We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is my idea of a "tent"!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
312 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“This is my idea of a "tent"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Wooden floors, private bathroom and shower, spacious accommodations, laundry service, and wine included in the cost are my way of "camping"! Excellent service, delicious food, and an assigned attendant make for a comfortable and memorable experience. A wake up call includes coffee and biscuit brought to your tent. The service was beyond attentive. Appetizers are offered before dinner and is a nice way to relax at the fire with a glass of wine with other guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Jeana
Thank you for your lovely review on Trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed our stay so much and that our tent delivery of tea and coffee was so appreciated.

I do hope we will see you again

Warm regards

Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
87
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This tented lodge surpassed my expectations. Since the arrival to the main tent with an open bar, the dining room and the living room, we were delighted with the reception and the elegant furniture. The room was comfortable and the furniture was tasteful. We felt that we were in a dream safari, with all the luxury and the adventure one is looking forward in a trip like this. The "talking shower", the Masai guards, the fire in the night, the giraffes walking by, the noise of lions while we were sleeping, everything made it special and unforgettable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank IMRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Regional Sales Manager at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Lemala Ewanjan. Reading it put me right there with the only difference when I was there it wasn't the giraffe walking by but the wildebeest but the talking showers and the bush tv is fabulous and such great fun. I hope the rest of your trip was fantastic and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards

Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed one night at Lemala Ewanjan and I could have stayed a week! It was the last tented camp on our 8 day safari and my favorite. The tents are large, comfortable and well appointed, and the view of the Serengeti from them is amazing. The campfire before dinner allows you an opportunity to meet the other guests staying there and dining around one large table 'family style' truly adds to the pleasant ambience. Met some like minded and interesting guests and enjoyed an excellent meal with multiple courses. The 'chef' visited at the end of the meal.

The staff were all very helpful and walking back to the tent (we were one of the furthest away from the dining room) was magical with the stars shining brightly above us.

We were awakened in the morning with coffee and biscuits and I was saddened to leave this beautiful spot. Highly recommend it to those wanting a more rustic, authentic African experience.

Room Tip: Think all the tents have the same amenities, however, if travelling as a couple, ask for a king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
So lovely to read your review and I hope you can let me share it on our Facebook page or if you have a moment please add your review there too. Next time you need to stay a week as it truly is a lovely location and delighted you had a wonderful stay with us. I will be sure to let the team in Lemala Ewanjan know of this review. Once again, thank you for taking the time.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

As we drove up to this tented camp, I thought OMG this is rustic. It turned out to be the best 2 days of our two weeks. The staff couldn't do enough for you. At dusk, the campfire was ready, free drinks and hor duerves, and friendly guests mingling and meeting. Then dinner which was always exceptional. Even a "talk" shower with hot water poured into your personal shower upon appointment.When we returned from our days in the bush, we were met with a smile, a hot towel and interested questions. Nights looking out from our comfortable beds in a large open tent, seeing enormous starts and beautiful fields was one of the most outstanding stops in our 2 weeks in Taqnzania.
Norma
Centerport, N .Y.
Jan.2014

Room Tip: close to dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lemala Ewanjan. It is designed to look like it was put there just for you so am delighted that your original rustic impression was put to rest.

We have a great team there and I love the talking showers and the fire tv is lots of fun.

Should you ever visit again, I hope you will stay with us once more.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

After 2 weeks in Tanzania, our next to last stay was at the lemala camp. Can't say enough good things. The location to the Serengeti was great, the staff was friendly,nice and couldn't do enough for you. The tents were better then some of the hotels we stayed at. Anything you needed they handled w a smile. Next trip will only stay at the LeMala lodges.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review and we certainly look forward to hosting you next time throughout all our Lemala camps. The staff will be delighted with this review and will be sure to pass it on.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

The staff, like my family. Felix was the host and even left a sweet welcome letter on my bed. Loved hearing the animals at night. The evening fire was spectacular. Incredible staff and camp. Already wanting to return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelMuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I have shared your review with Felix and he had such a smile. Thank you so much for taking the time as it means so much to us and the team.

I hope we will see you again.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Fantastic staff. Beautiful countryside. Wonderful accommodation and facilities. Delicious food. The safari game drives all had surprises and brilliant wildlife. Great for leopard and cheetah spotting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica O, Director of Sales at Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is such a pleasure to read them and share them with the team. It truly makes their day. I am glad the food was up to standard and hope that you will one day return to visit us.

Warm regards


Veronica Otter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
21.3 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serenget...
#9 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
8.8 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
11.9 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#5 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
6.1 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#18 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp

Property: Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEMALA EWANJAN is a deluxe camp with 12 beautiful suite tents set within the game-rich Seronera Valley in a secluded part of Central Serengeti. The camp offers breathtaking views of the Serengeti plains and its prolific wildlife and sunsets. The Seronera valley is renowned for its year round game viewing due to its abundance of water, as well as its large population of resident cats. Between April and June and November through January the area receives the wildebeest migration, turning the area into an exciting wildlife paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing