We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real "Out of Africa" experience - not for the faint-hearted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ronjo Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ronjo Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Monceaux sur Dordogne
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A real "Out of Africa" experience - not for the faint-hearted!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived under black skies and with zebra all around the camp! Half an hour later, a storm broke, the heavens opened and the camp site became a running river........but the "boys" were not fazed! Once it stopped raining, they brought us our shower water and got stuck into cleaning up....with a smile! Unfortunately for us, there was only one other couple the first night and only us the 2nd, which impacted on the overall ambiance. Despite the storm, they came up trumps with a birthday cake and singing! The most memorable part was the zebras munching right outside the tent at 4 a.m., the lions in the distance and the hyenas "laughing" within the camp at night. A REAL safari experience but not for the faint-hearted! For the overall experience, we give it a 5, because it was So "Out of Africa". We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChezArchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    27
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joliette, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I spent three nights at Ronjo Camp while on a photo safari and as it happened, I celebrated my birthday there.
Ronjo is a wonderful place with that ''Out of Africa'' feeling. The tents are clean and, considering this is virtually in the middle of nowhere, offer every comfort such as : hot showers, electrical lighting, and good if plain, meals.
The night is filled with African noises, and the sunsets are gorgeous.
An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This camp is truely in THE middel of nowhere. It is à semipermanent camp, about 10 tents, with à central meal, lounge tent. THE tents are basic but very comfortable And clean. We feit very safe as THEre are masai keeping an eye on THE area at night. We heard widerbeast And zebra eating outside out tent at night. This place is THE closest we felt to THE animals in their natural habitat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumatrastraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

our stay at ronjo camp was ok.
we really enjoyed the nights in the middle of the serengeti listening to wild animals standing right next to our tent. after a whole day of safari we also enjoyed sitting at the firplace and letting the day pass by again.
the tents are basic, very clean with flushing toilet and shower. we really would have appreciated knowing in advance, that there would not be any hair shampoo in any of the camps. paying that much money, we would have expectet that.
the food was not too good, so was the staff.
if not for the great nights, we would not recommend the tented camp for that much money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivacolonia2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the rustic Ronjo after a night at the luxiourus Olduvai so it was definitely a change. However, it must not be forgotten that Ronjo is a semi-permanent camp that is literally in the middle of the Sergengeti. If you stay here, you will likely see a giraffe or a zebra walking by Ronjo while enjoying your morning coffee or hearing the lions roaring and the hyennas laughing while chatting with fellow guests over dinner! If this is the authentic experience you are looking for, then you'll love Ronjo. Also the tents are equipped with flushing toilets and the staff brings a barell of hot water every evening for a hot (or atleast a very warm!) shower. The staff is friendly and the food is also quite good. All in all, a great stay in an amazing location!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This was our fourth accommodation of a safari organized by Tankanyka Expedition (we stay at Mawe Ninga camp, bashay rift lodge and olduvai camp).
Ronjo is the most rustic camp (it is a semi-permanent camp) where we stayed: it is really in the middle of Serengeti and it is really surrounded by animals (zebras, wildebeests and hyenas). Indeed I loved the camp location: I enjoyed the outstanding sunrise and, most of all, hearing the sounds of the night! We woke up at 4 a.m. because there was a zebra eating right outside the tent: it was an amazing experience!!!
Dinner was good, too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Illy1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We had 2 nights at this camp and thought it was just right. The location of the camp was perfect, so close to all the wildlife (animals grazing 100m from your tent) so that you got up and saw animals straight away. The tents themselves were very spacious and comfortable. The shower holds more than enough water for 2 people to shower (even with hair washing) and the jug for water gives a really rusic feeling to the place.

The food was good, and the staff did their best however there was some level of language barrier but nothing that couldn't be overcome with a smile. This place is run by local people and Maasi and as such should not be judged on western standards.

The main point of this camp however is the wild life. We saw everything and more than we had hoped. Large herds of elephant, hunting lions, leopards with a kill (3 times!) and all the other fantastic wildlife you could hope for (just the rihno aluded us).

I would firmly recommend this camp to anyone who wants to feel out in the wilderness, a real safari experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
0.0 mi away
Ilboru Safari Lodge
Ilboru Safari Lodge
#4 of 149 in Arusha
646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moivaro Lodge
Moivaro Lodge
#14 of 149 in Arusha
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#64 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#29 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kia Lodge – Kilimanjaro Airport
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ronjo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ronjo Tented Camp

Property: Ronjo Tented Camp
Address: near Seronera Wildlife Lodge, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing