We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Nice Tented Camp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

With very nice 7 tents, this camp it's situated in Central Serengeti, overlooking the savanna.
we stay for 2 nights in July in a very nice and big tent with two queen beds, large bathroom and bucket shower.
staff very helfull and food ok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lion02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

Spent 3 nights. Enjoyed this camp. Smallish. Food good and staff very helpful especially our from steward Elfis. Nice location but not many animals around camp. Lots of controlled burning going on. Problem with mice in camp getting into rooms but didn't bother us, we are in the bush after all!
We flew in and used Lemala guides and vehicle. Guide Edwin very new, very inexperienced and the vehicle the worst we have ever come across in over 15 safaris. Huge crack and chips in windscreen and a smashed rear screen, no roof cover, no binoculars, sand bags, books ect. I complained after 2 game drives and was told their usual vehicle was in for repair and they were making do with this one. ? Usually used for staff. A different vehicle was then brought up from Arusha overnight. Much better but still the oldest vehicle we saw around.
This area has good game but too many vehicles and no control over how many vehicles. People standing, noisy. 30 plus vehicles at one cheetah sighting and 20 plus at all cats. Being used to Southern African safaris this was very difficult for us. No tracking, seemed to be spot a vehicle and go. No off road so unless by the side of the road binoculars needed.
Based on this experience would not reccomend this area and had this been our first safari doubt if we would have gone on another.

Room Tip: Small camp. Do not use Lemala game package.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I cannot say enough positive about our experience at this camp! It was selected by our travel agent Mia Schoeman at Go2Africa.com after I told her that we wanted to experience the full range of camps in Tanzania. She did a great job selecting this camp complete with bucket showers. The food was great, the staff went above and beyond our expectations in providing the most personalized experience.and the facilities were extremely comfortable. what else can I say it was perfect! Thanks Mia and the entire Lemala Ewanjan Staff!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMK281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in May and had a wonderful time. This camp is located on a hillside overlooking the Serengeti, and provided fantastic views of the entire Savannah. We had previously stayed at Lemala Manyara (separate review), and we weren’t sure if this could match the experience, but they definitely carried on the standard of excellence.

The tents were very well appointed, and had 2 queen size beds with leather headboard and trim. They were the most comfortable beds of the tented camps we stayed in. The tents were large with writing table, end tables, storage unit, outdoor porch and patio furniture. In the morning, the porter would bring fresh coffee with your wake-up call and you could sit and enjoy your morning coffee overlooking the savannah.

There are separate bathroom and shower areas. Showers can be ordered 10 minutes in advance as the tent porters need to bring hot water to hoist up on pulleys. We would turn on the hot water, get wet, turn off the hot water, lather up, turn it on again and shower off. There is ample hot water and the porter waits outside to make sure you have enough. With more than ample room, our daughters were even able to do yoga in the morning in the open area of the tent.

What really makes the camp special is the staff. They are totally dedicated to customer service. Meals are served in a large dining tent, although when we were there it was still low season and there was only 1 other family. It was very nice to talk to other travellers to share experiences. This continued both before and after dinner with bush TV, where everyone gathers around the campfire to socialize, enjoy pre-dinner snacks and a drink, and talk about their day. All of the meals were delicious and they could rival any big city restaurant for both food and service.

We had tried Tanzanian food at Manyara and enjoyed it so we asked for it again. In addition to the normal meal that evening we had ugali with beans, plantain stew and beef stew. Everything was delicious.

There are Masaii guards on the site at all times, as you are really out in the open savannah, and animals do come very close to camp. We heard loud bellows one night, which the Masaii said were elephants that came into the camp that night.

We all loved the atmosphere in the camp, and it was a great way to spend 2 days. Wish we could have stayed longer. Would highly recommend this if tented camps are part of your safari stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank penny275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here in mid May of this year and loved every minute of it. On our 1st night we were the only guests. What service!! We were greeted with hot towels which were refreshing. After being shown around the camp and to our tent we relaxed with a nice sun downer around the fire, then dinner.
Our room steward was Elvis, who was excellent!!! He had a great personality and was very caring. All staff wanted to make our stay very memorable, which it truly was. What an excellent location, overlooking the savanna. It was a neat experience to lay in our beds and listen to the lions roar very closely. The tent had all the amenities that one could ask for while on safari, and then some. This camp was a true surprise in our group of lodge/tent camps which was excellent. I can't say enough good things about our 2 nights at Lemala Ewanjan. I'd would recommend this camp to anyone. We just loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed at Lemala Ewanjan for 2 nights in late March and had a wonderful close to our safari here. This is a beautiful permanent tented camp in an iconic Serengeti setting with broad savannah laid out before us interspersed with acacia trees big enough to make a leopard happy. The camp is Lemala's first permanent (not seasonal) tented camp to provide some competition to other permanent camps in the Seronera area. I predict big success.

The staff is delightful and hard working, and the tents are a significant upgrade over the Lemala Ngorongoro seasonal tents: 2 leather trimmed queen beds set in a large room with writing desk, upholstered chair and ample storage. A tent porch with lovely furnishings to enjoy the view. The room was very clean.

There is a large bathroom with flush toilet, running water in the sink, and bucket shower. (As an aside, while showering, there is no reason to run out of water as an attendant checks on each person through the canvas wall at the end of your shower. The proper way to take a bucket shower is to get wet, turn off the water, lather the body, and then rinse. Plenty of water for that.)

There is bush tv in the evenings before dinner with drinks and appetizers. All drinks and laundry are included in the cost. We were the only family in camp for the two nights and were treated wonderfully. One day we returned to camp for lunch to find that a table had been set outside under a tree for a nice bush meal.

I had mentioned to our guide that I would like to try some traditional Tanzanian food, so he placed an order for my dinner one night. Our waiter served me a plate of chicken stew and ugali and showed me how to eat it in the traditional manner. It was the best meal that I had in two weeks of safari! All meals were excellent.

The location of the camp is ideal in the central part of the Serengeti, near to the kopjes where the cats hang out and near to the airstrip. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wanderlust1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The camp is located on the hill side which give a good view of the small valley that is used by the traveling herds as well as a breeze. The tents are larger with a better open designed than those at the Lemala crater camp. I would think the tents are about 30 per cent bigger. The furnishing included a sitting area and dressing area along wth hardwood floors. There is a nice size bathroom with a fully functional toilet and a tent camp bucket shower with hot water. You only have to get use to talking to someone delivering the hot water on the other side of the canvas. The bathroom has a larger brass sink, mirror, large towels and toiletries.

All meals are served in the combination dinning/lounge/bar/reception tent along with the fire pit is the center of the social activities in the camp. Each evening the guests circle around the fire pit in director’s chairs and share their day’s experience while having a sundowner. This continues until one of the staff comes and announces that dinner is being served. The table is set with wine glasses, linen napkins and candles as good as any pricey restaurant that you will find in Madison Wisconsin. The waiter announces the dinner menu that consists of soup, fresh warm bread, entrée with 2 or 3 side items and dessert. Wine is offered but I do not drink so I can not speak to it quality. A buffet breakfast of fresh fruit, cereals and bread is available or you can have a full breakfast. The food for where you are (basically out in the middle of nowhere and prepared in a camp kitchen ) is fine.

The staff was most helpful and attentive. Morning coffee or breakfast will be delivered to your tent if so desired. This is not camping! Anytime you have a toilet in your tent and breakfast served in your bed you are not camping but some times some of the reviewer seem to forget where they are and want they are doing. IMO most of the time this accommodate is better than their trailer.

Power is available for camera battery charging from about 6:30pm until about 10or 11 pm. No WiFi. There is a laundry basket in the tent and items are usually returned by evening. Some amount of laundry per day is included in the daily charge but there is a charge list for extra items that is fair. There is a small up charge for some premium alcohol.

I’m sure there are more luxurious tent camps in Tanzania but at much higher pppd. This IMO was a fair value accommodations. Also I like the social atmosphere at tent camps that does not seem to occur at lodges

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crapshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
21.3 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#5 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
8.8 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
32.5 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#12 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.4 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#17 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
219 reviews
6.1 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#18 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
148 reviews
11.9 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#3 of 120 in Serengeti National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp

Address: Serengeti National Park, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $661 - $2,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEMALA EWANJAN is a deluxe camp with 12 beautiful suite tents set within the game-rich Seronera Valley in a secluded part of Central Serengeti. The camp offers breathtaking views of the Serengeti plains and its prolific wildlife and sunsets. The Seronera valley is renowned for its year round game viewing due to its abundance of water, as well as its large population of resident cats. Between April and June and November through January the area receives the wildebeest migration, turning the area into an exciting wildlife paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing