We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kati Kati Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending some time at this tent camp. The location is great right on the Serengeti. We had the wonderful experience of hyenas taking the pails off the shower making a lot of noise. We also had an elephant wake us up at 1:30 in the morning with the low growl and its trunk eating the grass. A true safari adventure.
Staff was wonderful, we had a hot air balloon ride so we had to be up by 4:30am. Staff came to get us from our tent, coffee and cookies were waiting for us and they stayed with us until our driver came. Really enjoyed this adventure and found it a big plus for our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tennis_bum1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

519 - 525 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We are a young couple who went there, great location just near the main game area and cleanliness was top notch. The staff was nice and helpful. I did have a problem with food though as it was not all that great as well. Overall, 4 out of 5.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_touristor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you are doing a safari, the best part of it is staying in one of these tented camps. The Kati Kati is great. The tent rooms are nice, the service is excellent, the food is very good. You hear all kind of animals during the night, and it's worth every penny you spend on it. It's such a unique and amazing experience that will make the safari unforgettable. I had read other reviews mentioning the problem they have with rats, and the staff had also warned us there, but thank God, nothing happened to us, and no rats came inside the tent. Just make sure you absolutely don't bring any kind of food inside the tent, cause that would make your experience a nightmare..I would do it again ! :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susyarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The place is quiet and beautiful. We were able to get a bottle of wine and enjoy it on our "porch." The food was fantastic and staff was very helpful. We had hot water for all of our showers and no issues with the toilet at all. My only complaint is that it is a bit far from the main area of Serengeti and it took about 45 minutes to get back to the camp every night. However nothing beats sitting outside at sunrise with elephants, giraffes, and zebras in the distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrysonSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

There are a number of Kati Kati camps, we stayed at No1 which is right in the Serengeti central area, we saw cheetahs 5 minutes from the camp.
Tents are comfortable, bucket showers but they are very quick at bringing more water.
Good food and helpful, friendly staff

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suziirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would recommend anyone going for Safari in Africa to stay a night or two in a tented camp. The special atmosphere of living in a tent (where you smell and hear the nature around you) is spiced by the exciting sounds of cikadas and lions roaring in the night!

We had a comfortable stay at Kati Kati, situated a little off in the park, with a small track leading around to the back of a couple of hills. The view towards the south-west and a water hole is perfect. You can sit outside the tent and see Zebras, Gnus and Elephants going down to dring in the morning/evening just across the field in front of you (no fence!)

When walking the path to our tent after dinner, a Hyena looked curiously at us from just a couple of yards off!

Good but rustic food. Nice service minded staff and comfortable beds and equipment in the tent (standard porcelain water toilet!) But it IS a tent, so you shouldn't expect 5-star luxury hotel standard!

Room Tip: Stay close to the centre restaurant tent for comfort/safety - or furthest away to get the wildlife e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dspjern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the best located hotel/camps I have ever seen, we managed to time our arrival in the middle of the migration. The lodge is perched on top of a hill side so we could see 'rivers of animals' as the approx. 2 million wilderbeest and zebra moved past the lodge as we enjoyed happy hour drinks at the bar next to the pool. A fantastic lodge, great service and perfect location to roam amungst the varying animals of the Serengeti.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 77MWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
5.7 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
930 reviews
4.3 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#20 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
175 reviews
18.4 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
476 reviews
19.2 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#57 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
125 reviews
17.3 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#33 of 126 in Serengeti National Park
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kati Kati Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kati Kati Tented Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $300 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kati Kati Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kati Kati is a mobile camp strategically situated in central Serengeti, ideal for exploring the extensive Serengeti plains. The camp offers comfortable accommodation together with the unique opportunity to enjoy a real safari experience on a camp. In its comfortable tents one will feel completely immersed in the surroundings and one can enjoy the rich animal life and vegetation of the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kati Kati Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing