was the best by far. Not only is the lodge in a pristine location, close to all of the game, but also the facilities were amazing. That is not even the best part, the staff was the best around and the food could not have been better. Each night there was a great selection of food and drinks.. It was my first time going to Africa and I where a little unsure about the quality of accommodations, but this lodge was perfect. We spent five nights there and saw lots of game; we could even see parts of the wildebeest migration right outside of our window. It is pretty amazing waking up to a panoramic view of the Serengeti with lots of animals grazing out of the window. If was very nice to swim in the pool after a long day game watching. I would not hesitate to stay here again and I have recommended it to all of my friends and family. We were very pleased with our stay at the Serengeti Simba and it was the highlight of an overall amazing trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amartens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
29.2 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
44.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#23 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
179 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#55 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
9.3 mi away
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented Lodge
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented L...
#60 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
55 reviews
40.5 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#41 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Simba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Simba Lodge

Address: Ikona Wildlife Management Area, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $429 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Serengeti Simba Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located outside Serengeti National Park’s Ikoma Gate with endless views across the plains. Built of local materials and using solar power and hot water in the rooms, this lodge is unique to the area. Reception, lounge, bar and dining incorporate a natural rocky outcropping (kopje) into the design. Fifteen creatively designed large canvas rondavels reveal the romance of a tent with the security of a permanent structure. Each bathroom has an outdoor stone shower. Family rooms are in a ‘stone house’ with equally impressive views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Serengeti Simba Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing