We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soroi Serengeti Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Landisville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Phenominal views and location overlooking the Serengeti! Rooms and facilities were top notch. The staff was attentive to every detail resulting in a once in a lifetime experience. A family emergency caused me to need to depart suddenly and unexpectedly. The staff organized every detail of travel and logistics to accommodate - totally beyond any reasonable expectation.

Room Tip: Every room is lovely with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    23
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
47
57
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We were a group of 18 and had to wait up to 1 hour 15 minutes for our breakfast after ordering same the previous night. The Kitchen staff and waiters needs proper training. They did not know how to handle a group of people. The Lodge manager/owner was never present at any breakfast/dinner to solve any problems.
The lack of sufficient electricity and water created a big problem.
The fact that no credit card facilities are available and such fact was not disclosed to us before, left some of our group members with red faces when we had to settle our accounts.
Beautiful bathrooms but no plug in the basin leads to waste of water seeing that we were warned not to use to much water.
Otherwise it's a beautiful place, nice and quiet and the staff are very friendly and helpfull.

Thanks. D J Deysel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I want to be fair to The Soroi, but honestly, I can't believe that these reviews are all from travelers who stayed at this lodge. I'll start with the positives, as this may be a good fit for some travelers who don't care about food or service.

The Good
1. The View: yes, it is amazing and almost 360-degrees. You can watch giraffes and buffalo from your room's terrace -- or shower! They also have a lovely dining/lounge area with spotting scopes. Stars at night are incredible.
2. The rooms: the rooms are of good size, have a nice bathroom, private terrace, and a really cool outdoor shower. You may be a little creeped out when showering at night with the bugs, but the outdoor shower was a plus for me. The decor was a little cheesy (two big photographs of birds side by side on one wall), but overall, nothing to complain about.

The Bad
1. The service. It was honestly terrible. Everyone is kind and friendly, so I almost feel bad even writing this, but honestly, the waitstaff are disorganized and have no sense of service etiquette. The food often came with bugs or bees dead in it or lipstick marks on the glasses, we waited over 20 minutes just to get a refill on our water, asked for our order by 4 different waiters at the same meal, welcome wet face towels were terrible stale, etc.
2. The food. This was my biggest disappointment. By far the worst food we had in Africa -- and we ate some pretty basic local grub at times. They try. When you look at the menu they offer you, it looks good. But then when it arrives at your table, you realize that the "aioli" sauce is actually just canned miracle whip/mayonnaise, their "filet mignon" must have been frozen for months and is chewy as a hockey puck. The list goes on. Don't even bother ordering your meat medium rare...everything will be well done and nearly inedible. Also, they had 6 beers listed on their menu, but only two of them in stock. Why list what you don't have? The packed lunches were also lacking compared to other places and the chicken they sent was so dry you could barely swallow it -- no exaggeration.
3. The internet. They say they have it...good luck if you can get it. To their credit, they said they were having someone fix the issue, but it's annoying when you pick a lodge partly based on it's WiFi (I'm a business owner, so I need to check in) and you cannot access it.
4. The locations. Unless the migration happens to be in the western corridor, you will be about an hour or more drive from everything you want to see. You will see some impalas, giraffes, and maybe elephants on the drive to the main viewing areas, but overall, we got tired of the long drive back to the lodge. We actually picked the place because the migration was supposed to be there in May, but the late rains kept them in the east, making the location tough. Also, there are a MILLION biting tetse flies in the area -- so much, that you will not be able to keep your windows open during the 21klm drive from the main road. To their credit, there are very few tetse flies at the hotel.

So, if you don't care about edible food and service, and the migration is in the west, it's a decent stay. But this is NOT luxury by any stretch of the imagination....not even close.

Room Tip: Pick a place close to the lodge as the dusty paths to some rooms is a pretty far walk to the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Food-Nature-Culture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The Soroi Serengeti Lodge (SSL)
The Serengeti was the final leg of our 8 daylong safari spanning Tarangire/Ngorongoro/Serengeti; so we were both a bit tired from the constant move.
But SSL just surprised us to no bounds. All the reviews on tripadvisor have been marked “Excellent” and for good reason.
SSL has the best huts. Tents (or chalets as SSL calls them) among all the safari lodges I have been to
This is what you are up for: a view which is 99% private: its literally all yours: the expanse of the plain from the bed and from the tub in your bathroom is just yours. The balcony is just perfect to sit out in the sun (in the evening); gives the perfect mix of chill with a tinge of warmth. The concept of outdoor shower is brilliant and makes you feel being one of the nature
As always: what matters to us most is the personnel and SSL has got one of the best staffs: the management makes you feel warm and welcomed. The staff looks after you as if you are the only one there; they try really hard and the golf carts are a fantastic addition: very important, since you will need them to go to and fro in the evening.
The only point I would make is to improve the kitchen offerings: the chef needs to be a bit more pragmatic than adventurous

Room Tip: One suggestion: always, on a safari, be close to the reception or the eating area: you are in Africa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guzzler_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

new lodge that was recommended to us by our agent in Switzerland, it was worth the drive! It is located in the western corridor of the park, a bit further away but in a hill where you get a view of a large area around it! We could follow a group of elephants for over 2 hours walking around the surrounding plains! The cottages, perched on a wooden plateform, was beyond our expectations... and below a tree inhabitated by vervet monkeys! This is also the place we had the best food of our trip, so if your budget allows it, don't hesitate!

Room Tip: Some rooms are orientated north-east, and others south-west, so if you'd like to watch the sun g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

stayed here as part of safari. Amazing views. best place we stayed in . Great room beautifully designed you can bathe and shower with views of serengti !! food great . Bar great. Pool great . Personal touches like the free laundry. all staff so helpful. we could see impala with binoculars as we ate breakfast at main bit of lodge. It did take a good hour and a half or so to get to it in park but that's pretty standard as you are in middle of nowhere ! really enjoyed and would recommend . G and t on deck of main lodge watching sunset amazing !

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickoteeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Soroi Lodge in the Serengeti was spectacular! The Lodge is less than a year old run by a lovely couple and staff that aim to please you every minute. The rooms are "Out of Africa" design. The gorgeous rooms are designed to give you front views of the Serengeti, even when you are bathing in a stand alone tub or showering on your balcony.
You can see the dots of migration off in the distance---as good as it gets. The Soroi chef was so amazing and his menu was divine! Before dinner, make sure you have your happy hour around the fire pit and get to know other guests. The Masai staff are the most gentle and warm individuals. It is so personalized and truly a haven in the majestic plains of the Serengeti
Here is the link for your viewing: http://www.africanlegendsdmc.com/serengeti_soroi_lodge_description.html

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pacemsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
14.1 mi away
Kananga Special Tented Camp
Kananga Special Tented Camp
#30 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kisura Serengeti Mobile Camp
Kisura Serengeti Mobile Camp
#50 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
18.7 mi away
Serengeti Heritage Camp
Serengeti Heritage Camp
#43 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#27 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
18.9 mi away
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented Lodge
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented L...
#52 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
18.1 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#66 of 113 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soroi Serengeti Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soroi Serengeti Lodge

Property: Soroi Serengeti Lodge
Address: Western Corridor | Seronera, Serengeti National Park 20965, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Soroi Serengeti Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Soroi Serengeti Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soroi Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing