We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome peace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soroi Serengeti Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2nights with group of eighteen. Our stay was memorable and I would any day like to go back. What a view and the luxury after a hard days trip. The rooms are wonderful so was the management .The place is very well maintained and the guests were very well looked after.I still I am trying to find something negative about the place.

Room Tip: Stay near the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srima_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 139 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We started out our Safari staying in Soroi, with was such a wonderful experience. The View off our own personal balcony was spectacular. The room we had was wonderful, had everything we needed and then some. What really amazed me over and over again was the service, it was just so welcoming. This is what you expect when you think of your highest expectations for hospitality. Our server who we had every night remembered our names, was there when ever we needed something, usually before we even had to ask. It was my husbands birthday, the chef made him a special cake and the entire serving staff and the chef came over and sang. The food was so good, and I thought that it was a really special touch that they served us some authentic dishes as well while we were there. The staff at Soroi really added something special to a once in a life time trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We finished our 8-day safari in Tanzania at the Soroi Serengeti, which is a recent whilst very charming lodge.
The lodge is located approcimately midway between the Parc's center and its west side (where crocodiles and hippos are to be seen)
Rooms are spread throughout the top of a hill with a 360° view on the Serengeti (not many animals to be seens from the lodge except a daily early "gnou").
Service is very effective, quick and kind.
The pool is relatively large, which appears to be quite unusual in the parc. Most impressive are the bedrooms and bathrooms which have fantastic views and are very comfortable (and quiet!)
Food is also excellent with a set menu changing daily. Breakfast was the best we had during that week with a wide range of choice at the buffet as well as cook-to-order.
Overall an excellent experience highly recommandable

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jasmin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We were in Simba. They name their rooms. Rooms are an understatement. They are their own individual houses. Living room, bedroom, bathroom and a deck with an outside shower. You overlook the whole plain while showering. Very surreal. The bed is really comfy and the views are unsurpassed. The staff here bend over backwards to help you. At times they try to do what you want but just don't quite understand. But you know what, it always works out in the end. The food was pretty good, not gourmet but varied and well presented. There were a few misses, but again, just fine. You have to pay cash for your drinks. This lodge is in the middle of a huge concentration of animals. We were here for 3 full days and everyday went a different direction that was filled with animals. I just wish we'd had some more down time to sit on the huge deck and look out. This is a fantastic place to call home. This is our third trip to Africa and Soroi will be in our top three places to stay.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all great. Some with better locations then others. Our room,Simba, is one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jba31857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This property does have a lovely view of the Serengeti, but the high vantage point really limits viewing of any animals up close. They are only specks in the distance. This lodge is very far off of the game drive trails (45 minutes) and not particularly worth it. We didn't really experience anything different here than we had at other properties, and had better animal viewing elsewhere. There are tsetse flies in this area, so we had to ride with the top down, windows shut both to and from the Soroi everyday we went on game drives. We came back from our game drive early one day (2pm) as it was our last day (day 9) and we were tired. We asked for a beer at the bar and were told that there was no bartender to serve us. The previous day we had arrived around 4 pm and also were told that drinks were not available. The rooms were very quaint as other reviewers have described below. However, our party was split up into a 3 person suite (on one side of the property) and a 2 person bungalow on the other side of the property. This is difficult to manage when 3 of the persons with you are children and as a family we shared a lot of the same items (toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, etc.) The suite has a TV, but the 2 person bungalows do not....and we could not allow our children to stay in a room without an adult, nor were we comfortable with them walking the grounds alone as we were afraid they would be a target for some type of predator. So I was constantly walking my 9 year old to the suite to watch TV with his brothers (ages 11,12) and then bringing him back to the bungalow to change into/out of a swimming suit. It was somewhat of a pain that we had not experienced at other properties. We always have to acquire 2 rooms, but generally they are close to one another. Our bar bill was also wrong and we had to ask to have it changed. On a positive note, we did enjoy the food and the restaurant helped to honor our special dinner requests for our kids (noodles with just butter). This was probably our least favorite property on our trip to Tanzania, but others seem to really love it, so maybe we missed something.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July 2012, and had a fantastic stay. The rooms are fabulous, and we stayed in room 2 which had great views and a lovely outdoor shower (great for washing off the dust of the game drives!). The facilities were excellent overall - and better than you would expect out in the middle of nowhere (and this is something to bear in mind, it IS absolutey out in the middle of nowhere!). The staff and service were excellent and the food truly remarkable - the best we had on our 10 day trip!
There is nothing we could fault at all, even the mobile and wifi connection in the reception and restaurant was better than the one we get at home in the UK! It is worth noting that this is 21km up a track off a track, but the 40 minute drive itself is stunning - as is the whole Serengeti experience.
If you want to be spoilt, well fed, well looked after and have all the amenities you need, then this is the place to go. It really is a home in the wilderness, and wow, what a fabulous wilderness it is!! We have no doubt we'll be back again soon......

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Herefordnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We visited this fantastic lodge for 2 nights when staying in Serengeti in July 2012. To go straight to the point: Everything about this lodge is perfect - from the warm welcome, the rooms with a lot of WOW-effect and a fantastic view over the Serengeti plains to the restaurant with a lot of hospitality and good food. The lodge is rather small which means this lodge is much more cosy than the larger lodges - in addition to this the lodges is only 2 years old which means that everything is in perfect condition.The location of the lodge is a little bit further away from other Serengeti lodges in this area of the park but I tell you: The extra milage (approx. 30 kilometers) is worth it since you also have the chance to see a lot of undisturbed wildlife. When you choose this lodge you'll only be amazed. Have a very pleasent stay - I would choose this lodge anytime again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jens A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
27.2 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#27 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
273 reviews
24.2 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#33 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
215 reviews
6.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
Kirawira Serena Camp
Kirawira Serena Camp
#31 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
272 reviews
21.7 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
465 reviews
9.6 mi away
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
#45 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soroi Serengeti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soroi Serengeti Lodge

Address: Western Corridor | Seronera, Serengeti National Park 20965, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $576 - $1,386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Soroi Serengeti Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Soroi Serengeti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soroi Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing