We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in the Serengeti”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Heaven in the Serengeti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

The Dunia Camp is the most perfect place to stay in the Serengeti. In the middle of the action (which luckily included the Migration during our stay - 300,000 wildebeest on your doorstep - breathtaking).
Peter and his team run a slick operation (ask to see "backstage", you will be amazed), from wake up call tea at all hours of the morning to delicious food and some of the most fun showers in the world. The service cannot be faulted.
The tents are like no others (camping may never be the same again) with extremely comfortable beds (hot water bottles at bed time can never be a bad thing). The guides are knowledgeable and keen to share their experience. Bush TV is the best evening entertainment, there may only be one channel but the reception is excellent and the soundtrack amazing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    35
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
96
183
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

I found the camp to be one of the best places we stayed during our safari trip.We had a mix of lodges and tented accommodation over the duration of the trip.The rooms were large and nicely furnished, flush toilet and bucket shower, no running water for washing, you have a pitcher and a bucket of washing water under the sink.Showers were always promptly filled and you could also request a pitcher of hot water in the morning for shaving and washing.I would advise not keeping food of any sort in the tent as a few of us had some mice visiting during the night biting through bags to get to things.Our own fault for keeping food in there but it is worth remembering you are in the bush!.The staff as a whole were very good but maybe a little stand offish (in comparison to the Masai at Olduvai camp)
Food was very good especially if you consider the facilities.Recommend you do the kitchen tour and speak to the chef to see what they have to work with :)
Tsetse flys are abundant in the approach to the camp, we resorted to covering the jeep and closing the windows to cut down the attacks.I didn't have any problems with them while I was in the camp.
Overall this was the best tented camp we stayed in but this is also reflected in the price per night.
A great base to explore the Serengeti, we spent 4 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octagon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Located in the Moru Kopjes area, pretty much in the centre of the Serengeti.
We stayed for only 3 nights, following our trip from the Ngorongoro crater and the gorilla trekking in the Rwanda Volcanoes National Park. We had been in the Masai Mara before during the migration which was awesome.
At the Dunia camp area the wildebeests were just gathering in great numbers, galloping past our tent. Lions and Hyaenas on the hunt outside our tent at night, simply feeling as one with the wildlife outside.
We were really lucky in finding the cats. We actually saw a lioness taking down a wildebeest and then feeding,watched a tribe with cubs feed on another kill right next to the road at sunrise, watched a leopard play with her cubs in a cave entrance and chase off an eagle who was going to steal a piece of meat off her kill in a close-by tree. To top it off, on our last day we watched a cheetah with two almost grown cubs make a run at a herd of wildebeests. The intended victim got away, but what a panic among the herd.
At the camp Richard the manager made everyone feel really welcome, with humour and courtesy.
Based on our experience, highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Bush camping at its best -- rustic enough with bush showers to be exciting, amazing staff, service and food to be a real vacation. Very comfortable tents, other guests were friendly and fun. My wife celebrated her birthday and the staff turned it into a great party.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazzCatGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

What a fantastic place! Dunia is located within woodlands at the edge of the Southern Serengeti and was one of the highlights of our month in Kenya and Tanzania. Our tent was very roomy with a lovely king sized bed and a little "conservatory" area from which to watch the wildlife. We loved the bucket showers (better than several hotels we stayed at during the trip) - thank you Supit -you did a fantastic job bringing us our hot water. In fact all of the staff were amazing, the camp manager Richard was very entertaining and the food was excellent. Couldn't have been better

I could write a novel about our experiences at this location alone but here are a few of them:
- nightly drinks round the fire to the sound of the wildlife
- seeing the very first wilderbeest of the season arriving - walking single file past the camp!
- a hyena joining us in dining tent one evening!!! The staff were handy to protect us and it seemed inquisitive rather than aggressive - what a buzz!!!
- I was treated to a beautiful cake on my birthday brought out by all of the staff who were singing in their amazing voices.
- at night we heard lions roaring, hyenas and jackals calling, elephants trumpeting, zebras baying, and lots of animals grazing next to our tent.

Our wildlife viewings on game drives from the camp were incredible too - including a leopard kill, a bull elephant charging our truck, leopards in trees, a pride of lions, and wildebeest stampeding

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We were very happy with the accommodations at Dunia Camp. The food was great and the staff friendly. The location perfect. One small problem and I must admit it was our own fault. We did not have our luggage LOCKED and every morning at every camp we stayed at in Tanzania, items were stolen from our luggage, caps, dresses, underwear, (even a bra), nice sweaters and polo shirts. We loved Tanzania and intend to go back. CAUTION is always needed. We are pretty sure that things were stolen in the morning, after we had packed, and while the luggage was brought by the staff to the safari jeeps. At that point one is having a nice breakfast and one does not have any need to open and check the luggage again. So please, be careful. We even had brand new souvenir caps stolen, and T-shirts. BRING LOCKS ON YOUR TRIP! In the last camps, we kept our luggage with us during breakfast and all kept an eye on it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

I stayed at Dunia camp for three nights during a two week safari. The camp is in a beautiful location, close to Moru Kopjes, overlooking the Serengeti plains. It is a small camp with the feel of a home away from home. Game viewing is excellent around there, lots of big cats without the crowds that you get around the Seronera area. We saw lions, leopards, and cheetahs every day and even had a mating lion pair about a mile from camp.
The tent was a good size with a very large king size bed, flush toilet and hot (bucket) shower en suite, and a large sitting area with a day bed in the front. The food was outstanding, the G&T at the nightly campfire great fun.
The camp staff was excellent, very helpful and fun to talk with. This seems to be a theme with Asilia camps since I noticed the same good camp atmosphere at Oliver's Camp in Tarangire before and Olakira Camp after.
If you want to enjoy the Serengeti wilderness away from the crowds with all the creature comforts, Dunia is the camp to be.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe64331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
31.6 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
75.3 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
36.3 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
19.1 mi away
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
Serengeti Tortilis Camp
#5 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serengeti Safari Camp
Ndutu Kati Kati - South Serenget...
#9 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Moru Kopjes, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitched on a major wildebeest migration corridor in the Central Serengeti, Dunia Camp offers easy access to the scenic Moru Kopjes and superb sightings of the big cats, leopard and rhino that roam the forests on the fringes of the Seronera River. Dunia is a tranquil semi-permanent camp with just eight spacious tented suites, each with expansive views of the pristine wilderness and game-filled plains from a large private veranda. Attention to every detail is balanced by a graceful simplicity in harmony with the serene location. Enjoy an exclusive Serengeti safari with superb sightings of resident game and migration viewing twice a year, and round it all off with a sunrise hot-air balloon flight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing