We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost there”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alex Walker's Serian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is, by all accounts a very good camp. There are a few that get it just right,what stopped me from giving the highest marks were the inconsistencies that we encountered. Hot water flasks one day and not the next. Shower ordered for two always ended up to be for one, the food, while good, repetitive.yes, this is the middle of nowhere but other camps we stayed at got it all perfect.
Tanzania is way behind in terms of Safari as compared to other places East Africa. If the country understands that it is all about creating an overall experience, then they will get it right eventually

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 193 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived in Ndutu and were met by the excellent Michael who informed us the road to Alex Walker's main camp was impassable and we would go to small camp and do a driving safara. We were not happy about this as we had been in the opulant Singiti lodge in the North and already experienced a driving safari and wanted more of an adventure so insisted we try to get to main camp. It took eight hours and we had to be dug out over five times but it was an adventure and we had a cold box of beers so didn't really mind and it was really worth the trip when we arrived.
Alex and Bilie are wonderful, Alex the best guide and Billie a marvellous host, both are charismatic and a good laugh. In the evening, after our marathon journey, we went for a walk and the Masai tried to teach our kids how to track lion and shoot arrows with varied success. The next day Alex took us for a walk and told us about the flora and fauna around the camp. Later that morning we were taken on a tour of the local Masai village which was both fascinating and unsettling. In the evening we went on another walking safari up the hill behind the camp. It was stunning. We saw giraffe, zebra, two male cheetahs and hartebeast. We finished the walk scrambling up a (quite lethal especially in the rain) rock for a sundowner and a magnificent view. The food in the camp is delicious and it was great to meet the other guests who were an interesting bunch.
If you want a comfortable, fun adventure I would definitely recommend you visit Alex Walker's camps, if you are after hairdryers and Ralph Lauren styled tents this may not be the camp for you. For my family, however, it was definitely worth the Milk Tray journey through saturated conditions especially as our drive back to Lake Manyara airport (we couldn't face the other way again) was ravishing too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizadups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Serengeti Mara region and the Serian North camp both proved to be highlights of our two week safari in Northern Tanzania. We were met at Kogatende airstip by our driver/spotter team, Madebe and Sadala, and within minutes were in the middle of zebra, giraffe and wildebeest. The camp is in a perfect location only a few kilometers from the airstrip and the Mara River. Most days we started out early taking breakfast and lunch with us as we were there to witness a river crossing. The second day we were able to see two crossings each estimated to be 5,000 wildebeest and lasting nearly an hour....an unbelievable site. It's all about timing, rain and luck as there were no other crossings the rest of the week. Game viewing in the area is superb in October. We saw cheetah, a leopard and several lion prides all in one day. We were also within 60 meters of two black rhinos.

Gerrard, the camp manager, is a gracious host and ensured that our stay was quite comfortable. Madebe, our driver/guide, and Sadala, our spotter, were excellent at finding the game we were looking for as well as a wealth of knowledge. They always tried to put us in the best spots for photo opportunities.

The camp itself is classified as a luxury mobile tented camp and did not disappoint. Spacious tents with ensuite bathroom/showers including flush toilets. Our driver would radio in at the end of the day to arrange for our bucket shower to be filled with hot water when we arrived at our tent. Coffee/tea and hot water for the basin were delivered each morning per your instructions. Very comfortable beds including hot water bottles to warm them in the evening. The food was excellent. Each evening all the guests would meet around the campfire for drinks before dinner was served around one large candlelit dining table, also a highlight at the end of each day. The service provided by all the staff was excellent.

Serian Serengeti North includes your own individual driver/spotter and vehicle, drinks and laundry service in the price. The special offer of staying 4 nights for the price of 3 also made for an excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

You have to go here, I went to the camp when it was in the South and cannot recommend it enough. Quite simply the experience of a lifetime. I went with my 14 year old son and from the minute we arrived I knew we were going to have an amazing time. (The owner, Alex Walker, taught my son to drive in one of the 4x4 jeeps, one of the highlights for him as he went charging down a dirt track!) The camp itself is beautiful, the tents so, so comfortable, with lovely furniture and a far cry from any camping that I know. The attention to detail is what impressed me most, lovely crisp sheets, hot water bottles at night, fresh coffee brought to you in the morning. The wildlife was truly exceptional, too many highlights to list but seeing a one day old elephant in the wild was extraordinary and has to have a mention. The guides were so friendly and knowledgable, and each safari brought its own excitements, cheetahs, hyenas, wild dog and herds and herds of wildebeest. Nothing was ever too much trouble for any of the staff. After an early morning safari, breakfast was served out of the back of the jeep and eaten whilst watching the giraffes grazing, back to camp for a delicious lunch, perhaps a walking safari in the afternoon, sundowners at magic hour set up overlooking the plains one night, overlooking a lake the next, a glass of wine sitting around the camp fire and then a delicious dinner. Exceptional.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Whether its the romantic notion of an old fashioned safari or simply a romantic safari you have in mind, Alex Walker's Serian mobile camp makes it all come to life. The canvas tents are elegantly furnished evoking images of a luxury safari from a bygone era. Whilst soaking in the huge steamy copper bath by candlelight, surrounded by the expanse of serengeti you being to imagine yourselves as the intrepid explorers with only the sounds of the animals for company.

As a couple, family or group or perhaps a fanatical photographer the benefit of having your own private vehicle is a huge plus. You are in charge of your own agenda, whether it be trying to track down an elusive leopard or wait patiently for the iconic river crossing, you will not have to compromise.

Rather than repeat all the great comments in the earlier reviews below, I will only say what a memorable time we had. The accomadation, the hosts and staff, the food, the guides, the wildlife and all the other little surprises made our stay special!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

In the search for a safari experience, you will no doubt view so many websites that they will all start to run together. Your travel agent also will no doubt fill your inbox with suggestions and endless possibilities. With that in mind, my simple advice is this: do not make the mistake of missing an opportunity to visit Alex Walker's Serian. Expert guides and perfect location (location, location) will give you the absolute best opportunity to step into your favorite nature documentaries on the great migration and the Serengeti itself. The accommodations are as good as they come, the support staff attentive and friendly - giving a genuine sense of service and the food was excellent. Special arrangements come together seamlessly ( I celebrated my 30th birthday at Serian) and while it's a small detail, when you return to camp for a well earned rest, you can plug in your iPhone and listen to your favorite music (I think I might have left-out the sunset bathtub). When we, arrived Alex said "If you can make yourself feel at home here, you're on the right track." In fact, that was easy, the only hard part was leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idontlistentogaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Sometimes you come across a place that is just magical and Serian certainly fits this description. Nestled in the Serengeti Mara you will find a small, intimate camp with custom luxury tents, great food and even better people. The personal guides are very friendly and knowledgeable and ensure you will see tons of game. In fact, we saw more game here than on any other part of our African experience. If you want to see a Wildebeest river crossing (which is something not to be missed), Alex's team will ensure you experience this amazing scene. Alex is a wonderful host and will accommodate you in any way he can; it really feels like you are at home when staying at Serian. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling in Tanzania...5 stars does not even do this place justice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natdev84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
54.5 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#9 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
291 reviews
103.6 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#16 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
336 reviews
74.2 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.3 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#6 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
528 reviews
53.5 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#23 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
194 reviews
32.5 mi away
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
#38 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Walker's Serian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Walker's Serian

Address: Serengeti National Park | Close to Seketeti Escarpment, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $1,967 - $1,994 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A seasonal camp located close to the "great migration" best suited to those with an adventurous spirit who seek out raw and real experience.Alex Walker’s Serian - Serengeti flaunts a sense of spirited style. An authentic and intimate East African bush camp; that allows you to flee the bustle of contemporary life & experience a blend of untamed Africa in traditional tented splendour! Tanzania’s celebrated Serengeti hosts the last great concentration of mixed wildlife in Africa, best known for its migration of nearly two million Wildebeest. "Simply put, the very best game viewing in the world today." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alex Walker`s Serian - Serengeti Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing