We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and exciting camping site!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kati Kati Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I would recommend anyone going for Safari in Africa to stay a night or two in a tented camp. The special atmosphere of living in a tent (where you smell and hear the nature around you) is spiced by the exciting sounds of cikadas and lions roaring in the night!

We had a comfortable stay at Kati Kati, situated a little off in the park, with a small track leading around to the back of a couple of hills. The view towards the south-west and a water hole is perfect. You can sit outside the tent and see Zebras, Gnus and Elephants going down to dring in the morning/evening just across the field in front of you (no fence!)

When walking the path to our tent after dinner, a Hyena looked curiously at us from just a couple of yards off!

Good but rustic food. Nice service minded staff and comfortable beds and equipment in the tent (standard porcelain water toilet!) But it IS a tent, so you shouldn't expect 5-star luxury hotel standard!

Room Tip: Stay close to the centre restaurant tent for comfort/safety - or furthest away to get the wildlife e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dspjern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the best located hotel/camps I have ever seen, we managed to time our arrival in the middle of the migration. The lodge is perched on top of a hill side so we could see 'rivers of animals' as the approx. 2 million wilderbeest and zebra moved past the lodge as we enjoyed happy hour drinks at the bar next to the pool. A fantastic lodge, great service and perfect location to roam amungst the varying animals of the Serengeti.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 77MWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

After a brief 'info session' by the manager upon arrival, we learned how/when to request water for our shower.--you won't run out of water when showering if you lather quickly, turn off the water to 'bathe', then turn the water back on to rinse. We also learned how to signal for an escort (with a lantern - Paul Revere style!) when exiting the tent at night to walk to the dining room. The food, wine and beer was excellent. How can you go wrong at the end of a long dusty day safariing by imbibing in an ice cold Serengeti beer while sitting in the Serengeti?! It doesn't get much better. The tented rooms were roomy; it just req'd a bit of adjustment for us after staying in some lodges previous to our stay at Kati Kati. Staff was attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 55october
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

On my last safari, we stayed in the northern Serengeti and timed the migration crossing the Mara River perfectly. This time I wanted a different part of the Serengeti hoping that we could catch the migration later on in the Massai Mara which we did.
My tour operator selected Kati Kati where we spent 3 nights. I am glad she did. It is located in the central/southern Serengeti, literally in the middle of nowhere. You see signs for other camps but they are many kilometers away. The topography is different from the north which added variety. At first glance, Kati Kati appears as a simple camp, but it is fantastic. I think there 10 tents and accommodate 20 or so people. The camp is never crowded even when full. There is the dining tent and the usual campfire about 50 yards away.
The tents are spacious. Hot water is available practically on demand. The tents have indoor shower and toilet. I think of the 4 camps we stayed at, Kati Kati had the best overall food (and they all had great food) and there was lots of it. Every dinner included a soup, 3 vegetables, and the meat dish. It was closer to home cooking not a restaurant. The staff was very attentive. The camp sells beer and wine (not sure about drinks) and are reasonably priced.
The location is excellent. As soon as you leave the park you start running into wildlife. The large wildebeest and zebra herds were gone, but quite a few remained behind as resident or late travelers. Wildlife was very plentiful. Everywhere we went we saw thousands of Thompson gazelles, and just about everything else. Also saw the big 5 here. I think this area tied with the Massai Mara for the number of lions we saw (at least 30), 3 leopards (including one that walked right past the truck), 3 cheetah, and lots of jackals. Also got to see a perfectly orchestrated ambush of a zebra by a pride of lions. I don’t know how they do it, but I really think they talk to each other. Every night, hyenas visited the camp. We could hear them but not see them.
Overall, this was another fantastic camp on an incredible safari. I would love to return.

Room Tip: They are all good. Obviously the ones closer to the dining tent have a shorter walk. You are always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlosm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was a little apprehensive about staying at Kati Kati Camp as i have not camped for many years. If all camping was like this experience I would do it often! This is a classic mobile style tented camp with 20 tented rooms that are simple yet very very very comfortable. The ensuite toilet and shower are all enclosed within your tent, and even though the word "bucket shower" had made me nervous there was no need. The wonderful staff were there to fill my outside bucket as soon as i requested it and there was plenty of warm water and pressure for a satisfying shower. The meals were delicious and plentiful, served in the central mess tent, and the lunch boxes we were given each day to eat whilst on a safari were excellent. Breakfasting with zebras as your backdrop is unbeatable. And the Serengeti with its wonderful array of game animals is too close to be true.

Room Tip: With only 20 "rooms" you cannot go wrong. Just enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DragonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I felt a bit disappointed upon arrival; I'd never call this a luxury tented camp. On the other hand, it IS smack in the middle of the national park, so maybe luxury would have felt inappropriate. If simple, the tent and beds were comfortable, and the food turned out to be very good. On our first night, a pride of lionesses and their cubs walked through shortly after dinnertime, roaring. That was pretty amazing. One of the other things we liked best was the pre-dinner campfires. It provided a welcome opportunity to interact with some of the other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SleeplessinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Okay....first, these are tents in the middle of the Serengetti....so you will hear and see wild animals (including mice and bugs - but we didn't have any in our tent). You could hear zebras, hyenas & other wildlife at night. The tents were large & the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was in the tent, but separated by a zippered canvas/plastic wall (obviously not as private as a wood wall.....but it is a tent!). There is a roaring fire available for pre-dinner drinks & chatting with other travelers. The food was surprisingly good, especially dinner. You eat with your guide, which for us was great. At night, the tent staff walk you to & from dinner (if it is dark) - which is nice. The sunrises, sunsets & stars are all fabulous! The staff were all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleCrazyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
207 reviews
5.7 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
914 reviews
4.3 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
493 reviews
31.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
465 reviews
15.5 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kati Kati Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kati Kati Tented Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $300 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kati Kati Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kati Kati is a mobile camp strategically situated in central Serengeti, ideal for exploring the extensive Serengeti plains. The camp offers comfortable accommodation together with the unique opportunity to enjoy a real safari experience on a camp. In its comfortable tents one will feel completely immersed in the surroundings and one can enjoy the rich animal life and vegetation of the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kati Kati Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing