We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$206
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$390
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
$1,441
$1,397
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
Ikoma Wildcamp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Kisura Sirengeti Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
109
24
4
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
24
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstalking showertented camptent attendantother guestslarge tablenorthern serengetilife changingpolentabrilliant experiencehot watershare experiencesdrinks includedanimals walklong tablehis teameasy accessthree nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 141 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this wonderful friendly camp. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and looked after. The accommodation in luxury tents is superb with views of the Mara river form your door. Bucket showers are an experience but a luxury as well. The staff are a superb team, the food is good and drinks are included.
Communal lunch (if not on a drive) and dinner are an excellent time to meet others and share experiences.
The game drives were fantastic with a very keen guide, we were lucky and saw 4 "crossings" when ens of thousands of wildebeast cross the Mara on the migration. But we also saw lots of other animals and had the chance to watch their behaviour. To wake up and see zebra and giraffe just outside the tent and hear lions roar in the night was very special.
This part of The Serengeti is quite quiet and when you are watching a spectacle such as a crossing or lions there are only a few other vehicles.
Thank You to all at Lemala we hope we will see you again.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty in walking tent 6 is closest to the communal tent
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

i think the camp is amazing, with the sounds of wildebeest gnooing in the distance, the buildup clearly evident and charging out at irregular interviews to see the spectacle, coupled with amazing food, even more amazing staff and an incredible brand.

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing, but if you there for migration i suggest the room closest to the river, you will hear it all!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndoroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Ndoroman

If travellers to Tanzania are looking to see one of the most incredible wildlife spectacles on earth, then the north Serengeti is the place to see hundreds of thousands of wildebeest crossing the Mara river either on their way back from the Masai Mara, or on their way to it. Lemala Mara is perfectly positioned just above one of the main crossing points where guests can watch the crossings from the camp, or drive one minute to be right at the action. I am so happy that you enjoyed our camp, staff, service and food and although we are a seasonal camp, we pride ourselves in excellence on all fronts of service delivery. Thanks again for posting.

Best wishes and safe travels

Tom Yule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed the last two nights of our safari at Lemala Mara tent camp. My wife was not feeling well and the staff sent someone for medication for her. Wife stayed a camp first morning and was given tour of kitchen area where they were baking bread and dinner rolls in a charcoal oven. Watched the Wilderbeast migration across the Mara river - a sight not to be missed. Food was very good and the service and attention to detail was fantastic

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Fred S

Thank you so much for posting on Trip Advisor about your experience at Lemala Mara. I am sorry that your wife was not feeling well and missed some of the game viewing. I am happy to hear though that the staff were able to help and show her around the kitchen. Even though all of the cooking is done in a smallish tent, we pride ourselves in serving our clients incredibly delicious food at each meal. Our chefs receive training on an annual basis, where they are taught new skills in the culinary arts. We are truly blessed at having such dedicated and talented people working in our camps.

Safe travels and best wishes

Tom Yule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Lamala Mara on the last two nights of our safari and really enjoyed our stay. The location of the non-permanent tented camp was perfect for our desire to see the wildabeest migration across the Mara River and the beauty of the Serengeti. (We got to see the migration as well as lions, giraffes, hippos, hyenas, etc.). We knew we would be far north, in a remote location, far from the comforts of electricity, etc., so we really didn't know what to expect at the tented camp. Fortunately, we were pleasantly surprised.

We arrived after a long road journey with our personal guide from Access2Tanzania (you can fly there, but we chose to see the landscape and keep our personal guide, which was great). Upon arrival and every time we returned from safari, we were greeted by the staff with a choice of warm or cold wash cloth (we were always covered in dust) and a refreshing drink.

We were escorted to our tent by attendants who carried our bags and offered information on the use of the shower, lights, etc. We had one personal attendant assigned to our tent who provided coffee/tea delivered to our room, hot water for our shower, and regular water for the sink/toilet; he escorted us to/from our tent when it was dark and took care of any other request we had - excellent service. The water for the shower was perfect - nice and hot - although it did have a heavy smoke smell since it is boiled.

Our tent was the last one from the main tent (11 tents out, I think) and we felt like we were at one with nature. We could see giraffes and other game right outside. Every night, we heard lions grunting (sounded like they were right outside!) which was a bit scary and fantastic all at the same time. The tent was very nicely decorated and comfortable, with tasteful fixtures and furnishings. Impressive. The lighting is solar powered, so it's limited and dim. Flashlights are provided in the room, however, we found the use of our head lamps very helpful when looking through our bags when it was dark outside. There is no electricity, but you can charge your cell phone at the main tent.

Meals are served in the main tent. We had hearty breakfasts and nice meals in the evening. Dinner is served at one large table and everyone eats the same thing at the same time (aside from special requests, I assume). Completely understandable as you are in a remote location with limited resources and the camp needs to be efficient. Before dinner, you can enjoy a nice fire and conversation with other guests.

If we ever decide to return to the area, we would stay here again. The staff was extremely welcoming and attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xctour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Agroup of 5 of us stayed for 4nts at the wonderful seasonal tented camp in northern serengeti Lemala Mara Oct 11-15 2012. This was a wonderful surprise in terms of what this non-permanent camp offered us. Wonderful beds, the most comfortable on our safari. Delishious hot bucket showers provided by our tent attendants. The most incredible food!!! This was the biggest surprise how this chef managed to create miracles out of the small tent kitchen! Always mindful of one of our group special diet needs. Plated dinners served to perfection and beautifuly presented! The staff bent over backwards for us and made our stay special. Our guide was fun, funny and most knowledgeable. Truly a 5 star experience in the bush with the Wildebeest trying to cross the Mara River, wonderful location. I cannot wait to go back! Thank YOU everyone for making our stay magical!!! Cindi

Room Tip: all are well located in the bush
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CindiL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemala C, General Manager at Lemala Mara Ndutu Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Cindi L5

Our chefs take a lot pride in being able to produce exquisite meals from their tiny kitchens. On the job training from specialist chefs ensure that they are able to produce incredible meals from their kitchens. I am really glad that you enjoyed the meals which they produced and of the excellent service standard which you experienced at our camp.
Many thanks for taking the time to post review on Trip Advisor.

Best wishes

Tom Yule

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews