We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveler rating
461
38
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
38
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews female staff bucket shower moru kopjes central serengeti singing and dancing bush tv other guests open vehicle communal dinner hot water the entire staff tse tse flies wonderful experience share stories incredible staff main tent assistant manager
Filter
Updating list...
455 - 460 of 504 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Bush camping at its best -- rustic enough with bush showers to be exciting, amazing staff, service and food to be a real vacation. Very comfortable tents, other guests were friendly and fun. My wife celebrated her birthday and the staff turned it into a great party.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzCatGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2010

What a fantastic place! Dunia is located within woodlands at the edge of the Southern Serengeti and was one of the highlights of our month in Kenya and Tanzania. Our tent was very roomy with a lovely king sized bed and a little "conservatory" area from which to watch the wildlife. We loved the bucket showers (better than several hotels we stayed at during the trip) - thank you Supit -you did a fantastic job bringing us our hot water. In fact all of the staff were amazing, the camp manager Richard was very entertaining and the food was excellent. Couldn't have been better

I could write a novel about our experiences at this location alone but here are a few of them:
- nightly drinks round the fire to the sound of the wildlife
- seeing the very first wilderbeest of the season arriving - walking single file past the camp!
- a hyena joining us in dining tent one evening!!! The staff were handy to protect us and it seemed inquisitive rather than aggressive - what a buzz!!!
- I was treated to a beautiful cake on my birthday brought out by all of the staff who were singing in their amazing voices.
- at night we heard lions roaring, hyenas and jackals calling, elephants trumpeting, zebras baying, and lots of animals grazing next to our tent.

Our wildlife viewings on game drives from the camp were incredible too - including a leopard kill, a bull elephant charging our truck, leopards in trees, a pride of lions, and wildebeest stampeding

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We were very happy with the accommodations at Dunia Camp. The food was great and the staff friendly. The location perfect. One small problem and I must admit it was our own fault. We did not have our luggage LOCKED and every morning at every camp we stayed at in Tanzania, items were stolen from our luggage, caps, dresses, underwear, (even a bra), nice sweaters and polo shirts. We loved Tanzania and intend to go back. CAUTION is always needed. We are pretty sure that things were stolen in the morning, after we had packed, and while the luggage was brought by the staff to the safari jeeps. At that point one is having a nice breakfast and one does not have any need to open and check the luggage again. So please, be careful. We even had brand new souvenir caps stolen, and T-shirts. BRING LOCKS ON YOUR TRIP! In the last camps, we kept our luggage with us during breakfast and all kept an eye on it.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I stayed at Dunia camp for three nights during a two week safari. The camp is in a beautiful location, close to Moru Kopjes, overlooking the Serengeti plains. It is a small camp with the feel of a home away from home. Game viewing is excellent around there, lots of big cats without the crowds that you get around the Seronera area. We saw lions, leopards, and cheetahs every day and even had a mating lion pair about a mile from camp.
The tent was a good size with a very large king size bed, flush toilet and hot (bucket) shower en suite, and a large sitting area with a day bed in the front. The food was outstanding, the G&T at the nightly campfire great fun.
The camp staff was excellent, very helpful and fun to talk with. This seems to be a theme with Asilia camps since I noticed the same good camp atmosphere at Oliver's Camp in Tarangire before and Olakira Camp after.
If you want to enjoy the Serengeti wilderness away from the crowds with all the creature comforts, Dunia is the camp to be.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe64331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

What an amazing place to stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and give excellent service at all times. The tents are well furnished and comfortable as are the communal areas of the camp. The showers are an adventure as they have bucket showers, but the water was always hot and plenty to have a decent shower under.

Richard the camp manager is great and has a fantastic sense of humour and is an excellent host. His aim is to make sure that you enjoy your stay at Dunia and that you want to go back (as we did!). The safety and comfort of the guests is their top priority and we had to be driven back to our tents one night because there was a lion in the camp.

I would recommend a stay at Dunia Camp to anyone, it was a real taste of Africa and well worth every penny! Thanks to all the staff who made our stay enjoyable and unforgettable (I especially enjoyed the bush television!)

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurabexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews