We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tents on the Serengeti”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kati Kati Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tents on the Serengeti”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Upon arrival at the central Kati Kati Camp, several men argued loudly with our guide. He showed our papers. He calmly argued back. We sat in the car as the men from the camp got louder and more insistent. Two of them left as we sat and waited. Our guide explained that they thought we were at the wrong camp, but we wren't. They had gone to call the office. Finally they came back with our papers and the requisite tray of glasses of juice. We were allowed to get out of the car. We were told to disregard what had happened. Right. I may not speak much Swahili, but I think I got the gist and it was not a very nice welcome.
Yes, we would all like showers please. We were told what time dinner was served and that we could sit around the camp fire for snacks before dinner.
We had two tents, a triple with the kids and a double for my husband and myself. Our tent had two twin beds.The tents were not side by side. I didn't bother saying anything. They were very clean and tidy. I did scare several spiders out from under the overhanging tent "door step". A couple in the kids tent too.
The toilet by the way is partially hidden at the back of the tent; enclosed in a very rickety plywood contraption. See photo. It is in full view of one of the twin beds. Some things that go on in the Serengeti should be private in my opinion. After one flush of the toilet, ours did not work. We asked several times and they said it was fine. I finally determined that our water tank was empty. We used our bucket of hand washing water sparingly, to flush until they could come and fill our tank
There is no sink, but a suspended canvas bowl. We spit our toothpaste into the toilet.
There was lots of bottled water though. And bug spray and flashlight. There are electric lights that run on a battery.
The shower is a camp shower outside the back of the tent. It is somewhat open to the sky and you stand on a wood slatted platform. When your hot water is ready, they give a shout. We used one tank for two quick showers.
At the designated dinner time after sunset, we made our way toward the dining area. It was in complete darkness. We could see the campfire and hear people, so. Over we went. Any chairs around the fire were occupied. There was not an employee in site. Finally someone came with drinks people had ordered. We were told that we could go and get chairs from the dining area and carry them over. I was getting annoyed. I apologize to the people who were sitting around the fire, for my initial bad attitude. I did not have a full hissy fit, just a small one. Two bowls of popcorn were brought to pass around as the before dinner snack. I am not a fan of communal bowls.
Dinner was quite good when we got it. Local choices. Oh those excellent soups!
We did a sunrise game drive and made due with granola bars until around 11. We were told that there was leftover breakfast. I asked if we could pack up our suitcases and then have lunch. OK. So an hour later, they served leftover breakfast and spaghetti. It was interesting, but the spagetti sauce was really good. The trays were only partially covered though and flies wanted to share.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrishE44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    205
    39
    5
    5
See reviews for
246
427
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harare
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

as a self drive independent traveller it is not all that easy to find kati kati, but the camp manager's willingness to help and kindness solved the problem. Katikati is in the very middle of Serengeti, in the Seronera area, but far enough from the most crowded tracks. The tents are clean and comfortable, the service is excellent and the food is very nice, considering also the basic facilities and isolation. In Tanzania there seems to be a very sharp 'division of labour' between tour guides and lodge management, so there was no alternative to touring the park in our own vehicle (in Southern Africa there would have been the option of being driven in the lodge's open vehicle).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosseem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This camp is a mobile camp and a perfect way to experience the Serengeti. It is well located and the tents are very comfortable and clean. We were most impressed by how few bugs were in our tents we didn't see any! The staff at Kati Kati are very accommodating and we had no issues with service. Keep in mind that you are 'camping'.

The experience is further enhanced (in our minds) by the shower! It is just outside the tent and the staff bring you a bucket filled with warm water for you to use. If you run out you have to yell 'more shower, more shower' and it will quickly be refilled. We never had to yell for 'more shower' but loved the system they had for longer showers!

The dinners at night were very good and plentiful. After there is a communal fire to share stories of your safari adventures.

My husband and I both agree this was one of our favorite spots for our entire time in Tanzania!

Room Tip: They are all great we had one facing west and watched the most beautiful sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2WorldExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Kati Kati has a few mobile campsites, so you are seldom sure exactly which one you are in. We really enjoyed the niftily designed en-suite tents, spacious, well ventilated, with comfortable wrought-iron double beds. The food was excellent considering the location—and what a stunning location it is!—and the chef made an unforgettable peanut soup, and this for somebody like me used to NY's finest. The candle-lit dining tent was elegant, and the service wonderfully genteel and friendly at the same time. At each table was a safari party eating with their guide, and this made for a really interesting mix to witness, and the tables chatted among each other, too. I heard from one Argentine party that had been staying at the luxury lodge that KatiKati was much superior in every way. Can you imagine, we arrived and introduced our little boy to one of the porters just once, and from then on all the staff in camp knew his name and made him feel like a special part of the camp. They all turned out to wave him goodbye (well, he is pretty charming, I have to admit!). These camps are quite intimate, and we learned about the lives and families of some of the workers. Wonderful campfire, lightning storm, sound of animals. I loved shaving under the verandah tentflap in the morning, out of a triangular canvas bucket on a stand using hot water that smelled of woodsmoke, thorn trees reflected in the mirror. Opt for the Hemmingway way and skip the lodge!

Room Tip: all tents with view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanZimSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Luxury is relative & in the Serengti it means a comfortable bed to sleep in, good food, and hot water all of which are available in Kati Kati Camp. It is a mobile camp so moves from place to place each year but the tents are very well made and very substantial and the beds very comfortable. Staff keep the tents immaculate inside and out. Water is heated every day on a donkey boiler for the shower bags & we even had hot water delievered to our wash stands at 5:30 am! Having an inter-connecting wash/shower tent is another luxury. The 'throne' takes a bit of getting used to but is a real flush toilet - also a luxury out there. Listening to the lions and hyenas right outside the tent is amazing, especially since we knew they weren't the least big hungry! We also were surprised by how good the food is, considering where the camp is situated. They kept breakfast ready for us until we came back from our early morning drive. Staff walked us to our tent at night & never once did we feel it was dangerous. Luxury IS relative but Kati Kati Camp delivers....& there are not many accommodations that have an unbelievable number of beautiful wild animals on their doorstep!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Tented camp in central Serengeti. Staff pleasant and welcoming. Tents as described by others. Bedroom comfortable, bucket shower which staff will fill only before dark for safety reasons with the wildlife. Our toilet did not work well.
Food was fair, but great to eat with your guide and other travelers.
Our camp was in a beautiful area. We listened to a lion roaring and grunting nearby all through dinner and through the night.

Room Tip: All tents similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSnyder55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich (Switzerland)
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Kati Kati Camp is a luxury tented camp in the Serengeti National Park in Tanzania. It consists in about 10 tents. All of them feature own toilette + shower with warm water. During the night you will hear lots of animals, including hyena, sometimes even a lion. It's a great experience! The food is mostly local style cuisine, prepared on site. I really liked the food because it was very tasty, nice herbs/spices and good quality of the meat. We felt absolutely safe in the camp and enjoyed this experience more than the stays we had in lodges throughout our great 6 day Safari with Shidolya tours.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclone-zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
5.7 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
855 reviews
18.4 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
390 reviews
31.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
113 reviews
11.4 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#6 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
289 reviews
17.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kati Kati Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kati Kati Tented Camp

Property: Kati Kati Tented Camp
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kati Kati Tented Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kati Kati is a mobile camp strategically situated in central Serengeti, ideal for exploring the extensive Serengeti plains. The camp offers comfortable accommodation together with the unique opportunity to enjoy a real safari experience on a camp. In its comfortable tents one will feel completely immersed in the surroundings and one can enjoy the rich animal life and vegetation of the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Kati Kati Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kati Kati Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing