We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serengeti serenade”
Review of Asanja Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asanja Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

If you are looking for an authentic wilderness experience with just the right creature comfort ' your search stops here !!!!! Beautiful location in the midst of the Serengeti plains .. 7 well anointed tents each with a different bush theme , gourmet food and a well stocked bar . To top it all lion roars and hyena laughs to keep you company for dinner ! Excellent staff which includes Masai warriors to regale you with bush tales !! It's worth every penny !! I ll definitely be back

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cussed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 185 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2014

Excellent place and wonderful staff who went all out to make our stay comfortable the camp manager Jermine & Arnold deserve special mention - we are vegetarian which we had informed them before arrival and chef Rashid had a whole bunch of dishes to offer us - also they were open to suggestions and discussed the menu with us. The Masai were very helpful and very friendly with children - Lingui(I hope i got it right) and all the other masai took special care of us and told us stories about masai culture. The tent was clean and nice and had all the basic amenities you would expect. Although it was a bit of a walk to the dinning area we didn't mind it - also they had the bonfire in the evenings before dinner which was a nice place to enjoy a few drinks.

I can go on and on - but overall excellent place - great food - amazing staff - I will surely love to be back !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shilpa1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Cannot describe how amazing the tents are. Truly was the highlight of my trip. At first I was scared of sleeping in the wilderness but the camp staff were amazing, the tents were ideally located and so I felt safe. Absolutely brilliant time spent here, it was such a fun experience. I cannot fault a single thing; Food was delicious, Breathtaking views, Lovely barbeques, Friendly staff. The rooms were large and spacious really warm and inviting. Everything was clean and well kept. Would recommend asanja to everyone planning on going to serengeti. Luxury in the wild!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

went to Asanja for 2 nights and was genuinely very impressed. excellent food, accommodation, service and above all else, excellent location. this really is one of the best experiences of my life, not only the safari but staying at the Asanja was just amazing. i would recommend Asanja to everyone who wants to experience nature in the finest way possible. thank you to the team at Asanja for making our stay exciting yet safe and unforgettable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryBains8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Me and my husband knew we wanted to stay at a tented camp while on our safari but we weren't sure what to expect. This place topped all expectations.

The tents are amazing. Huge rooms with all the needed amenities. Our tent was very clean and felt very homey. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is memorable. Notes were left on our bed each night along with hot water bottles. Water is boiled for the showers and is dispensed through a shower in your tent, so you don't have to go out in the chilly night.

The food was incredible and was presented beautifully. We were never disappointed with a meal. Our boxed lunch was even great!

There is a camp fire each night where you can get to know the employees and guests at the lodge. Hearing the animals rustle around your tent at night and lions growling in the distance makes it a must do for your safari. Highly recommended to anyone who is looking for a top notch Serengeti experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth3783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We spent two nights in this very special place. Beautiful, quiet and remote location (except of the area with tsetse flies, that you have to cross to get there) with this kind of view that you seem to know from many romantic movies about Africa, beautiful luxory tents, very friendly staff and an excellent cook.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We had the most wonderful experience at Asanja. It was the last camp we stayed in and the one we were most looking forward to; and it didn't disappoint. It is set in a secluded location, well away from other camps and passing jeeps, with wonderful views to the distant hills. The tents were beautifully and individually decorated and extremely comfortable. The staff were all friendly, helpful and charming - nothing was too difficult and everything was geared towards our comfort. The food was excellent (as was the wine!) fresh and delicious. It was the small touches, though, that made it special - hot water bottles waiting for us in our beds, homemade cakes by our pillows, cold scented towels when we returned at the end of the day, sitting by the fire with Nganeni and Meleyo before dinner, talking about our day and listening to the hyenas in the distance.
We cannot recommend Asanja highly enough and would like to thank Jeremiah and all his lovely staff for making our stay so special. The memories will stay with us for a long time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcD M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
35.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
469 reviews
21.6 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
920 reviews
37.3 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#28 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#64 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
89 reviews
19.8 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
170 reviews
35.1 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asanja Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asanja Africa

Address: Moru Kopjes | Seronera, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $432 - $749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asanja Africa is a luxury tented camp, ideally located in the southern central Serengeti, amidst the Moru Kopjes and on the path of the great annual wildebeest migration. The presence of water makes this is a good area for game viewing throughout the year and is serviced by the Seronera airstrip.Our camp is very exclusive with only 7 luxury guest tents. All the tents are personalized and embellished in african style and culture, they offer everything you could need for an unforgettable stay.Our dedicated chef & his team are proud to serve you with a fusion of local flavors and continental cuisine.Our Staff are always on hand to guide you through your stay and make your safari experience as comfortable as possible.Asanja Africa is a responsible and committed camp towards the environment. Our camp merges into the environment and if we had ever to relocate, there would be no trace of our existence and nature would take over.We strongly believe that we are selling an ASANJA experience and not a night. Come experience the pristine wilderness of the Serengeti at Asanja Africa, where indulgent luxury, comfort & personalized attention is promised... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Asanja Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing