We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World Class not just 1st Class”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serengeti Bushtops Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“World Class not just 1st Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

From beginning to end our stay in the Serengeti BushTops was magnificent. As this was the second part of our honeymoon (we had already stayed in the Mara Bushtops) it did not disappoint at all. The tents are spacious and fully appointed, the view is breathtaking, the personal room service exceptional and the food excellent. Your welcome will be warm and sincere and you will not want for anything. As honeymooners
we got the tent furthest away (wonder why?) which is a shortish walk but not overly so.

Once you get over all this, then sit back and relax while you get taken and shown some of the best wildlife in the world. We marveled at two Cheater brothers hunting in the grass - and there was not another soul around for hours.

Finally, our 'special surprise' was amazing and will remain as a part of our memories for ever more

Andy and Claudia, you have created something very special - don't change a thing

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt_Kaz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
125
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winterton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

The unique and refreshing design of the tents and camp, the outstanding service, willingness and enthusiasm of the staff and the exceptional food all stand out at Serengeti Bushtops! All in all a superb destination that quite simply is a must visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Our visit to Serengeti Bushtops started in style with the flight from Arusha to Kogatende. We flew with TFC and had a great pilot called Rian. Flying over flocks of flamingoes on Lake Manyara was a thrill and we lucky to have a clear view over the Ngorogoro crater. It was spectacular! At Kogatende we were met by our Bushtops guide and spotter who had refreshments ready for us.
We crossed the Mara River on a causeway and had a short game drive on the other side, within half an hour we had seen cheetah and lots of lions with cubs!
We then drove to the camp through the beautiful Serengeti, with high grass, called “Seregetti Chockolade” beautifully waving in the winds. The grass was high but we still managed to see plenty of game. A warm welcome awaited us at the camp and we soon relaxed in style in the gorgeous tent. Hot tubs and massages were enjoyed and a magnificent sound and light show courtesy of Mother Nature, entertained us in the evening before dinner.
The migration was not far away, so the next day we had lunch amidst tens of thousands of wildebeest and zebra. The whole experience was enhanced by the knowledge and enthusiasm of our guide Kokan.
The tents are well spaced at the camp, but this gives more privacy and everyone is escorted when it is dark. Our top tips: take at least one fleece, even better if it has a hood, the early mornings are surprisingly chilly; and leave some room for desserts, Pasquelina is a genius!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toveostrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is a very special, upmarket tented-camp. It is only about 1 year old and has made it's mark on this market. It is on the conservancy and about 1 hour from the landing strip. On arrival at the camp, we were introduced to the manager, who explained in details the information we needed regarding life at camp. He was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

This is a small camp, with the tents situated far apart from each other to provide privacy. Our tent faced the bush and valley below. It was obvious that there were no barriers between us and the animal wildlife. We were to be escorted to and from our tents by Masai watchmen during the evenings and early mornings. Our butler showed us to our room and gave us the lowdown. He was extremely attentive and very helpful. The 'bedroom' is designed to give guests a luxurious stay while still keeping the atmosphere of a tent in the bush. Linens are the finest, chocolates on pillows at night, turn down service with hot water bottles snuggly placed between the sheets at night. Flashlights and a safe in the tent make life very comfortable. The bathroom and shower are delightful, with the ability to open the shower wall to the deck and a full view of the bush in front.

We had 2 massages on our deck. Listening to the birds while receiving a massage was so relaxing. The only request I made of my masseuse, Sharon, was that she keep her eyes open incase of any large cats passing by! The hot tub on the deck and the comfy couches adds to the feel. If you'd like a hot tub after a long day in the bush, the guides will call ahead to ask that your butler begin filling it so that when you return, the tub is full.

Meals are served in the main tent but you can also order them on the deck of your tent. The meals are healthy and there is a large-enough choice of food - even if you're a vegetarian. We don't eat meat or shellfish and we were never lacking for choices. There is a large selection of wonderful wines and beers. Before dinner is served, the trackers campfire is a wonderful place to sit, drink and socialize with other guests and staff.

Our guide was amazing and we spent 3 long days out tracking animals and even chasing the migrating herds. Nothing was a hassle or difficult to arrange. On one day we took breakfast and lunch with us and picnic'd out until sunset.

Dress is very casual. Internet connections are spotty at best. I would highly recommend this camp.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying in the Dik Dik tent or one of those adjacent. The others are quite a walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longtimetraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Everything was just perfect!
We enjoyed every second of our much too short stay.
Very friendly and attentive staff.

Room Tip: We were in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

Serengeti Bushtops took my breath away with the level of service that they provide while staying there on my honeymoon. Whether it was the massages, 24 hour butler service, the campfire, delicious food, the luxurious "tents" with hot tub, and an amazing cuisine, this place was nothing short of extrordinary in terms of amentities.
The actual safari was a blast as well. We got to see Lions, Elephants, Giraffes, Zebras, Armadillos, Hyenas (sp?) and many others that were easily spotted by our wonderful tour guide Jaffery.
If I had to pick one thing that was a bit of a downer, was the hour drive we had to take before seeing any animals of note. This was probably due to the tall grass that surrounds the camp during June and July. During other months, I think this is not an issue and I would take that drive any day of the week if it meant I would get to stay at Bushtops...
Also, if it gets cold, they place hot water packets in your bed making it nice and warm right when you get under the covers.
Top Notch!

Room Tip: If you have an issue with walking, ask for tent nearest to lodge since you will be walking to it eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydenemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

A guide from Serengeti Bushtops was there to welocme us as our small plane taxied to a halt at Kogatende airstrip. After a refreshing cup of coffee we set off for the camp, a game drive in itself rather than a "transfer". Nearing the camp we spotted elephants and slowed down to watch them; as we moved along we saw more and more, there must have been over a hundred, the biggest herd our guide Kokan had seen. We gradually became aware that the situation was becoming threatening and Kokan drove away off road to avoid a confrontation. What an exciting start to our visit!
At the camp we were greeted by the Manager, Pantaleo and his team and were shown the lounge and bar/restaurant area; it's an elegant structure of wood and metal supporting canvas sides and roof; the whole effect is of a ship in full sail, with our feet on solid timber decking listening to the canvas and ropes moving in any breeze.
It was time to have a look at our own tent, again a very beautiful structure with a huge and comfortable bed, a wonderful bathroom with all the plumbing you would expect in a 5 star hotel, and at the front, a verandah with a seating area, dining table and hot tub, all overlooking miles of unspoiled bush.
The food at the camp was excellent, with choices for each of the three courses at lunch and dinner. We were bowled over by Pascalina, the charming pastry chef, who looked stunning in immaculate whites, and her desserts were very good too!
We enjoyed our game drives with Kokan, seeing some birds and animals we had not seen elsewhere, and a large pride of lionesses with their cubs. It was lovely to drive around without coming across another vehicle.
The accomodation tents are spaced far apart which involves some walking to the main lounge / dining area; when it is dark you are escorted by a guard, local tribesmen armed with bows and arrows.
We were very sorry to leave after our two night stay, definitely not long enough, and we would love to return. Our thanks to everyone who made our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Safarigoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
39.9 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
22.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
35.1 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#21 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#14 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
29.1 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
31.9 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#5 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Bushtops Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Bushtops Camp

Property: Serengeti Bushtops Camp
Address: Wogakuria 10, north western Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 14708, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:5 star — Serengeti Bushtops Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Tanzanian haven for serious safari seekers, Serengeti Bushtops is an oasis of 5-star luxury within one of the world's most magical settings. Picture yourself gazing out over the stunning scenery of the Serengeti. Imagine returning from safari and watching the sun set from the comfort of your tent's private hot tub. Consider the thrill of watching the annual migration thunder across the mighty Mara river. Or simply revel in the thought of being pampered by your butler and our friendly staff, before enjoying our fabulous cooking and fine wines in the comfort of our restaurant and shared spaces. This combination of safari adventure, first class facilities and blissful relaxation has delivered Serengeti Bushtops' unwavering promise of Wild Luxury ever since we opened in June 2010. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serengeti Bushtops Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing