We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
207
10
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
207
10
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate vehiclenorth campmobile campsafari experiencemara rivercopper bathbucket showerother guestswildebeest migrationgame drivesnorthern serengetilake eyasiflora and faunafly campingafrican animalsfinding wildlifeopen plains
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 221 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you want to experience a remote part of the Serengeti, Serian is the place. The camp is two hours by road from the Ndutu airstrip. There is no fence and it is common for animals to pass through at night while you sleep. On two of the nights we heard lions in the distance (although they sounded close). During the game drives you will not see crowds of other jeeps with tourists – just incredible wildlife and local Massai going about their day.

The tents are very spacious and comfortable. There is a queen bed, two nightstands, desk, and couch. Outside, there is a covered porch with a day bed, chair, and small table. There are lights and electrical outlets where you can plug in a computer, camera charger, etc. There is no heat or fans, but at the time of year we were there (mid-March), the climate was very comfortable. During the day, open all of the flaps and let the breeze come through. At night, close the flaps and throw on some warm jammies. (Tip: it is chilly in the early morning, so it is best to shower in the afternoon or evening.) The view from our tent was wonderful – we could see the plains and wildebeest in the distance. The sunset was also beautiful.

The bathroom / dressing area is also large – there are hanging shelves and a clothes rack with hangars and robes. The vanity has a large mirror and basin. On the floor, there is a bucket with water to use for washing in the basin. You will also have a bottle of filtered water for teeth brushing. The room has a regular, flush toilet in a separate area with a zippered flap. Next to it is the indoor shower, which has a wood floor and zippered flap. When you are ready to take a shower, advise the staff and they will bring heated water and fill the indoor shower container. There is also an outdoor shower with cold water.

The main lounge / dining tent has comfortable sofas, coffee tables, and books, along with a large dining table. There is also a self-serve beverage area with cold drinks, hot tea, and a bar. (There was also plenty of fresh bottled water to drink in the tent at all times.) You can also sit outside on the covered porch and use the binoculars look at the plains and spot wildebeest and brightly colored birds. If you are looking for souveniers, check out the wonderful handmade jewelry and fly swatters (very useful) from the local Massai (all proceeds go to the Massai).

One of the things we liked best about Serian is the flexibility for meals and activities. Dinner is family style at 8:00 PM, preceded by cocktails and bites fireside at 7:00 PM. Other than that, you can eat breakfast and lunch when and where you please. Each night at dinner, Girard asks your plans for the next day so he can advise the staff of your meal times / location and wake up call. If you like, the staff will deliver coffee, tea, or hot chocolate to the tent for your wakeup call. You can eat breakfast and lunch in camp or during the game drive.

There are a lot of things to do at Serian. The activity options include game drives, bush hikes, a visit to a Massai family, and day trips to places like Ngorongoro Crater. The staff brings beverages and snacks or a meal on the excursions. You will have your own guide and spotter, so you can do as much or as little as you want during your stay. This is a huge perk!

When we landed at Ndutu air strip, our guide and spotter were waiting and we headed out for a game drive. Along the way, we stopped for a picnic lunch. The open plains on the way to the camp were filled with more wildebeest than one can count, along with zebra, giraffe, and many other animals. We really enjoyed the bush hike where we learned about local plants from the Massai who accompanied us. They also showed us how to make a fire and shoot a bow and arrow. Another day, we visited the home of one of the Massai who works at the camp.

Serian is a comfortable, intimate base to enjoy the spectacular Serengeti scenery and wildlife at your own pace. We really enjoyed our stay.

If you would like to read about what we did in the Serengeti and see safari travel tips, please visit our travel blog, www.latitudeb.com/serengeti/.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LoriBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is, by all accounts a very good camp. There are a few that get it just right,what stopped me from giving the highest marks were the inconsistencies that we encountered. Hot water flasks one day and not the next. Shower ordered for two always ended up to be for one, the food, while good, repetitive.yes, this is the middle of nowhere but other camps we stayed at got it all perfect.
Tanzania is way behind in terms of Safari as compared to other places East Africa. If the country understands that it is all about creating an overall experience, then they will get it right eventually

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived in Ndutu and were met by the excellent Michael who informed us the road to Alex Walker's main camp was impassable and we would go to small camp and do a driving safara. We were not happy about this as we had been in the opulant Singiti lodge in the North and already experienced a driving safari and wanted more of an adventure so insisted we try to get to main camp. It took eight hours and we had to be dug out over five times but it was an adventure and we had a cold box of beers so didn't really mind and it was really worth the trip when we arrived.
Alex and Bilie are wonderful, Alex the best guide and Billie a marvellous host, both are charismatic and a good laugh. In the evening, after our marathon journey, we went for a walk and the Masai tried to teach our kids how to track lion and shoot arrows with varied success. The next day Alex took us for a walk and told us about the flora and fauna around the camp. Later that morning we were taken on a tour of the local Masai village which was both fascinating and unsettling. In the evening we went on another walking safari up the hill behind the camp. It was stunning. We saw giraffe, zebra, two male cheetahs and hartebeast. We finished the walk scrambling up a (quite lethal especially in the rain) rock for a sundowner and a magnificent view. The food in the camp is delicious and it was great to meet the other guests who were an interesting bunch.
If you want a comfortable, fun adventure I would definitely recommend you visit Alex Walker's camps, if you are after hairdryers and Ralph Lauren styled tents this may not be the camp for you. For my family, however, it was definitely worth the Milk Tray journey through saturated conditions especially as our drive back to Lake Manyara airport (we couldn't face the other way again) was ravishing too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizadups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Serengeti Mara region and the Serian North camp both proved to be highlights of our two week safari in Northern Tanzania. We were met at Kogatende airstip by our driver/spotter team, Madebe and Sadala, and within minutes were in the middle of zebra, giraffe and wildebeest. The camp is in a perfect location only a few kilometers from the airstrip and the Mara River. Most days we started out early taking breakfast and lunch with us as we were there to witness a river crossing. The second day we were able to see two crossings each estimated to be 5,000 wildebeest and lasting nearly an hour....an unbelievable site. It's all about timing, rain and luck as there were no other crossings the rest of the week. Game viewing in the area is superb in October. We saw cheetah, a leopard and several lion prides all in one day. We were also within 60 meters of two black rhinos.

Gerrard, the camp manager, is a gracious host and ensured that our stay was quite comfortable. Madebe, our driver/guide, and Sadala, our spotter, were excellent at finding the game we were looking for as well as a wealth of knowledge. They always tried to put us in the best spots for photo opportunities.

The camp itself is classified as a luxury mobile tented camp and did not disappoint. Spacious tents with ensuite bathroom/showers including flush toilets. Our driver would radio in at the end of the day to arrange for our bucket shower to be filled with hot water when we arrived at our tent. Coffee/tea and hot water for the basin were delivered each morning per your instructions. Very comfortable beds including hot water bottles to warm them in the evening. The food was excellent. Each evening all the guests would meet around the campfire for drinks before dinner was served around one large candlelit dining table, also a highlight at the end of each day. The service provided by all the staff was excellent.

Serian Serengeti North includes your own individual driver/spotter and vehicle, drinks and laundry service in the price. The special offer of staying 4 nights for the price of 3 also made for an excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

You have to go here, I went to the camp when it was in the South and cannot recommend it enough. Quite simply the experience of a lifetime. I went with my 14 year old son and from the minute we arrived I knew we were going to have an amazing time. (The owner, Alex Walker, taught my son to drive in one of the 4x4 jeeps, one of the highlights for him as he went charging down a dirt track!) The camp itself is beautiful, the tents so, so comfortable, with lovely furniture and a far cry from any camping that I know. The attention to detail is what impressed me most, lovely crisp sheets, hot water bottles at night, fresh coffee brought to you in the morning. The wildlife was truly exceptional, too many highlights to list but seeing a one day old elephant in the wild was extraordinary and has to have a mention. The guides were so friendly and knowledgable, and each safari brought its own excitements, cheetahs, hyenas, wild dog and herds and herds of wildebeest. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. After an early morning safari, breakfast was served out of the back of the jeep and eaten whilst watching the giraffes grazing, back to camp for a delicious lunch, perhaps a walking safari in the afternoon, sundowners at magic hour set up overlooking the plains one night, overlooking a lake the next, a glass of wine sitting around the camp fire and then a delicious dinner. Exceptional.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews