We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful safari experience - highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alex Walker's Serian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Alex Walker's Serian camp in the southern Serengeti had been recommended to us by our travel agent as one of the best and most reliable operators in the region, and our experience lived up to all our expectations. My partner & I stayed with Alex and his team for 6 nights in late January 2011 and managed to see pretty much every animal possible, with the sole exception of the elusive leopard. But plenty of lion, cheetah, elephant, giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, gazelle, hyenas etc. made up for that.

The Serian camp is located approx. 2 hours drive from Ndutu so, unlike the camps in the Ndutu area where we saw up to 5 jeeps surrounding any big cats, at Serian we were miles from any other tourists and had all the wildlife to ourselves. In fact the only other people nearby were the local Maasai tribes, all of whom were very friendly. Alex's description of a barely visible dirt track as their 'main road' illustrated how remote the camp was.

The camp comprised 8 'posh' tents, each with an en suite flushing toilet and hot shower. The giant beds were super comfortable and the tent was far bigger than our bedroom at home. All the furnishings, including a really soft rug and writing desk, made the tent feel very homely and it was easy to keep the netting over the entrance and windows zipped up to keep out bugs and mosquitos (although there didn't seem to be many flying bugs around).

Evening meals were taken with all the other guests around the large dining table in the main lounge tent. Despite my initial reservations this provided some very interesting and diverse conversations, perhaps reflecting the cultural background of people who are interested in (and can afford) an exclusive safari experience. During our 6 day stay the number of other guests varied from just 1-3 other couples, creating a very friendly and intimate camp. Despite the remote location, the food and drink (all inclusive in the price) were excellent and the alcohol was always freely available (often in quite large quantities).

As a gay couple we weren't sure how the local Tanzanian staff would react to us, but Alex and all his 25 staff at the camp made us feel extremely welcome and the service was excellent from everyone. Alex's assistant, Alexandra, in particular made the stay extremely enjoyable through her friendly chatter and willingness to help. Each day's itinerary was entirely customisable with guests choosing whether to drive or have a walking tour, with delicious picnic breakfasts and/or lunches available for those going on longer drives.

As with any safari, the amount of wildlife you see is largely dependent upon your driver & tracker. Our one negative comment on our week was that our tracker didn't seem as good a spotter as those assigned to other guests, who seemed to find it easier to spot wildlife and learnt much more about all the animals from their tracker & driver than we did. Nevertheless we did see all the wildlife we had expected and took some amazing photos (minimum 300mm lens is essential).

Overall, we can highly recommend Serian. It is expensive but our holiday was a wonderful experience and we are so glad we didn't go with one of the cheaper options.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riverside-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 184 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

We spent a fantastic 3 days at Alex's Serengeti camp in its southern location (its December-April site) at the end of the safari week of our honeymoon. It was a wonderful 3 days in an amazing location.
he tents are super comfortable and I was amazed that we got running water and flush toilets in such a remote location. (Having said that, you need to order your hot water to be delivered to you, so if this is a problem you're probably looking at the wrong place). There is a lot to do if you're up for some exploring, equally it was very relaxing sitting on the super-comfortable couches in one of the two relaxation/dining tents with drinks and soft tunes coming from the Ipod dock. For our more energetic moments we were offered (and tried most of) a complement of driving safaris, walking safaris, walks with Maasai trackers, a drive/hike up to a local ridgeline for a sundowner or a night of fly camping and a visit to the local Maasai village (complete with a visit inside one of the homes) which was wonderful.
The best part however was the truly personal service and guiding from Alex and his staff, capped off by some amazing food (even more amazing considering it was all cooked outdoors). We had such a wonderful time - capped off by sitting under the stars in front of our tent in a copper bathtub with our own private campfire on our last evening in camp. Truly magical and we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

My wife and I recently returned from a two week trip in Tanzania that concluded with 3 nights at Alex Walker's Serian Serengeti North Camp. My only regret is that we did not spend more time at Alex's place. It had better wildlife viewing, better guides, better accommodations, better food, and a better ambiance than any of the other camps we stayed at on safari (we spent our other time on Mt. Kilimanjaro and in the Ngorongoro Crater and Lake Manyara National Park).

Wildlife: The camp was situated near the Mara River. There were wildebeast everywhere, including all around the camp and on every game drive we did. We were fortunate to see three different crossings of the River. The wildebeasts were only the tip of the iceberg, however. We saw plenty of lion, leopards, mating leopards, a black rhino and her baby, buffalo, seemingly hundreds of elephants, and so much more. We easily saw more wildlife on each day that we were there than on the previous safari days in the crater and Lake Manyara N.P. combined. There were fewer other tourist vehicles around as well.

Camp: I can't possibly give the camp enough praise. The atmosphere is warm and inviting from the moment you arrive. Our guides (Ombeni and Michael) greeted us at the airstrip and immediately took us on a short game drive. After that, once we arrived at the camp, we were offered drinks and/or tea and shown to our tent. The tent is extremely large with very high ceilings and an incredibly comfortable bed. The bathroom had a wash basin, a flush toilet, and a bucket shower with hot water. It seemed that every detail was accounted for.

Perhaps the best part about the camp was its size. There were only two other client couples with us when we were there (and I think there is space for a few more only). This ensured that we each would have our own truck and guides for each day. We all ate dinner together every night, swapping stories about what we had seen during the day and about our lives. Alex was there too, which added so much to the experience. Dinner always was preceded by drinks and snacks around the campfire -- a great way to unwind.

I could go on and on about Serian Serengeti North, but the essential point is this: Stay here. You'll never forget it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Our family was there in August of this year and had the most amazing experiences! Our "back yard" was literally the open vastness of the Serengeti! From seeing a hyena loping past our camp at dusk to a herd of 31 elephants leisurely walking through at will... and sitting at the campfire at night and listening to the bull hippos fighting over a girl.... the only sadness i experienced was leaving after 3 short nights. I am currently planning a trip back to the very same camp with three girlfriends, but this time staying for two weeks.... I am already buying my journals that I will write all my feelings down in... it was a life changing experience that you simply can't put into words and i simply can't wait to share it with my friends!! Worth every penny!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyKrahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Our family of seven (yes, 5 teenage kids!) visited Alex Walker’s Serian Serengeti camp in August 2010 and next time we stay it will be for a full week at least. The whole experience was just the best possible in terms of comfort, excitement, learning and the warmth of their welcome. Alex Walker is an expert on the wildlife of the Serengeti who is passionate about the subject, a charming host and engaging teacher. He leads a supporting team who guided, fed, served and protected us to perfection.

The camp is in the northern Serengeti and near to the Mara river in an area that offered plenty of wildlife and was not over-run with visitors. In fact on the first day we were lucky enough to see all the “big five” and in the whole day only one other party. Compared to other places we have visited this was fantastic. It felt as if the whole park was there just for us, and we had all the time in the World.

The camp was very comfortable. Large tents with lovely beds, flushing toilets and bucket showers that they would refill as and when you wanted. Laundry was done for next morning. Woken in the morning with tea, coffee or chocolate as you wished. Fantastic fresh picnic meals for breakfast and lunch during the day. Evening sundowners at the camp fire. The evening meals were a tasty mixture of local and western recipes with good quality wines included, great conversation and a very relaxed atmosphere.

We were there to see the wildlife, and were not to be disappointed. This year the wildebeest had travelled north to Kenya in early July, but came back across the river while we were there in late August. One time we could see, we estimated, 80,000 animals from the hillside we were sitting on. We watched thousands in a herd coming to the river and backing off, each waiting to the first to take the plunge. Another day we drove through a woodland and counted 250 elephants in family groups from age about 4 weeks to 80 years, all on the move to some destination they had in mind. We saw two different Rhinos, several buffalo, many lions, a lone leopard and a family of cheetahs contributed to the excitement. Lots of Hippo and of course hundreds of zebras, giraffes and antelopes of various species. We watched vultures trying but unable to take off due to being too stuffed, and eagles soaring as only they can. We even watched an episode between a lion and a honey badger which the lion did not win.

Add to all of this that Alex got our 13 and 15 year old sons driving the 4x4s across the savannah, he spent much energy giving our older children valuable teaching in how to photograph in Africa (Alex really is a great photographer) and his Maasai camp guards taught our children bow hunting skills in the few spare hours we had in camp and you will understand why, next time, we will be back for much, much more.

This is not an inexpensive camp. But it is the best value for money that I’ve ever had in Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

In July 2010 we stayed at this bush camp for four days (much too short!!). It's situated (between June and October) in a wonderful part of the Serengeti North. So quiet, you felt part of nature. We saw, I think, hundreds of thousands of wildebeest, but also elephants coming to the camp as if they're paying you a visit and say 'hello - good morning; how-are-you'.
We had wonderful game drives and nothing is too much, our driver and spotter were searching continuously trying to find as much different species as possible (and there are a lot..).
The cook and his team did a fantastic job, noticing the circumstances they had to work in. Gordon Ramsey could learn something here, how to cook a wonderful meal in the middle of nowhere in the bush.
The team were all very polite and friendly and trying hard to keep everything on the go.
Alex is a wonderful host and in the evening by the campfire he can tell all kinds of facts and exciting stories of wildlife as he has spent his whole life wandering and exploring the bush.
The tents were all very cozy and clean, even your laundry is done for free!
What more is there to say.. We had an unforgettable experience and won't forget those lovely days in Serengeti North. We will certainly go back there or in one of the other camps of Alex Walker's Serian.
So when you're planning a trip to the Serengeti this is the place to be for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemiek0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCands, Public Relations Manager at Alex Walker's Serian, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
103.6 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
327 reviews
73.0 mi away
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
#46 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
23 reviews
127.5 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
122.8 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#11 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
245 reviews
53.5 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#26 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
183 reviews
65.6 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#13 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Walker's Serian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Walker's Serian

Address: Serengeti National Park | Close to Seketeti Escarpment, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $1,945 - $1,993 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A seasonal camp located close to the "great migration" best suited to those with an adventurous spirit who seek out raw and real experience.Alex Walker’s Serian - Serengeti flaunts a sense of spirited style. An authentic and intimate East African bush camp; that allows you to flee the bustle of contemporary life & experience a blend of untamed Africa in traditional tented splendour! Tanzania’s celebrated Serengeti hosts the last great concentration of mixed wildlife in Africa, best known for its migration of nearly two million Wildebeest. "Simply put, the very best game viewing in the world today." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alex Walker`s Serian - Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing