We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun in the Central Serengeti”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Bush camping at its best -- rustic enough with bush showers to be exciting, amazing staff, service and food to be a real vacation. Very comfortable tents, other guests were friendly and fun. My wife celebrated her birthday and the staff turned it into a great party.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzCatGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 416 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

What a fantastic place! Dunia is located within woodlands at the edge of the Southern Serengeti and was one of the highlights of our month in Kenya and Tanzania. Our tent was very roomy with a lovely king sized bed and a little "conservatory" area from which to watch the wildlife. We loved the bucket showers (better than several hotels we stayed at during the trip) - thank you Supit -you did a fantastic job bringing us our hot water. In fact all of the staff were amazing, the camp manager Richard was very entertaining and the food was excellent. Couldn't have been better

I could write a novel about our experiences at this location alone but here are a few of them:
- nightly drinks round the fire to the sound of the wildlife
- seeing the very first wilderbeest of the season arriving - walking single file past the camp!
- a hyena joining us in dining tent one evening!!! The staff were handy to protect us and it seemed inquisitive rather than aggressive - what a buzz!!!
- I was treated to a beautiful cake on my birthday brought out by all of the staff who were singing in their amazing voices.
- at night we heard lions roaring, hyenas and jackals calling, elephants trumpeting, zebras baying, and lots of animals grazing next to our tent.

Our wildlife viewings on game drives from the camp were incredible too - including a leopard kill, a bull elephant charging our truck, leopards in trees, a pride of lions, and wildebeest stampeding

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We were very happy with the accommodations at Dunia Camp. The food was great and the staff friendly. The location perfect. One small problem and I must admit it was our own fault. We did not have our luggage LOCKED and every morning at every camp we stayed at in Tanzania, items were stolen from our luggage, caps, dresses, underwear, (even a bra), nice sweaters and polo shirts. We loved Tanzania and intend to go back. CAUTION is always needed. We are pretty sure that things were stolen in the morning, after we had packed, and while the luggage was brought by the staff to the safari jeeps. At that point one is having a nice breakfast and one does not have any need to open and check the luggage again. So please, be careful. We even had brand new souvenir caps stolen, and T-shirts. BRING LOCKS ON YOUR TRIP! In the last camps, we kept our luggage with us during breakfast and all kept an eye on it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KayJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I stayed at Dunia camp for three nights during a two week safari. The camp is in a beautiful location, close to Moru Kopjes, overlooking the Serengeti plains. It is a small camp with the feel of a home away from home. Game viewing is excellent around there, lots of big cats without the crowds that you get around the Seronera area. We saw lions, leopards, and cheetahs every day and even had a mating lion pair about a mile from camp.
The tent was a good size with a very large king size bed, flush toilet and hot (bucket) shower en suite, and a large sitting area with a day bed in the front. The food was outstanding, the G&T at the nightly campfire great fun.
The camp staff was excellent, very helpful and fun to talk with. This seems to be a theme with Asilia camps since I noticed the same good camp atmosphere at Oliver's Camp in Tarangire before and Olakira Camp after.
If you want to enjoy the Serengeti wilderness away from the crowds with all the creature comforts, Dunia is the camp to be.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe64331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

What an amazing place to stay. The staff are friendly, helpful and give excellent service at all times. The tents are well furnished and comfortable as are the communal areas of the camp. The showers are an adventure as they have bucket showers, but the water was always hot and plenty to have a decent shower under.

Richard the camp manager is great and has a fantastic sense of humour and is an excellent host. His aim is to make sure that you enjoy your stay at Dunia and that you want to go back (as we did!). The safety and comfort of the guests is their top priority and we had to be driven back to our tents one night because there was a lion in the camp.

I would recommend a stay at Dunia Camp to anyone, it was a real taste of Africa and well worth every penny! Thanks to all the staff who made our stay enjoyable and unforgettable (I especially enjoyed the bush television!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurabexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

our travel agency didn't inform us that well, so we didn't expect to stay in a tent during what should have been the highlight accommodation of our safari. looking so much forward to a nice shower after an 10 hr roadtrip, we were unpleasantly suprised to find that we had to stay in tents and had to shower with a bucket shower. please make sure that your well informed about the tse tse fly: the camp is located closely next to a wood land area so during our stay in february there were many flies and they sting straight through your clothes - even jeans - and they're not scared off by deet or anything we had with us.

when we recovered from the first shock that we were actually going to stay in tents for 3 nigths we realised that we've stayed at an unique camp with the most luxurious tents you can imagine, with the nicest staff and the best food ever. it was a truly unforgettable stay in the middle of the serengeti. if you ever have the chance please make sure to visit dunia for 1 or 2 nights, it's right in the middle of everything!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Dunia is a semi-mobile tented camp - its not a lodge; its not an hotel. Theres only a generator for limited lighting, and there's limited water. In short, tents = basic. Having said that, what wonderful tents! Double beds and en-suite toilet facilities make it better than a normal tenting experience. A shower limited to 20l was an interesting (but understandable) challenge!
Of course its expensive - in fact in many ways, the more basic these places tend to be, the more expensive they are. However the service is fantastic.
There are only 8 tents. The tent numbers are progressively further away from the dining/lounge area the higher the number. We stayed in tent 8 - always trying to get as far away from the centre as we can- get more feeling of the bush!
There is something surreal about lying in bed in a tent, listening to lions calling to one another; checking out the hyena footprints in the sand outside your tent; or seeing an impalla run by as you open your tent in the morning.
As said, service is fantastic. from coffee brought to the tent before breakfast; to the hot-water service - its usually unique as far as holidays are concerned.
The food - all meals are inclusive - are fantastic quality given the circumstances under which they are prepared. An amazing birthday cake appeared for me on my first night - a fantastic surprise and quite an achievement - it was also delicious!
There is something really special about sitting watching the sun go down with a g&t or beer (complimentary of course) looking over the serengeti plains. this is an excellent place to do it.
Because its so small - even having a communal dinner - exchanging the competing stories about how many leopards or cheetas each saw - is a nice way to share the day's excitement.
It is different from fixed/permanent camps, and it is certainly different from large lodges!
The one downer - nature itself...served us up lots of tsetse flies which meant we couldn't sit outside our tent. No such problems in the heart of the camp though...and we can hardly blame the camp for tsetse flies.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcewan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
31.6 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#8 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
263 reviews
19.1 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#18 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
75.3 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#9 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
522 reviews
3.8 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#24 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
182 reviews
36.4 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 121 in Serengeti National Park
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Moru Kopjes, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 121 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitched on a major wildebeest migration corridor in the Central Serengeti, Dunia Camp offers easy access to the scenic Moru Kopjes and superb sightings of the big cats, leopard and rhino that roam the forests on the fringes of the Seronera River. Dunia is a tranquil semi-permanent camp with just eight spacious tented suites, each with expansive views of the pristine wilderness and game-filled plains from a large private veranda. Attention to every detail is balanced by a graceful simplicity in harmony with the serene location. Enjoy an exclusive Serengeti safari with superb sightings of resident game and migration viewing twice a year, and round it all off with a sunrise hot-air balloon flight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunia Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing