We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite Location on Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Centerville
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My Favorite Location on Safari”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I simply loved this place. Being in tents right there in the Serengeti was just amazing. The first night I barely slept because I couldn't believe out "out there" we were. By the second night I wanted to sleep with every flap of the tent open and not miss a thing.

The staff is beyond gracious and friendly. They couldn't do more for you. Our dinners were simply delicious -- the banana soup was a knockout and we all wanted copies of the recipe. The food was in over abundance!!!

We had a good campfire and drinks here too and the stars and sky were entertainment enough. Some of us heard buffalo, hyena and other creatures through out the night but nothing that was frightening -- just adventurous!

The wake up calls and gravity showers are all part up the fun. Never mind the location. The food is a real star here! I'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    204
    39
    5
    5
See reviews for
244
421
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Amazing.. that simple. The tents are nice and claean, and you have everything you need. The showers are primitive, but just fine, and hot water enough for a long bath. Food was lovely, and the staff was friendly, and just perfectly attentive.
Sitting around the fire in the evening, was like a farytale. If We are going back to Srengeti, we will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoneSvane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Kati Kati is a slightly more primitive accommodation. Not fancy but there is everything there that you need. The gravity shower was interesting but actually quite good. You had to tell management whether you wanted a shower at night or in the morning and then someone came and put a few buckets of water, you pulled the chain and you had a shower. This camp also had an area to do laundry, hang it up on a line with pegs and let nature take its course. That was much appreciated. Food here was delicious. The room had indoor plumbing, comfortable beds and screened walls that you could zip down to get a breeze but which you could zip up for privacy when the evening cooled off. The outdoor seating area was not screened so had some issues with flies but, we were on the Serengeti so what can you expect? Again, we had a Masai guard to take us to and from our tent. We also got to experience a thunder and lightning storm here which was spectacular. but we were completely dry in our tent!!! As my title says, a good safari camp!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruskin, Florida
Level Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

First impression of the camp had me a bit concerned as some of the other tented camps were more extravagant, but it turned out to be wonderful. We stayed in tent left 4, which is fairly far away from the generator which was good. You would think that getting a bucket shower doesn't work, but the way they have it set up, it worked just fine. Hearing hyenas at night was awesome!

Then there was the food. First off, they have a nice camp fire where you can sit and have drinks and popcorn. Then dinner is served which was an awesome soup, followed by two kinds of meat, vegetables, potatoes, bread and dessert. The food was fantastic and the best we had had since we arrived 6 days prior.

Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you want to sleep in the midst of nature, this is the place to go. It's in Seronera area, in the middle of the Serengeti, with lots of wildlife just on your doorstep. Be aware for some restless nights, because hyenas ans eliphants are around the camp at night and were next to our tent, and you can see eliphants still hanging around at dawn. You can also see jackalls, maraboes and small birds nearby.

This and the great food, friendly staff, and a comfortable tent made this the best place we stayed in Tanzania. It's not about luxury, it's about the experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tissa010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Falling asleep with the sounds of lions and hyenas (and some unidentified snorting during the night). We were the last tent from the mess, it could be a bit unnerving! The staff were pleasant, food was good, they have serving down to a science, quick and efficient. Like most other camps, the box lunches leave much to be desired. If I went again, I would pack my own from the breakfast buffet! Bed was comfortable, shower takes a bit of getting used to. We shared one just to made sure we didn't run out of water, actually was kind of fun! Solar power is pretty dim, they do have a charging station for batteries. Just remember, you are in a camp in the Serengeti, that is what you are paying for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were a group of 6 and had 3 tents for 3 nights. We were a little skeptical about staying here but that quickly vanished when we arrived. The staff greeted us with smiles, juice and guidelines about the camp. The tents were clean and the beds comfortable. When you want a shower, you just have to let the staff know about 15 minutes beforehand or make arrangements the day before for when you return from game drive. The water was perfect temperature and plentiful to shower and shampoo. Walking to and from dinner in the dark was the only time I was a little concerned but guides walk with you when its dark. Excitement comes at night when you hear hyena and elephants trumpeting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
5.7 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
18.4 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#3 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
31.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
11.4 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#4 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#13 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp

Property: Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp
Address: | Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serengeti National ParkPermanent tents. Enjoy a mobile camp set-up in the center of Serengeti all year around. The camp provides comfortable accommodation offering guest the unique opportunity to have a safari camp experience. The cozy mess tent, where all meals are served, is set-up in the center of the camp. A camp fire is lit every evening around which guests can enjoy pre-dinner appetizers and drinks.10 tents with en suite facilities.Nearest airstrip: Seronera Airstrip 40 minutes away.Activities: Game viewing and balloon safaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kati Kati Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing