We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite lodge in Tanzania”
Review of Asanja Africa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Asanja Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite lodge in Tanzania”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Asanja Africa was my favorite lodge in all of Tanzania. We were charmed by the luxury tents, the very attentive staff, and the serene surroundings. I do not camp here in the US, but even though these are tents, there have electricity, flushing toilets and showers in your tent. The food was excellent and the presentation equally as impressive. The animal viewing in the area is fantastic and you can even hear lions roaring at night. We felt safe and welcome at Asanja. As our trip continued on through the Serengeti and Ngorongoro, I found myself missing Asanja Africa. Thank you for the unforgettable memories and unique experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights with friends and 7 small kids. Amazing experience not to be forgotten in this lifetime

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Arvindmittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Asanja was the highlight of our trip to the Serengeti and we wished that we had not booked hotel accommodation. The camp is perfectly located to get the real out in the open feel with the tents sympathetically placed so that you feel alone on the plain but safe. The staff were so friendly and attentive and wonderful food was served in the open . Tea in bed each morning was an added luxury as were the hot water bottles in the bed each night!
We loved the attention to detail in the furnishings ,the Masai stories surrounding the names of each tent and the presence of Ngeneni our personal masai warrior!
If we return to Tanzania ,we will return to Asanja and cannot recommend it highly for all ages.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirlParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amesterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Asanja was jus not a night BUT IT WAS A REAL EXPERIENCE. Asanja is one of the best holiday hotels that i have ever stayed at. Its closest to nature you can ever be. With the busd dinner where from a distance you can see glittering eyes of the animals while you are sittin and enjoying a proper 5 course meal under the glittering sky.

From the rooms to the staff and the food i would recomenend it as being heaven on earth. On the last day it was very difficult to convience myself to leave the place. Asanja just grows on you each hour as the day goes. The maasai Nganeni was extra special on the whole trip from all the stories he told us and the bar man who made us refreshing cocktails on sundowners.

I will definately come back and stay with Asanja Africa in the serengeti and am looking forward to the opening of their new property in Zanzibar.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated differently according to Maasai traditions and you have a choice to choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Me and my wife spend two unforgetable days at Asanja luxury tented camp.It was great the staff was friendly and helpfull,bend over backward to make us as comfortable as possible and our stay an unforgetable one.The food was out of the world being served out i the open under the stars made it an unforgetable experience.The stay at Asanja was one of the highlights of our visit ta Tanzania

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our group of friends and family, aged 14 through 77, happened upon this lucky little treasure because it was mentioned by our safari company, African Scenic Safari. We thought it out of our price range but we decided to try it as a special treat as its description sounded so magical. It was the highlight stay of our trip. Off the beaten track, its intimate setting and interaction with staff easily won our hearts. We were treated like royalty with a family touch. Their is a clear attempt to be environmentally minded in the workings of the camp. Staff were all local hires, all talented and professional. We felt as if we had made friends while staying there. A highlight was listening to the lions roaring all night and impala snorting during the day in the fields beyond. Very special place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifecanbgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I would like to thank all those at Asanja for a superb few days that my wife and I spent with you. The setting, feel, service and total pleasure of our time was second to nothing else we have experienced. The staff were amazingly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and the food was simply out of this world. Asanja is a truly stunning place and our time there will always be very fondly remembered.

Room Tip: No tip, there are five rooms that I'm sure all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
35.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
432 reviews
19.8 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#19 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
113 reviews
25.2 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#48 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
855 reviews
44.6 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#32 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
197 reviews
37.3 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#20 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asanja Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asanja Africa

Property: Asanja Africa
Address: Moru Kopjes | Seronera, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asanja Africa is a luxury tented camp, ideally located in the southern central Serengeti, amidst the Moru Kopjes and on the path of the great annual wildebeest migration. The presence of water makes this is a good area for game viewing throughout the year and is serviced by the Seronera airstrip.Our camp is very exclusive with only 7 luxury guest tents. All the tents are personalized and embellished in african style and culture, they offer everything you could need for an unforgettable stay.Our dedicated chef & his team are proud to serve you with a fusion of local flavors and continental cuisine.Our Staff are always on hand to guide you through your stay and make your safari experience as comfortable as possible.Asanja Africa is a responsible and committed camp towards the environment. Our camp merges into the environment and if we had ever to relocate, there would be no trace of our existence and nature would take over.We strongly believe that we are selling an ASANJA experience and not a night. Come experience the pristine wilderness of the Serengeti at Asanja Africa, where indulgent luxury, comfort & personalized attention is promised... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Asanja Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing