We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveler rating
452
37
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
37
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfemale staffbucket showermoru kopjescentral serengetibush tvsinging and dancingopen vehicleother guestscommunal dinnerhot watertse tse fliesthe entire staffwonderful experiencethree nightstsetse fliesshare storiesour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 494 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2016

Spent three nights at Dunia Camp, It was the best camp during our Tanzania safari.
The staff were so helpful and the service was outstanding. Our first night was so noisy, we couldnt sleep because a leopard had taken down a topi which was just laying outside of our tent. All the hyenas had party for the poor topi.
The next morning game drive was fablous we get to see a lot including the leopard very close to our jeep. What an amaizing experience in the bush!
Thank you Angel and your team for making our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mehmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2016

We really enjoyed Dunia camp, the location and surrounding wildlife was very special. The staff were great, the food was so-so and the manager Angel was a character....sometimes overwhelming us with her passionate views on things. She has a big heart, and is proud of her work. We rated the Kimondo experience higher, for the better food and very happy and energetic staff. There was also a special mix of guests at the time of our stay.

Stayed: January 2016
2  Thank simonbl2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2016

Our last visit to Tanzania and Kenya was 25 years ago - and things have changed! Ever since we had children, we took out daughters all over the world but the one place they kept asking us to visit was Africa. We planned this trip one year ago and it did not disappoint.

The Dunia camp was really very unique and wonderful. The entire staff was hard working and tried to make every day perfect. We were lucky to have Zablon visitng during our stay and it was lovely to speak to him about his family and the similarities of raising children in Tanzania and the US. Future (camp manager) was equally wonderful. It was a pleasure to see happy employees who are true ambassadors of your company. Each day was fantastic - the meals delicious - and entire staff so accommodating. We will most definitely recommend Asilia to our friends looking to book a trip. Our only regret is that we were not able to stay at more Asilia properties throughout our trip. Waking up to the sunrise with giraffes outside our tent is a memory that I will never forget.

Please send our appreciation and gratitude to Zablon, Future and the entire Dunia staff. We loved staying at the camp and hopefully someday will revisit your beautiful country again.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have good wifi. You must stay in main area to get a good signal and then it's still spotty.
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2016

We spent two nights at Dunia Camp in the central Serengeti. Even though we had heard there would be a bit more roughing it at this camp, and that we would be subjected to bucket showers, I would say that overall this was our favorite stay. Perhaps it was the combination of privacy with the open tented camp; we found the rooms were spacious and luxurious yet very back to nature, with just a screen between us and the wide open plains.

The setting being on the open plain gave a view of impala and buffalo from our evening bush television. One evening we were joined for our Sundowners by a wart hog family that came right up to our lounge area. They didn’t seemed bothered by us at all, in fact, seemed almost tame, as the three babies romped around as their parents hung out and watched us, watching them.

Dinner was served under the stars and included an excellent barbeque night. The setting was so magnificent that I didn't even mind the shortened showers as there were bucket showers (no running hot water) so we had to conserve. At night the staff did turn down and added a warm water bottle to the bed to make the room even more cozy. The sound of the bush put us to sleep, and woke us in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleinQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016

Gotta admit that I was a little (ok maybe more than a little) concerned when I saw our tent for the first time. We had come from a couple of very high end permanent camps. Travel agent suggested Dunia. When I saw the shower and bathroom setup I was thinkin we made a mistake. Nope! The bucket shower was (surprisingly) more than acceptable. The hot water bottles in bed were neat (and my wife needed it). And the staff. Well they are awesome! Food was fine to good but you are literally in the bush. So, considering the location, the food was much better than expected. The evening fire before dinner is delightful as the guests and staff all sit around for cocktails with animals roaming in the background. A couple of giraffes even walked into the scene one eve at cocktails. Almost on cue. Bizarre that we had pretty decent wifi given the setting. Well run camp!

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DF26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews